We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Torrevecchia

Torrevecchia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torrevecchia
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Just got back from a week at Torrevecchia, fabulous place to relax and unwind. The buildings have been sympathetically renovated to provide a series of unique apartments (we peeked inside a few of those besides the one we were staying in) varying in size from 'cosy' to cavernous.

Well placed to tour northern Tuscany - Pisa, Lucca, Florence and all places in between all within easy travelling distance. We travelled by car (Italian driving is definitely an 'experience') though you can get to all places by train from Pistoia itself.

Torrevecchia is a little 'remote', the only place really within walking distance is the Ristorante Limonaia, which we found wonderful (our neighbours recommended another ristorante a bit further away as 'the best in the area' but we didn't find it as good). Having said that it's 'remote', you don't have to go out - just stock up on the booze in plentiful supply at either Conad or the Coop and sit out in the wonderful grounds. Word of warning though the midges really are merciless (I got about 40 bites the first night) so wear plenty of repellent, use citronella candles outside and a plug-in in your room(s).

Talking of booze one of the speciality dolci (desserts) of the area is Cantucci e Vin Santo - I was hooked from my first taste.

There are plenty of places to go in the world, but I'd definitely be tempted back. Oh and a week wasn't enough, I'd go for ten days or two weeks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We spent 2 weeks in an 'apartment ' at Torrevecchia farmhouse, but it wasn't really an apartment, more a villa with it's own private garden.

The farm has been sympathetically converted to provide each apartment with outdoor area and privacy. The pool is beautiful (but would have loved it to have been open later than 7pm). The owners are friendly and helpful.

The place is very low key and traditional, which was perfect for us as we don't like resort style holidays.

Pistoia, the nearest town, is surprisingly attractive and relatively unscathed by tourism, has 2 great supermarkets, Conad and Coop, and a great Sunday market. There are also several good restaurants, including la Limonaia which is only a 10 minute walk from Torrevecchia.

Central for touring northern Tuscany , good train services to Florence and an hour's drive to Lucca, and Chianti, less than 2 hour to Pisa.

Watch out for the narrow very twisty road to Torrevecchia - italian drivers worse than their reputations and testosterone fuelled driving duels ensue as no-one will back down and reverse when 2 cars meet on narrow causeway just outside the farmhouse! Hilarious to watch, but not so much fun if you get caught up in it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank batgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

I feel compelled to write a review of this amazing place to stay! We booked Toreecchia through a travel agent and weren't expecting muchgiven previous self catering encounters. As we were shown into our apartment by the owner Charles and his wife we thought there must be some mistake, surely not all this can be ours!! The place is fantastic, clean and accessible with a lovely big pool! The owners are lovely people who will go out of their way to recommend walks, drives and restaurants (I recommend getting the train to Lucca - we intended to stay for an hour but nearly missed the last train back!). Would thoroughly recommend anyone considering going to this area of Tuscany to stay here...well worth the money!!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhonaAndGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

This was our second visit to this wonderful place. Stayed for two weeks, 16th to 30th June. If you want to get away from it all, but still be close enough to civilisation when you need it, then this is the place for you. An old Tuscan farm converted into 13 apartments of
varying sizes, with beautiful gardens and swimming pool area as well as barbeque area, football pitch and tennis court. Nearby are the wonderful restaurants Da Bischio and La Limonaea, the latter within walking distance.

A five minute drive will bring you to the Conad supermarket which has
the most fantastic delicatessan if you wanted to self cater, but beware the cake counter!! Tiny delicacies sold by the kilo! Resist them if you can.

I would say the only down side to this place, if it's important to you, is that there are no good bars within walking distance, but the prices at Conad are so good, that you might as well get stocked up there and soak up the atmospere of this wonderful property. We visited with two friends, but there are always others around to talk to, and quite a few are Dutch and they speak excellent English. As previously reported, mosquitos can be a problem, but we overcame that
with personal sprays, and plug in devices in our bedroom. We shall definitely be visiting again, as Carlo and Enrica, the owners,are the most delightful people you could wish to meet.

  • Liked — Tranquility and beauty
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2006

Torrevecchia is traditional, low-key, beautifully set, well managed by marvellous hosts, ideal for children. Great wine from their own vineyards and even better olive oil.

Though situated in a less picturesque part of Tuscany, Torrevecchia is an excellent base from which to explore the region by car: Florence 40 mins, Chianti 50 mins and Siena and Pisa just over an hour away. Also handy train connections to Rome and Florence from Pistoia centre which, by the way, is well worth investigating.

Good supermarket shopping, farmacia, doctors and the wonderful Pare gelateria all within five minutes drive. Excellent restaurant da Bischio just up the hill. Friendly local community, so you get a chance to experience the real Italy, not just the tourist 'idyll' and to try out your Italian (no matter how painful) on a patient, encouraging audience.

Would highly recommend it for guidebook-toting parents who'll do a deal with the kids - a pool day followed by an away day.

Relaxing and restorative.

One reservation: the region is mosquito heaven. They have no mercy. Come prepared!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MurphysIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pistoia hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Cappugi
Hotel Villa Cappugi
#1 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
10.1 mi away
Agriturismo podere Montaglioni
2.1 mi away
Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#2 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
3.5 mi away
Antico Convento Park Hotel et Bellevue
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Boschetto
Hotel Il Boschetto
#6 of 12 in Pistoia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrevecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrevecchia

Property: Torrevecchia
Address: Via di San Giorgio 17/23, 51100 Pistoia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Pistoia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Torrevecchia 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Torrevecchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrevecchia Hotel Pistoia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing