We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, we felt very well cared for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, we felt very well cared for!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Cervo from 14 September for two weeks. We left it late to book our holiday and were so delighted to discover Sardinia and the quirky Porto Cervo! We were booked into a superior room but we're not sure about what kind of view we would get and the hotel was non committal on booking.

We were picked up by the hotels mini bus at the airport, the driver was very pleasant and gave us water for our half hour journey. On arrival we were greeted very warmly and advised that we had been upgraded to a junior suite. The room (160) was lovely and large with a very spacious balcony which overlooked the bars and square below. There was a bowl of fresh fruit for us and we could see the water too. Half way through our stay we were treated to a bottle of bubbly and we even got a present before we left, a beautiful scarf and CD.

The room was very well appointed, large comfortable bed with lovely bedding and linen, sofa and plenty of cupboard space. The furniture was of high quality. There was a wonderful walk in wardrobe which housed all our bags and cases - plenty of hanging space and the room safe.

We had ongoing problems with the wifi in the room, the signal was poor but we got by.

The bathroom was very well equipped, powerful hair dryer and excellent makeup/ shaving mirror. Toiletries were plentiful and towels replaced twice a day. The housekeeping was of a high standard. There was a lovely rain shower and jacuzzi bath tub.

We also benefitted from a complimentary upgrade to full board which was a special offer on booking. This meant we could use other restaurants in the area for lunch or dinner. There were three that we could use as some had already closed for the season. We ate at the Pescatoria, a fish restaurant which we found quite stressful because of the constant frenetic activity all around us and constant topping up of water and wine. We didn't return, however the lobster salad starter was lovely! We loved the Il Pomodoro where you could get just about everything, pizza, chicken and steak were lovely and the service was great. Drinks were less expensive and they didn't charge for water (€10 in the other places for a bottle) the main hotel restaurant is in the square and very twinkly- there is plenty of choice if you have to dine there regularly. Wine and water are expensive but we had a few lovely bottles all the same!

Breakfast was lovely - a lovely room overlooking the water and eggs cooked to order. The buffet was fresh and extensive.

The pool area is good, surrounded by rooms though and no view to gaze at. We used the pool on a couple of windy days when the beach wasn't an option.

Now then - the beach! It was just lovely. It was great getting the launch everyday and the guys looked after everyone so well. The water is clear and so blue.....

We quite often stayed until the last boat back, it becomes quiet and calm, even more beautiful and relaxing. Sometimes yachts dropped anchor in the bay, it was very beautiful. Some facilities were being built which will be good for future guests.

As others have said, everything is mouth-wateringly expensive in Porto Cervo, some are less so though, away from the main square. There is a supermarket nearby for drinks on the balcony if needed. All other shops are designer and only for the very rich, fun to window shop.

The walk to the marina is lovely at sunset and the Stella Marais church is worth visiting.

We also had a fabulous day on an old sailing boat, visiting some stunning beaches and enjoying Sardinian hospitality.

It seems that September is a good time to visit, especially if you dislike crowds. The weather is great, just perfect.

Things were definitely winding down during our second week,which suited us just fine.

We would definitely return and highly recommend the hotel and appreciate the excellent service throughout.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nospringchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cervo, General Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Nospringchicken
Thank you for sharing your comments, we are delighted to know that you stay with us was great and that our team was able to make your visit unforgettable. Looking forward to seeing you soon in Porto Cervo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    70
    25
    10
    9
See reviews for
54
129
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My Girlfriend and I recently came to Sardinia and stayed at the wonderful Cervo Hotel. I have to say we both loved this hotel and the island of Sardinia. The hotel was beautiful and fitted in delightfully with all the stunning architecture of the island. The room was so clean and the towels were changed and bed made twice a day. The bed was huge and very comfortable.This hotel is situated next door to the centro porto, which harbours huge boats and yachts. The food at the hotel is excellent. The hotel is also in partnership with a couple of the neighbouring restaurants and these are fantastic too, the amount of food you get at meal times is unbelievable so always make sure you are hungry...especially the pizzas!!! I can highly recommend the local wine, especailly the white...wonderful! I think the biggest recommendation of the hotel has to be the staff, they were amazing, very friendly and always very helpful! Would i go back....of course!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cervo, General Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Gentile LondonAvBrad,
We are glad that you and your girlfriend had such a good time during your recent stay in our hotel and that you really enjoyed our cuisine and local wines as also our team attentive service. We look forward to seeing you soon in Porto Cervo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from a fab two weeka at the Hotel Cervo.

We went late September and to tell you the truth Porto Cervo is really closed but it didn't matter as the hotel was superb.

We had the full board option which meant we were entitled to Dine Around at the other Starwood hotels and restaurants in Porto Cervo. This was such a great option, the other hotels we tried were the Cala Di Volpe and Hotel Pitrizza as well as the Pescatore Restaurant. The food at all these places was excellent.

We stayed in room 134, which had a great view of the marina, the room was immaculate, with a separate walk in wardrobe.

The breakfast was good , although a couple of times we had to wait for our table to made up, but that's a minor point.

The hotels staff were its crowning glory, super service without the stuffiness!!!

The drinks were ridiculously expensive though but as they say "when in Rome"!!

Would I go back...................................absolutely!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 134 (superior room), great views, close to the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cervo, General Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear NikkiJ,
It is with great pleasure that we learn of your recent experience in our hotel. We are glad to know you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were very excited about staying at the Hotel Cervo after seeing great photos. However maybe my mistake was staying at the end of the season, as it felt as though because perhaps we aren't as wealthy as the typical guests the hotel entertains the service slipped.

We were upgraded from a tennis room to a room in the main building, which was nice but I suspect this was down to the hotel being quiet.

While the room we stayed in was nice, very clean, the sky tv didn't work all week, and the wireless adaptor burnt out three times requiring engineers out most days.

The private beach was disappointing - it wasn't peaceful with builders and decorators constructing some new building right by the beach - (literally 10 metres away - looked like bathrooms) making a hell of a racket while guests tried to relax.

Also, we were charged 20 euros for a bottle of water at the swimming pool side.. Surely even the super rich would scoff at that ! We didn't go to the hotel bar as the prices were ludicrous. 14 euros for a small beer.

Food at breakfast was well presented and fresh, but our orders were frequently wrong and required intervention most days - not that I am picky, but I don't want to be given a boiled egg that was left on someone else's table for 20 minutes.

We had a very nice holiday overall but I think the hotel could've gone some way to make end of season guests feel a little less of an afterthought.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cervo, General Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Simon B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to know you liked the hotel and the room you were upgraded to during your stay. However, we regret to learn that your experience was not completely satisfying and that your visit at our private beach was marred by some constructing work. Please consider that this was done to improve the services given to our guests, making their stay in our private beach even more comfortable. Our team tried to work discreetly and during times that would not disturb visitors. However, if we were to receive any complaint about it, we would have stopped or changed even further the times of their work. Sky and the wireless adaptor, as all the latest technologies offered in our rooms, are regularly checked to ensure their properly function. But, if there is a lack, there is a guest service available 24 hours on 24, to which report any problem or needs. We are glad you really like our dining and breakfast experience but we are sorry to learn that the service given didn’t completely meet your expectations. Please be assured that our attentive staff would never do anything to neglect guests, on the contrary they always do everything it takes to take great care of each one of them, no matter in what time of the year they come or what their status is. We hope to have you back at the Cervo, giving us the opportunity to give you the treatments we are surely capable to deliver and also to allow us to show you the brand new services offered in our private beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just came back from a holliday at this hotel. It is a very nice hotel in one of the nicest places in Sardinia (Porto Cervo). Unfortunately, the weather was not very good with us. Sardinia can be very windy, so we could not enjoy the stunning beaches on Costa Smeralda.
As regards the hotel, I should mention that the staff is very helpfull and polite, the room was spacious, cleaned twice daily. A nice touch - the confectionarries we found in our room upon our arrival as well as complimentary watter in the room.
Something to be aware of - we found the hotel as well as Porto Cervo in general a very exclusivist destionation, so bring your nicest outfits with you:)
The hotel beach is small, beautifull and very relaxing (take a good book with you). You should hire a car to see the other beaches on the coast (Ira beach and Liscia Ruja are a must), as well as the beautifull beaches (the best in Europe) on the Island of Caprera (ask the reception for details).
Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cervo, General Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Diana R,
We are glad to know that you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and beautiful land. However, we are sorry if the weather wasn’t so great when you visited us and hope you will have the opportunity to come again and enjoy the usual hot and sunny Costa Smeralda summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved this Hotel. We were given a room which lead us right next to the pool. The room was so clean and the towels were changed twice a day. The bed was huge and very comfortable. It is a Typical Sardinian Hotel and very pretty. Right next to The Port, which harboured Huge boats and Yachts. The food is excellent and if you like fish you are in for a treat.The amount of food you get at meal times is unbelievable so always make sure you are hungry. There are a few Restaurants to have your meals but we especially liked The Grill as it was very warm and cosy, lit by candlelight .The shops surrounding the Hotel are mostly designer so make sure you take lots of money! We really couldn't fault this Hotel, but if we were to have a little moan then it would be about the cost of the drinks. We don't drink Alcohol so just had water, juice, coffee and tea with our lunch and dinner and they are very expensive. Then again it is A Sheraton Hotel. I think a complimentary drink with Dinner wouldn't go amiss. All in all it is a lovely place to visit, but I don't think I would take children there as it seems more for adults. People ask after a holiday , would you go back there? Yes we definitely would but there is plenty of other places and Hotels in the world we would like to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailey2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cervo, General Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Bailey2220,
Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are really pleased to know that your stay in our hotel was such a good experience and look forward to welcoming back you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

right by the port , very central for a few days. Very good service and breakfast. as it is right in the centre it does not have the facilities of the other porto cervo hotels. still best for people wathcing and going everywhere. i think it is best for singles or couples.

it is a typical sardinian hotel service of very high standards and charm

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriam8190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cervo, General Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear victoriam8190,
thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are glad to discover that you enjoyed your stay at the Cervo Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
1.4 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#4 of 21 in Porto Cervo
266 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#6 of 21 in Porto Cervo
204 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu Sardegna MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort

Property: Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Address: Porto Cervo SNC | Piazzetta di Porto Cervo, 07021 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart and soul of Porto Cervo The Cervo Hotel, designed in 1962 by the famous architect Luigi Vietti, is the ideal retreat for those wishing to stay in the heart of Porto Cervo. Open all year, the hotel overlooks the famous Piazzetta of the village, and it is one step away from the most famous boutiques and the Marina with its exclusive yachts. A haven of refined simplicity, which perfectly blends with the surrounding nature and the typical style of the Costa Smeralda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Hotel Porto Cervo
Sheraton Porto Cervo
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing