We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic holiday”
Review of Hotel Le Ginestre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Ginestre
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spent another 8 days at this hotel in September following a holiday the previous year. Can only repeat what we said last year though in fact we felt it was even better this year. We noticed many little improvements and refurbishing which shows the pride in the hotel by the owners. The staff were fantastic - very friendly and helpful. We certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sarkese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 265 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is in a pretty location, tranquil and peaceful and only a 30 mins from Olbia airport, it’s clean, the pool is a good size with enough sunbeds. General seating areas are quiet & comfortable enough. Mostly the hotel staff were friendly, but it’s a hotel, they need to be. Some rooms were nice, some not so nice (dark and depressing). Sardinia is famous for its beaches, find an alternative to the hotel beach, it doesn't compare. A car is a necessity.
Eating in the hotel restaurant - is squashed, canteen-ish. If you are on a B&B basis only, they will take a dinner reservation if you want to eat there, but will only fit you in if possible. 'Half Boarders' are priority others will wait for ages for food. Food quality - hit and miss. Restaurant doesn’t open until 7.30pm for dinner which is OK but if they opened earlier they could stagger guests, and would have no reason to complain about how busy they are (which they do ALL the time - hence making B&B guests wait) There is no terrace or anywhere to sit outside for meals, the side windows/plastic walls open although it was 28degrees every day of our holiday and were not opened at all. There was limited availability & choice of any food/snacks outside of formal meal times.
No signature was taken when ordering bar food or drinks, only your room number is taken. Hence mistakes were made on final bills. Our honest opinion is - the hotel looks the part on the surface but doesn’t deliver quality customer service, the guest is there to be charged for every little thing, including 6 Euros for wifi. Other hotels we stay at offer free wifi, water fountains, a little biscuit on your tea tray, maybe a kettle in your room, shuttle bus to the town, all that type of thing is missing. Aware this is contrary to other reviews but ....this was our experience of the hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a balcony that doesn't have trees or bushes overhanging it A l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JillyT055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

By far and away this is the best European Hotel we have stayed in. The ambience is perfect,peacefull restfull and quiet. The rooms are spacious, clean and the shower suite is good. The food (half board) is excellent, tasty,and well prepared. We have not managed to finish any meal completely. The package arranged with Citalia is a bargain. The less said about Easyjet communications the better. A hire car is vital if you get board with chilling out, but for a week's R &R this is ideal. The staff are courteous and hardworking. the pool is clean and there are plenty of sun beds. The private beach is clean and the sea warm to swim in. As an added bonus the weather is perfect. 27 deg and cloudless. Free WIFI helps to keep in touch with the troubled world but entirely unnecessary. will be back next autumn.

Room Tip: Superior with sea view. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very pleasent hotel with excellent staff who couldn't do enough for us especially the chap with long hair on the reception desk whom my wife christened Snape! Our first room was dark but they relocated us immediately without any fuss. The room was clean and well served. The pool as always in continental hotels was only suitable for polar bears and penguins.
Plenty of clean comfortable sun beds and a lifeguard in attendance as there was on the very small and somewhat uninspiring private beach. The main drawback to this hotel is its isolation. It is 1.5km to Porto Cerzo along a very busy narrow road with no walking area which was suicidal to walk at night. Porto Cerzo is an artificial EXTREMLY expensive waste of time. No shops just boutiques selling designer goods and overpriced restaurants. If you plan to stay at Le Ginestra, you must have a car. A little further away (10 mins by car) is Baia Sardinia, a very nice resort with a lovely beach, loads of good restaurants (avoid The Clipper) and lots of little interesting shops.
We eat twice in the restaurant of the hotel and was less than impressed with both the overpriced food and the rather unhelpful maitre d'. Breakfast was awful, stale rolls, sloppy scrambled eggs, poor coffee and cartons of yoghurt. There were, however, always fresh sweet hot croissants. Usual continental fare of plastic meat and processed cheese!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Hotel is very welcoming and friendly. We had a great time and would go back again. Whilst it is close to Porto Cervo and you could walk, the road is nasty so a car is pretty much essential.

The Rooms (152 and 145) were quite small by international standards but clean and neat. The beds were comfortable and we slept well (that may have been the wine!) There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room nor is there an iron and ironing board. 152 has great views but also overlooks the terrace which has live piano music on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights which did go on until midnight. 145 is a garden room and the children didn't hear the music.

Wifi costs 6 EUR to activate but that is for the whole stay and we had a pretty good and fast service in the rooms, public areas and by the pool. We found data services on our Blackberry and phones was limited but used wifi to get round this.

The pool is a kidney shaped with a 3m deep end and a segregated paddling area for small children although there were no small children when we were there. At first glance and from the website the pool looks tiny but it is plenty big enough. If you want to train, I think it is a bout 20m at the longest length. The beds around the pool are comfortable and there seemed to be enough.

The beach is a 4-5 minute stroll down a private track. The beach is on a cove which is great to swim in. Not much sea life to snorkel to see but nice and relaxed. There is a shower but not toilet or drinks facilities on the beach. Like much of this coast it is coarse sand that the children will not be able to use for sand castles. There are sea urchins just off the beach so a little care should be taken but this is like most of the coast in northern Sardinia.

The restaurant has a relaxed feel about it. Breakfast is simple but plenty of it and served between 7:30 and 10:00. Lunch in the restaurant is 35 EUR a head and a four course meal. Frankly this is too much for lunch both in cost and amount of food which leaves the pool bar lunch menu. The evening meals are also fixed price at 40 EUR a head. The food was good and well executed. The wine list is pretty good.

The pool bar / lunch menu is weak. We opted to eat out at lunch time and this is the one area the hotel could really improve upon as the sandwiches and salads are plain. A better lunch/ snack menu would make a difference to overall experience.

The gym is small with a running machine, a recumbent bike and a normal bike (all technolgym). A selection of dumbbells and some exercise mats. No sound system or TVs so take an ipod if you like to work out to music.

The only thing I didn’t like was not signing for drinks and meals. Whilst they were accurate with the final bill I just prefer to see what I am paying as I go along.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHBPCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent hotel with good Facilities, Private beach with lifeguard, rooms are very good and staff are polite and helpful. You do need a Car though as the 5 minute taxi ride to Porto Cervo cost a minimum of 15 euros, walking down is a bit "hairy" as there are no side walks and takes about 20 minutes, I would recommend a walk (going left outside the hotel) at the first junction turn left this will take you to beautiful bay (traffic on this route is not so busy). a you go down this road to the right (just before the bay) there is an Excellent restaurant with wonderful views food is prepared before you (see picture) the fish is fresh that days catch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Datasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel Le Ginestre is set in gorgeous Mediterranean gardens, and is about 30 minutes walk from Porto Cervo along a fairly busy main road. It is advisable to hire a car to explore the area as it is quite isolated. Our room at the front of the hotel did suffer from traffic noise on the balcony. However, once the windows were shut it could not be heard so did not disturb our sleep. We had a classic room, which did not have much of a view, but was clean and comfortable with a good bathroom and air conditioning system. Although the breakfast in the restaurant was very good, the evening meal which was 4 courses and expensive (40 euros) for what was provided was not so good. We decided not to eat there again after the first night, but soon discovered that most restaurants in the area around Porto Cervo are very expensive and with one exception (which cost 116 euros for 2 courses) we did not enjoy the meals which were provided. The staff and service at the hotel were OK, and they were not unfriendly, but neither were they particularly friendly. The pool area was very good with very comfortable sunbeds and the beach was small but pleasant and about a 10 minute stroll down a lane from the hotel. With a few tweaks this could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Cervo hotels
0.9 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
1.5 mi away
Balocco Hotel
Balocco Hotel
#4 of 21 in Porto Cervo
352 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#7 of 21 in Porto Cervo
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
#12 of 21 in Porto Cervo
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Ginestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Ginestre

Address: Porto Cervo, 07021 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range: $181 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Ginestre 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Mediterranean-style Hotel with stucco, earth-tone exterior & tile roof situated in lovely ocean-view grounds. Located 1 km far from Porto Cervo in a Mediterranean park with excellent restaurant, private beach, beauty center, gym, and fresh water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Ginestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Ginestre Hotel
Le Ginestre Porto Cervo
Hotel Le Ginestre Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing