We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the unmanaged expensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torre dei Borboni Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ponza Island
roma
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“the unmanaged expensive hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Ponza is a beautiful island with poor turism culture: La Torre dei Borboni Hotel is the clear example of an expensive hotel poorly managed.
The sightseen is nice and the structure has potential.
However rooms are old and dirty. Although we asked for a "ripasso" (2nd round of cleaning) the bathroon was still dirty from previous customers.
Bathrooms are filled with furniture which seem to be the cheapest example of an out of fashion odd 70s style. IKEA furniture would be luxury, in comparison with those ones.
Rooms' floors are dirty plastic covered, with dust inside the plastic texture and sopts of rust everywhere. Next rooms' noise is quite annoying although funny.
Window-shutter were damaged and could not be kept open.
Breakfast is ashameful: a few fruit yogurts and some biscuits. Croissants are the only fresh item. Don't dare to ask for scambledd eggs or an omeleltte as the waiter will look at you as you were an alien!
In summary the cost is not justified by the quality standard and the Customer care.
It is not worth a 2nd visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ing_mdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    80
    46
    28
    20
See reviews for
41
104
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Devon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Only stayed for one night in May but enjoyed our visit. The hotel is very nice and staff very helpful. As we stayed out of the main season, we were the only guest in the entire hotel and although I only booked a standard room they kindly let us have a room with a sea view. The location of the hotel is excellent and the patio area where breakfast is taken is a lovelly sun trap with great views. The room itself was perhaps a little on the small side but is adequate for short stays. Ponza itself is great place to visit and the boat trips to and from the mainland are enjoyable, we went from Formia and returned via Terracina. I would definately - and probably will - stay at Torre dei Borboni again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent some days in this hotel which is located in an historical little fortress overlooking the sea. We had a rather spacious room just on the top of the tower and the view was just fantastic. we rented a little zodiac which was delivered directly on the hotel's private island.

We found the staff nice and professional. We hope to come back one day.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francois b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We recently stayed in this hotel on the beautiful island of Ponza. The location is spectacular as was the view from our room. Unfortunately, that's all that can be said for this hotel with the potential for being so much more. The rooms were less than clean the floor being particularly stained and downright dirty sometimes. The bathroom was tiny with a minuscule shower. It was difficult to fit two people in there at once. Closet and entry doors had such rusty and delapidated handles that they were difficult to open sometimes. Breakfast was also pretty bad albeit served on a terrace with a lovely view. The furniture was a mismatched mess of plastic and iron. The food was very basic with little choice of fresh bread or juice (don't drink the orange juice!). If you want to have a quiet drink on a spectacular terrace to watch the sunset - bring you own beer! The hotel serves nothing after 6 pm. The hotel cost €175 a night - certainly not a bargain for what you get and has a 3-star rating. Definitely a place I would not return to and what a pity! It could be an absolutely wonderful small hotel to stay in if only someone with professional experience would take it in hand.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wplains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ponza Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponza Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
#2 of 12 in Ponza Island
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
#4 of 12 in Ponza Island
388 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
#3 of 12 in Ponza Island
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
hotel ortensia
hotel ortensia
#5 of 12 in Ponza Island
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mari
Hotel Mari
#6 of 12 in Ponza Island
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Mediterraneo
Il Mediterraneo
#12 of 12 in Ponza Island
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre dei Borboni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre dei Borboni Hotel

Property: Torre dei Borboni Hotel
Address: Della Madonna, 04027, Ponza Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Ponza Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ponza Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre dei Borboni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Torre dei Borboni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing