We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Best choice in Florence area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Cappugi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Cappugi
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best choice in Florence area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The rooms are clean, nice and comfortable. The park of the hotel and the pool area are beautiful and quiet. There is a wide selection of breakfast items.
The hotel is a short distance from Pistoia city center. By train it is about an hour to get to Florence. We stayed here with two teenagers and they loved it there.
When I have a chance to go back to Tuscany, I definitely pick Villa Cappugi again!

Room Tip: Even the rooms facing the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FresiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    233
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
148
201
18
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Friendly personnel, nice rooms, great pool and tastefull breakfast. In Hotel Villa Cappugi you can enjoy your holliday in a totally relaxed mood! We (a family with two kids) will certainly return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Helpful?
Thank 312MarcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean. We were with our 8 month old son and experienced no problems at all. Everyone was helpful ( Julian loved Matilde - a very special girl working as waitress in hotel ). From the things we were interested in we used tennis court -artificial grass surface, swimming pool. It is a good location to go on one day trips to Florence, Pisa or Vinci and surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlawekPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal for the last week in August at this excellent 4 star hotel as the area tends to 'close down' at this time with some local shops and restaurants closed for a few days at end of August. The hotel is on the outskirts of the medieval town of Pistoia, an easy 50 mins drive from Pisa airport. We had a classic room which although smallish was clean & modern with well appointed bathroom and a balcony looking on to the Tuscan hills. The deal included breakfast which was a well stocked buffet. The swimming pool are is nicely laid out with enough loungers for all guests. The reception staff are without exception, both friendly and extremely helpful and all speak English (which is not always the case in less touristy places such as Pistoia
). Although a car is essential here, for our day trip into Florence we used the hotels courtesy bus to the railway statin and just had to ring the hotel from Florence an hour before our return so that the bus would be waiting for us at the station. The staff can recommend restaurants ( which are on the whole excellent) and book a table. If you want a few days in the sun at a good hotel in the countryside but not far from Tuscanys historical attractions then I can highly recommend the Hotel Villa Cappugi !

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Hotel Villa Cappugi is on the outskirts of the town of Pistoia. It is a little bit too far to walk into the heart of the old town from the hotel.
Our room was a deluxe family room and consisted of a double bed, chaise longue and camp bed for us and our two children. All the bedding was clean, in good condition and there was daily room service. There was a TV with one free English speaking news channel, and a fridge. The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and towels, which were changed daily if you wanted. We were each given a large towel for use by the pool, if you want these changed there is a 3 euro charge.
Breakfast was served daily between 730-1030am. it was a large buffet consisting of cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurts, scrambled eggs and bacon, toast etc etc. A perfectly good meal to start the day.
The pool is open from about 10am until 730pm. There is an attendant on duty all the time who is happy to ensure everyone gets a sun lounger. There is a snack bar serving water melon, pastries and icecream near the pool area. The pool itself was too chilly for me, but my children splashed and swam most days in it.
Unfortunately we arrived in Italy on August 15th which we discovered was the National holiday of Ferragosto. Everything was shut! Every single restaurant in the town, every garage, every shop. Absolutely everything, so we had to eat at the hotel restaurant the first night. It seems that many shops and restaurants decided to have a vacation for the ensuing week, so most remained closed during our stay. This meant that there was limited choice of places to eat in Pistoia and the town had a rather shut up neglected feel. I'd avoid visiting in the last two weeks of August.
There are good road links to the cities of Pisa and Florence. We drove approx. 30 minutes to Florence and parked in the free car park at the tram station Villa Costanza where we caught the T1 line straight into the city of Florence for 2.40 euros return each. it was a pleasant 30 minute tram ride. Beware of driving into any Italian city as they all seem to have ZTL (Limited Traffic Zones where you incur a 100 euro fine for entering in your car without a permit).
We had a lovely day out driving south to visit San Gimignano and Volterra. Both beautiful fortified towns, very lively and all the restaurants were open! The drive was wonderful through the beautiful Tuscan countryside.
Pistoia Zoo is close to the hotel and you get a 10% discount for the zoo.
We had a relaxing holiday and couldn't fault the hotel. The town of Pistoia was very disappointing due to Ferragosto, but probably has a very different feel to it at other times of year.
I would happily stay at the Villa Cappugi again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubbyfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a great hotel for our family vacaction to Tuscany (grandchildren ages 5 and 7). Hotel Villa Cappugi is a very nice property and Pistoia is a very nice "home-base" when visiting Tuscany (just a short drive to Viareggio, Pisa, Lucca, Prato; a little longer drive to San Gimignano and Sienna). The hotel is lovely and well cared for. The have an outdoor pool that is quite large with an attendant that is helpful and attentive. There is plenty of green lawn areas for children to run and play. The rooms we had were large, had comfortable beds, and nice bathrooms. Housekeeping was terrific (especially Luciana). Breakfast was included in our room price. It was a nice but an average buffet. But, if you are lucky, Matilde will be there to make sure everything is to your liking. Our grandchildren loved her and she made sure they started their day with hot chocolate, a beautiful smile, and a little practice learning conversational Italian (Hotel Villa Cappugi is very fortunate to have Matilde on its staff). The hotel desk staff is very helpful, kind, and accommodating. The star of the desk was Sara, who was always checking to see if we needed anything, needed any help with directions, or needed any recommendations for restaurants or places to visit. The women at the desk were much more friendly and helpful than the men. The restaurant on site is a lttle disappointing: average food, limited selection, and a wait-staff that is not very accommodating nor helpful. But, there are some wonderful restaurants in Pistoia (our favorites: Libera Mente and Bistecca Toscana). We recommend this hotel (especially for families) if you are visiting Tuscany (only issue we had was with internet access: sometimes yes, sometimes no but they were working on it). After a busy day of sight-seeing, Hotel Villa Cappugi was a wonderful place to return to for a cooling swim, a relaxing cocktail, and a little nap before venturing out for dinner. Try it; you will be very pleased.

Room Tip: Our daughter's family loved their room facing the pool but we loved our room facing the hilside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2forever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpfull. No question at the reception was too much. Rooms are comfortable (airco could be a litlle less noisy). Food was terrible. We had dinner 3 times (à la carte as well as half board). OK for small children, but teens are watched as if they would commit a crime. Lights at the football area would be charged. Unless you agree the children to play on the internet all night, the hotel does not support any (positive) activity for teens.
Large swimming pool, but cold and also open for locals, meaning that on Saturday and Sunday it is difficult to find a free chair.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pistoia hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#2 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina
2.0 mi away
Antico Convento Park Hotel et Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Agriturismo podere Montaglioni
1.5 mi away
Torrevecchia
Torrevecchia
#9 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Ritz
Hotel Piccolo Ritz
#10 of 12 in Pistoia
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cappugi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cappugi

Property: Hotel Villa Cappugi
Address: Via di Collegigliato 45, 51100 Pistoia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Pistoia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Cappugi 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa Cappugi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappugi Hotel Pistoia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing