We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Piccolo Hotel Luisa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ponza Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

As mentioned in other reviews, this small family run hotel is an excellent choice for those seeking a comfortable place to stay on this relatively expensive but very beautiful island.
We stayed in one of the apartments just up the road from the main hotel. The apartment was surprisingly quiet and had enough room for two adults and three boys (11-15). There is a dehumidifier in the apartment and this is necessary due to the humidity and dampness in summer. Our air conditioner, which wasn't working properly, was not essential.
The staff are very helpful and quick to attend to requests or fix small problems.
The breakfast is deservedly famous, especially the home made cakes and jams.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and thought it good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thantrav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Piccolo Hotel Luisa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 538 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

The PHL is a charming white-stuccoed cluster of houses and terraces that is conveniently close to the port but still a bit away from the hassle. It's unpretentious and authentic -- a bit like Ponza and the Ponzese themselves, I guess. Breakfast is wonderful, with a large buffet and massive home-made pies and pizzas. Eggs and coffee any way you want. Our room was clean and cosy, with a big cupboard, fridge and a nice little terrace. The common areas are big and varied.

There is always room for improvement, of course. I know that Italians think a hard bed is normal or healthy, but our bed in the PHL was /ridiculously/ hard -- and we could feel the springs through the mattress. Second, wifi range is limited to thirty feet or so from the reception desk. Would be nice to have that in the rest of the common areas, at least.

But all in all the PHL is the real deal -- and a good value!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Piccolo Hotel Luisa is an elegant and very restful family-run hotel. It's conveniently located for town facilities and the sea, but in a quiet neighbourhood with an outlook onto the hills behind Ponza. The rooms are clean and tastefully appointed. Luisa and her staff are friendly and helpful, and are happy to recommend restaurants (some of which give a discount to hotel guests) and places to visit. We arrived well before check-in time, thinking we would just ask if we could drop our bags till later, but they offered us a coffee and invited us to help ourselves from the breakfast buffet — no charge, they're just hospitable that way.

They do lots of very good home cooking — pizza al taglio, cakes, biscuits, pastries, pancakes — so the breakfast buffet is a real treat (substantial too), and if you wander through during the day there's always a tray of something on the sideboard to graze on. The service is low-key but very thoughtful: e.g. there's a shower you can use if you're coming in from the beach on your last day, after you've checked out.

When booking, consider getting a hotel-plus-boat deal — renting a 'gommone' (inflatable) with an outboard motor and zipping around the island to quiet coves, and across to the yet more spectacular and more or less uninhabited neighbouring island of Palmarola, is a wonderful way to spend your days and not that much more expensive than renting sunbeds and an umbrella on the main beaches. And booking ahead as a package with the hotel makes it all the more affordable. The firm the hotel partners with, Diva Luna, are very pleasant to deal with — just bring a driver's licence.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank badclassicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If in a dream island as Ponza is (at least out of high season) you reside in a hotel like that, the stay will be perfect.
The hotel is family run, and it's obtained by putting together some traditional houses of Ponza, in a picturesque site on the outskirts of the settlement. The rooms are renovated and furnished with very good taste, as well as the common areas. Among these is the terrace - overlooking the Gulf of Ponza - on which you can enjoy breakfast, which features, among other, homemade sweet, savory and jams.
The hotel is well within walking distance from the port (10-15 minutes), even with luggage: some signs show the way.
The managers are courteous and friendly, we refer in particular to the two Luisa, the grandmother - and founder of the hotel - and the granddaughter.
Definitely to be recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Pleasant experience, from Luisa's greetings (owner's granddaughter), home-prepared food, and efficient assistance - I could not have expected more. The setting is ideal for some writing and reflection. I will return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph L Tropea t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting the isle of Ponza for only one night and were told of a beautiful little hotel, Hotel Picollo Luisa by a friend. The owner, Luisa, is a very friendly woman who took some time to talk with us and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The staff members were all friendly as well and did whatever was needed to make us feel comfortable and welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family visiting Italy. Grazie Mille Luisa for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucvols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband took me to this hotel for mother's day, it was a wonderful place to stay. The owner welcomed us and made feel at home. The hotel is very close to everything. Walking distance. Thanks hotel luisa !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTetteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponza Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
Grand Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
#1 of 12 in Ponza Island
890 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
#2 of 12 in Ponza Island
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torre dei Borboni Hotel
Torre dei Borboni Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ponza Island
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
hotel ortensia
hotel ortensia
#5 of 12 in Ponza Island
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
#4 of 12 in Ponza Island
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mari
Hotel Mari
#6 of 12 in Ponza Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Luisa

Address: via Chiaia di Luna, 04027, Ponza Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Ponza Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ponza Island
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccolo Hotel Luisa was recently restored, following the Mediterranean tradition mingled with the oriental taste of its owners. Unforgettable buffet-like breakfast and a warm welcome from the family who runs this charming hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Ponza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing