We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise - will come back.”
Review of Colonna Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonna Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Ukunda, Kenya
1 review
“Paradise - will come back.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

General: We've spent 7 days at colonna beach hotel and absolutely loved it. Both, pool area and beach are wonderful. Though a large hotel, nothing ever felt crowded, the salt water pools are quite large and spread over levels with waterfalls and natural stones - very beautiful, just as the garden grounds, everything is well maintained, taken care of and nicely designed. The beach is small, but nonetheless stunning with both sandy areas and wood planked sides out into the water. Standard rooms are very nicely sized, decorated and very clean. Even though we had garden view, it actually still had the ocean view just behind it, lovely.

Area: costa smeralda is stunningly beautiful. Area wise, a car really is needed, it takes 30min to walk to the closest restaurant strip and the roads don't have sidewalks most of the way, making it unsuitable to walk with eg children. For additional areas, sights, markets and entertainment, a car is needed.

Sports: fitness centre is well equipped and good in size. For non-experts, equipment could be setup a bit more safely, by fixing machines to move less when in use and securing weights on more solid and cushioned stands. Having a golf driving ranch is great, but it would be helpful to be able to rent drivers and irons, which is not available. Swimming - pools and beach - is great.

Food: We only had dinner in the hotel once and were a bit disappointed - the price/quality ratio is not quite right. Breakfast was ok, nothing special though. Room service menu does not offer much and should be extended. Snacks available at pool and beach are good.

Service: housekeeping / room cleaning is very good. Outstanding service is provided by Lucia and Enea at the pool bar, which also offers food and services to the beach area. Lucia and Enea are truly exceptional, wonderful people, super sweet, extremely polite and accommodating, they get highest marks of all. They should be cloned in fact, as they actually work for 5. The pool and beach area is large and should at peak times really be serviced by a minimum of 4 people, not 2 - management should stock up on staff here to support the first class service that Lucia and Enea provide. The pool and beach guards are an excellent team, especially Matteo, who was our hero after a small, and self-inflicted, injury in the pool area. At reception, Claudio made a big difference, by being pro-active and thinking outside the box when we needed some postal support, and he really went the extra mile in service, absolutely great. Some of the staff managers on the other hand were a bit arrogant and should take an example on Lucia, Enea, Matteo and Claudio when it comes to service orientation and politeness towards all guests.

All in all: we loved it, paradise!!! We will come back :).

Room Tip: Go for garden view, as mostly, this includes sea view, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schokanoglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort, I thank you for choosing our hotel, and use your time to show your great opinion with other people on Tripadvisor, about your stay in our hotel.

I send you my Best Thank for your compliments that you have written to the hotel, for the our staff, for the beach. I send you a special thanks from Enea, Lucia, Matteo and Claudio, for your compliments that you have sent to them.

We hope to have again as dear guest, to try to give you an even better treatment, in every way.

We Hoping to give you a welcome in Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

Thanks and Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    148
    79
    29
    28
See reviews for
125
313
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We just arrived back from holiday in Colonna resort. I have to say that there is a fantastic chief cook , the dinner (four courses) are incredible delicious and it is a first quality italian cuisine. We travel a lot, and the services provided by the main waiter Roberto are the best we have ever seen. He, his colleague Federico and the whole staff are helpful and are prepared to fulfill all your wishes. They are real old school experts and it was a pleasure to dine there for 9 days. The dinner was every time the highlight of the day.
The beach is small but very cozy and beautiful. The swimming pools with salt water are great. But there is one huge minus. All over the pool are installed squawk boxes. From morning till evening every day you must hear the loud music, without opportunity to hide anywhere, because not only pool area, but the whole public space of the hotel (terraces, entrance, wellness) is covered with the music. We live in a big city, and one of the main reason to book Colonna resort was, that it seems to be a calm location separated from a big traffic. We wished to enjoy silence and the sounds of the sea, waves and wind and didn't want to spend the whole day listening to crazy mix of psychedelic music. This combined with grass-cutter machines, whole days working in the (beautiful) big garden changed our experience in a nightmare. Good luck was, that at the beach is still without this music boxes.

Room Tip: all the standard rooms are quite dark - look for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort, I thank you for choosing our hotel, and use your time to show your opinion with other people on Tripadvisor.

I send you my Best Thank for your compliments that you have written to the hotel, for a room, for cleaning, kitchen, for restaurant service and Roberto e Federico, fo beach and Swimming pool.

I am very very sorry to read your negative opinion about the music, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to change your think.

the music is just a light background, but after your report we have changed the music by putting more low for not disturbing.

We appreciate your recommendations and we will use it constructively to better supervise the services we offer, so that others can have Your own feeling.

We hope to have again as dear guest, to give a welcome in Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I send you my best regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is FANTASTIC! The service is excellent and the location is absolutely beautiful. It is located about a 10 minute taxi ride past Porto Cervo and Porto Cervo marina. The only negative is the limited hours for breakfast and dinner, but this may have been because were early in the season. I recommend that if you fly into Olbia, you rent a car and drive yourself. The fare from the Olbia airport to the Colonna Resort was almost 100 Euro; plus with a car, you can easily get to Golfo Aranci, Baia Sardinia and any other town in the north.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
as Director of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our Hotel, and he devoted much time to write a review on to your stay with us.

First of all thank you for the compliments addressed to the service and the location.

In the hope of being able to extend a warm welcome back to Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request, I take this opportunity to send you my best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort,
5 ***** Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Marvellous place. Ideal for both beach and pools. Staff were very polite and helpful. There were always beds by the pool at your disposal and what a pool, an artistic work!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank joanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort, I can take this opportunity to send my
thanks for have dedicated your time to write a nice review about your stay at Colonna Resort, and for the compliments that you've turned to our hotel and Staff.

I send you a special thanks from all the staff, which has been honored to serve you during your stay with us.

We hope to have again as dear guest, to try to give you an even better treatment, in every way.

We hope to give you, again, Welcome to Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

Thanks and Best Regards.


Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort , 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel was very disappointing, but thankfully we went out of season and were not paying peak prices.
The hotel itself is beautiful, if a little too large. The grounds and pool area are great, however the pool should be heated; it was freezing! The breakfasts were great, lots of choice and replenished often, you could even help yourself to a glass of proscecco! The rooms were also fine, plenty of space, with a large balcony, which was all kept clean and tidy.
However lots of improvements must be made to this hotel if it wants to be respected as a five star. The staff were incredibly rude, one lady in particular caused problems for us throughout our stay. The room service menu must be extended from 2/3 options. All the food in the hotel is incredibly expensive and of below average quality. I really expected more from a hotel in this location, and I hope these improvements are made as I would then definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lgy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort, I thank you for choosing our hotel, and use your time to show your opinion with other people on Tripadvisor.

I send you my Best Thank for your compliments that you have written to the hotel, for breackfast, for a room, for cleaning.

I am very very sorry to read your negative review, and that you did not appreciate the staff, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to change your think.

We appreciate your recommendations and we will use it constructively to better supervise the services we offer, so that others can't have Your same opinion.

We hope to have again as dear guest, to try to give you an even better treatment, in every way.

Hoping we can again give a welcome in Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I send you my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gassin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is not so bad,but the staff at the restaurant is really not professional, the reception staff too.For the price you are payng and the location I really expected more,and to the manager that probably will answer...........I 'm really talking about Colonna beach resort,not about another hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gigy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Gigy 1960,

as Director of the Colonna Resort, I thank you for choosing our hotel, and use your time to show your opinion with other people on Tripadvisor.

I am very very sorry to read your negative review, and that you did not appreciate the restaurant and receprion staff, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to change your think.

We appreciate your recommendations and we will use it constructively to better supervise the services we offer, so that others can have Your own feeling.

But, I'm sorry to read your discontent only now after your departure, because if I had only heard news, during your stay, I would try in every way and with all my possibilities, to help you, to enjoy a better stay.

Our greatest satisfaction is to transform the holiday of every our guest in an happy experience.
Instead we're sorry, after working every day with this idea, if this isn't sufficient to make a good stay for our guests, and not be able to improve it.

I send you my best regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I have enjoyed an unforgettable experience in this wonderful hotel in a beautiful environment, great comfort, tranquility, and an absolutely extraordinary service by all staff and management.
Very well located in Porto Cervo.
Congratulations!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort, I can take this opportunity to send my
thanks for have dedicated your time to write a nice review about your stay at Colonna Resort, and for the compliments that you've turned to our hotel and Staff.

I send you a special thanks from all the staff, which has been honored to serve you during your stay with us.

We hope to have again as dear guest, to try to give you an even better treatment, in every way.

We hope to give you, again, Welcome to Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

Thanks and Best Regards.


Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort , 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
1.3 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
153.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#2 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
140.4 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Resort

Property: Colonna Resort
Address: Loc. Cala Granu | Via Capo Ferro KM 1.8, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Colonna Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first time visitor of COLONNA RESORT, which is about 2 Km from Marina of Porto Cervo, is struck by the orderliness, by the streets, by the villas, the lawns, the rocks, the perfume of the wild vegetation, by the view of the entrance way of the old port of Porto Cervo, that harbors, in the medium and high season, the most beautiful and exclusive boats in the world. THE HOTEL The COLONNA RESORT extends in an area of about 60.000 m², near of the "Cala Granu" beach, in the north of Porto Cervo. The Resort, with sober lines typical of Mediterranean architectural style, it's surrounded by a 50'000 m² park spotted with strawberry trees, myrtle plants and junipers, where the sea, the hills and the surrounding green are the natural frame of this exclusive dwelling, dominated, often, by granite of its confinement walls. Building, sea and nature fuse in perfection, in a unique scenery of rare beauty. THE ROOMS The Resort includes 250 rooms, with numerous deluxe and Suites, almost all of them with balconies or terraces with sea view, luxuriously furnished with every comfort. All the rooms are reachable through various central lifts from a grand hallway situated in the entrance of the Resort. THE RESOURCES 2 restaurants and 2 bars, open spaces for meeting or congress till 650 persons seated, complete the structure. The Resort also offers a Tennis Club with numerous courts and a practice field for Golf, in addition to various boutiques, wellness centre, private garages some of which covered, heliport, a hotel at the beach with the necessary solariums in wood, and coves cut out of the Northern Sardinia rocks. Other services include the choice of different field trips, by boat or with private cars, in addition to the renting of cars, motorbikes and chartering of speed boats. THE SWIMMING POOLS The pools of sea water with solariums, waterfalls, islands and hydro massage corners, are located on different levels and from the rooms reach out to sea, often with extraordinary waterfalls. The solarium and the pool have a surface area of about 8500 m2 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Colonna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Porto Cervo
Colonna Resort Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing