We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short version: the real No.1 on Elba.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamata Ristorante

Tamata Ristorante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The cuisine of Tamata is based on the continuous proposal of new courses, on the research of new cooking methods and on the constant attention to the selection of the products used, high quality foods and environmentally sustainable. Where possible we have privileged local, organic and “Km 0” products. We only use meat from organic and Tuscan farms, who pay special attention not only to the welfare of animals, but also to the environmental conservation. Sometimes it was not possible to choose on the basis of these criteria. In these cases, we have selected the best products available, which express the distinctive character of their origin. The dishes of our cuisine it's not only an expression of the Italian culinary tradition, but represent a "journey" in gastronomy from around the world, from the Mediterranean area, to Northern Europe, to the Far East. Buon appetito! And good journey in our "route of taste". Fabio e Barbara.
Taufkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short version: the real No.1 on Elba.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The ambience is pure and simple with no frills. But, that's the added value of this restaurant: at the second glance you will see all the lovely details and the special way to make the difference: really local food - they call it "0 km food".
Service: the waitress were absolutely attentive and well prepared. At any time they were present and very professional. Yes, they love their job!
Dinner: it was so wonderful and delicious. We cannot describe the different taste adventures. To be honest, I've never had a dinner like this!
The starter: octopus in three different ways. Well, with every bite I thought why only three ways. Fresh and well done with a great flavor. The octopus smacked like an octopus. Sounds strange but I know the difference.
The main course: tuna fish, rear medium. Wow, the preparation and the taste: wonderful. The breast of duck: beautiful soft and also with a wonderful taste.
The dessert: a house type tiramisu. From my point of view a must!
The wine: a local white wine and a recommendation of the house. Fruity, fresh and not very dry.
The pricing: it's fair and Munich is more expensive with a less quality.
All in all: an unforgettable evening in the best restaurant on Elba and a first-rate cook.
This restaurant earned the no.1 in the ranking.
It's far and away the best restaurant on the island Elba. And yes, we know a couple of restaurants placed on no.1 (based on the city).
There is only one reason to say it's not a recommendation: we want a vacant table the next time ;-) Unfortunately we have to leave tomorrow. This restaurant is one reason to come back next year. Thank you very much!!!
One hint at the end: make a reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Berni-T12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamata-Winebar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamata Ristorante, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for visiting us and for the excellent review! We hope to see you soon again! Sincerely, Barbara, Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    104
    25
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montepulciano, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Varying quality for smokers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were more times at Tamata and had the possibility to taste the main part of the menu. They offer a local cuisine influenced from Asia (e.g. the spaghetti con riccio).
The greetings from the cuisine were nearly always the same. I had two times the tagliata di tonno. The first time it was excellent. The second was not as good as the first.

The service is very attentive and friendly.

Tamata offers only tables outside and allow the customers to smoke. During one of our visit, we had to eat surrounded by smokers. Thus, you cannot enjoy your meal. I suggest to forbid smoking in the restaurant. Summarized, I suggest the restaurant only to smokers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucky_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamata-Winebar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamata Ristorante, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience in our restaurant. I'm sad that the second "tagliata di tonno" you ate was not appreciated as the first. We apologize. We regret that you did not mention this to the table. Certainly we would not have charged that it was not up to par with your expectations. About th possibility of smoking (I do note, however, that the tables are all outdoors), I thank you for letting us notice of your discomfort. In the future we will more carefully before allowing other guests to smoke in the presence of nonsmokers. Sincerely, Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place was an outstanding experience, the owners Fabio and Barbara made sure we enjoyed every dish!
This is a one-of-a-kind meal, dishes are excellent in the presentation, everything is absolutely fresh, and price is more than fair for such a dinner.
Service was perfect.
I wish I could give Tamata 10 stars!
M.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hatet0fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamata-Winebar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamata Ristorante, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for the nice review and for your complimentst to the chef and the service. We hope to see you soon again. Best wishes, Barbara, Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic dinner in a nice location, in the center of Porto Azzurro.
A really painstaking service, and a lot of special dishes, cooked by Fabio, a great chef.
When you seat, Barbara carry you some delicious entrée, introducing a special experience of food
You could stay a lot of time, eating Bloody Mary oysters, italian pasta in several ways, some types of local fish, meat as much as you want, and so on.
It worth the price at all.
Enjoy ur meal at Tamata Restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rockz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamata-Winebar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamata Ristorante, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for visiting us and for the excellent evaluation that gave to our restaurant. We hope to see you soon again! Sincerely, Barbara, Fabio and the Tamata's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borlange, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant, go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Small, very personal and cozy atmosphere with only 9 outsidetables. The staff is really really friendly and serviceminded and their passion for cooking and preparing great tasting and outstandig food is obvious. Fantastic priceworthy dinnerexperience. We will be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank OnedgeXiphiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamata-Winebar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamata Ristorante, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the nice review and for your compliments the kitchen and the service. We are pleased to read that you will return at our restaurant. See you soon, then! Best wishes, Barbara, Fabio and the Tamata's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamata Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Tamata Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing