We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
Nearby Hotels
hotel ortensia(Ponza Island)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mari(Ponza Island)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$104
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Piccolo Hotel Luisa(Ponza Island)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gennarino a Mare(Ponza Island)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Il Mediterraneo(Ponza Island)
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Querce(Ponza Island)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Bellavista(Ponza Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
162
142
63
27
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
142
63
27
16
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 410 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla is absolutely beautiful. It is perfectly located near the port and to the shops. The staff was extremely accommodating, friendly and curtious. The food at the hotel restaurant was incredible. The hotel has 2 beautiful pools. The rooms were very clean and perfectly sized. We would go back in a heartbeat!! Perfect hotel for our vacation in beautiful Ponza.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel seems secluded even though it's right in the centre of Ponza with busy streets either side. The grounds are small but tastefully planted and maintained, with driftwood sculptures and garden chairs. It's only 10 minutes' walk from the ferry terminal but they run a shuttle to and from it, which is convenient if you have heavy luggage or are saving your energy for sightseeing.
My double room for single use was spotlessly clean and pleasingly furnished in Mediterranean style. Not cheap at EUR180 but this is a popular vacation spot for Italians and it was still high season.
I found all the staff I encountered: driver, receptionists, waiters, pool staff, gardener and manager - invariably smiling and helpful.
The two swimming pools really count as one to me as they're small, and right next to each other so children have fun jumping from one into the other. Still, they're salt water and large enough to swim a few lengths when there aren't too many small people around! Which was mostly the case in the mornings (the pool opens at 10 am).
Breakfast, Italian style, is mostly pastries, but there are some cereals, fruit, yogurt, as well as boiled eggs and ham and cheese for those who need their protein. Boring, but adequate.
I didn't try the main restaurant, but had excellent sushi at the pool bar.
The hotel will organise excursions and make dinner reservations if asked. In summer there are loud parties starting at 6.30 pm in the pool area and my heart sank when I first realised the fact, but fortunately I didn't hear a sound from inside.
I'm going back next week! Couldn't wait till the next season opens in May...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Grand Hotel Santa Domitilla is truly a gem of a hotel with a fabulous spa and gorgeous grounds. If you are looking for a classy retreat with the amenities to go with it - look no further. Santa Domitilla is the only hotel on the island of Ponza that offers, two pools, A/C and cable TV in your room, perfect location (a stone's throw from the port), lush green gardens, spa, friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G0G0Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I spent three days at the hotel with my wife and two small children. The hotel has a very nice architecture that suites the island and has a nice garden and pool (too deep though for small children). The breakfast is ok but rather limited (only one type of cheese). What we really did not like were the rooms and the receptionists. As a family of 4 we had to take a suite. The first one for 250 Euros had nearly no windows (light was coming from the door which was partially glass and a darkened window -the window was looking directly into the porch of the next suite so there was not transparent). When we complained we received a nicer room but had to pay an additional 50 Euros. You would expect that when paying 300 Euros for a room that you would get some sort of luxury but not at Santa Domitilla. The bed for the children was a sleeping sofa with a disgusting mattress -see picture. Most of the ladies at the reception either did not speak English. The ones who did reacted with complete arrogance and unfriendliness to any request (asking the lady at night to change the sheets which were clean but still had some hair and blood on them really got her upset).
If you are planning to go to Ponza be aware that the fast ferry only travels when the weather is nice. So there is a good chance that you might have to take the slower one or leave earlier. In that case make sure that you have a flexible agreement with the hotel. We had to leave one day earlier as otherwise we would have missed our plane. The nice lady at the reception insisted however that we pay the full duration.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dorgsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I am Italian but live in the US and was looking for a great place to spend my 2 weeks of summer vacation in Italy with my extended family. We selected the Hotel Santa Domitilla on the island of Ponza (off the coasts of Rome). It was an amazing experience. The thermal pools at the hotel are a dream. The regular pool is sea water and we really enjoyed hanging out there after a day at the beach. The staff was exceptionally corteous and patient. The location is central yet quiet and secluded enough to allow for peace and relax. The food at the hotel restaurant is exquisite (we dined there a couple of times). My brother had a massage and he said the person was professional and helped to make his shoulder knot to go away. In the evenings they have music until 10pm at the pool bar (which might be late for some, but we enjoyed it). The kids loved the hotel too: everyone was happy with the stay. We can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aps_atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews