We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely inviting locanda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda San Marco - Palazzo Caluri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Locanda San Marco - Palazzo Caluri
Ranked #2 of 43 Pistoia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely inviting locanda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the Locanda San Marco and were very impressed by the service (delightful staff extremely knowledgeable about Pistoia and Tuscany) the accommodations (gorgeous) and the breakfast bounty we had to chose from every morning. A truly relaxing visit in a beautifully preserved and managed hotel. We recommend it highly!

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
90
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Lorenzo, the very friendly and hospitable owner of B & B Locanda San Marco, who upon check in, immediately assisted in transferring our luggage up the stairs (there is no lift) to our room on the first level. At the same time, he pointed out the lovely outdoor patio sitting area and also the coffee and tea making facilities (along with internet facility) which was also on the first floor.

The building (which is located in the historic centre of the old town) has been tastefully renovated but still retains its old worldly character and our very spacious room was no exception, having a lovely mural painting on the ceiling with matching and appropriately themed furniture. The room (including very large bathroom) was spotlessly clean with an extremely comfortable bed, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi being available.

Having settled into our room, Lorenzo then personally accompanied me in the car and directed myself to the free open air car parking area which was a couple of hundred metres away. He was also more than happy to advise on restaurants, sights etc. and was an excellent host.

Breakfast (whilst quite basic) was more than adequate and comprised fruit, yoghurts and cakes.

In conclusion, we had an extremely pleasant overnight stay at B & B Locanda San Marco and have no hesitation in recommending for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Locanda San Marco is situated in a little palazzo tucked away behind the Piazza del Duomo. It has been sensitively refurbished so that, with all of the modern conveniences, you still enjoy the atmosphere of an old stately town house with wooden ceilings and terrazzo floors. Lorenzo and Ilaria are wonderful hosts who make you welcome and treat you in the morning to a feast of Pistoian confectionery which makes you forget the temptation of the English breakfast. Complimenti ai òspiti!
LL GB

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghausen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We so much enjoyed Locanda San Marco, because the hosts Ilaria and Lorenzo make you feel very welcome, comfortable and supported. Lorenzo will show you where to park your car for free when you arrive and assist you in any matter, Ilaria will make sure you get all you wish for a perfect breakfast.
The historic building is renovated with a lot of love and taste, the rooms are well maintained, the beds are perfectly comfortable. If you can get a room with terrace access it is even nicer. And you are close to the center of town.
The breakfast is a class of its own, not only because of the home-made marmelades and cakes.
We ended up extending our stay in Pistoia at the Locanda San Marco and want to return sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HansMarionZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lorenzo and Ilaria went out of their way to offer personal attention and support, beginning with accompanying me to the parking lot nearby. Lorenzo repeatedly checked to make sure everything was going well, and was ready and willing to offer suggestions and guidance in learning the best ways to explore the undiscovered gem of Pistoia. The room with beautiful ceiling paintings took me back to another era -- plus it was quiet and impeccably clean. The breakfast was very good and varied, too. The Locanda is well-located for all the best sites in Pistoia, and Lorenzo offered invaluable suggestions to find special sights and food. (Thanks for the sample of the Confetti candy, and directions on how to find it!) I especially appreciate the consideration in accommodating my booking changes and arrival time -- the staff was most kind and gracious. I've visited nearby Florence five times, and would highly recommend a visit to Pistoia and a stay at Locando San Marco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Thank you Lorenzo and Ilaria for you warm attention, and nice presence!
I am living in Pistoia 3-4 days per week and, after trying some other hotels, I decided to move to Locanda San Marco, where Lorenzo and Ilaria really gave me extraordinary attention.
I feel like I were at home.. I would never come back!
I particularly appreciate the service level, the cleaness, silence, the building structure with the warm terrace and garden. I would suggest Locanda San Marco both for tourists and for work-travellers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xMarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pistoia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#2 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Cappugi
Hotel Villa Cappugi
#1 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Locanda dei Fiori
Locanda dei Fiori
#1 of 43 in Pistoia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lo studiO b&b
Lo studiO b&b
#3 of 43 in Pistoia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.9 mi away
B&B Campomaggio
B&B Campomaggio
#4 of 43 in Pistoia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda San Marco - Palazzo Caluri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda San Marco - Palazzo Caluri

Property: Locanda San Marco - Palazzo Caluri
Address: Via Porta San Marco 26/28, 51100 Pistoia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Pistoia
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Pistoia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda San Marco is located in the town centre but out of traffic limited zone, in the antique Caluri Palace, built at the end of XVII century.The hosts could choose between 5 apartments and 6 rooms - 2 standard and 4 deluxe - with private bathroom all furnished in an elegant style, keeping a watchful eye on details, to create a familiar atmosphere. During Spring and Summer breakfast can be enjoyed in the terrace and in the courtyard or in our cosy breakfast room. Wi Fi is free in all the Palace. Locanda San Marco is few foot from the central square, where our hosts could discover a wide variety of landscapes and beauty, both architectural and artistic, unknown to most people.Train station, for a fast connection to Florence, Pisa, Lucca, is 500 metres far from. Locanda San Marco is a real oasis of charm and well being, the ideal place to enjoy moments of pure beauty without dropping the appeal of a building perfectly surrounded by the vitally of Pistoia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda San Marco - Palazzo Caluri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing