We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our honeymoon in Villa Giorgia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
417 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Our honeymoon in Villa Giorgia”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We've stayed in Villa Giorgia for a week for our honeymoon as our base in Tuscany. The hotel is located near Pistoia close to the exit of the A11 autostrade, about 30 mins drive from Florence (depends on your driving style, Italians can probably get there faster). The Hotel itself is on the SS64 road that is connected via another road that surrounds Pistoia. This road is curvy and on a slope, and you'll find yourself driving slowly at about 50km/h while the locals pass you at about 90km/h. The view from this road is maginificent, so drive slowly and take the time to appreciate it.

The parking is located across the road from the hotel, which is based adjecant to road. This is one fault with the hotel since you hear any passing car nearby when you're in the swimming pool or in the room if the soundproof windows are open. If you're interested in a completely serene enviroment, consider an alternative residence.

The hotel rooms themselves are very basic, there is a lovely garden and a nice swimming pool overlooking the Tuscan hills. There is also a nice patio in the garden where one can sit or read while sinking in all the beautiful landscape.

The hotel's breakfast is very basic, a few fresh pasteries and fruit, fresh fruit salad that is prepared daily, 2-3 types of bacon, 2-3 types of cheese, bread, yogurt and flakes that go along with it, coffee, tea, fresh juice and eggs, scattered or aumlet, which are prepared on your request. At dinner, the dining area is transformed into a resturant, where I had an amazing angus beef steak, and my better half enjoyed a cinta pork which was also very good. Prices are on the expensive range, as expected, but we didn't go wrong with ordering the cheapest Chianti on the wine list, at 15EUR. You have other dining alternatives in the area, of course. Either go to Pistoia (free parking near the center, aim for the Chellini) or continue going up road SS64, whever you'll encounter several more restuarants and bars.

Service was excellent, I cannot thank the staff enough for providing information and assisting us in any possible way they could. All the staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful. A special thanks goes to the blonde Dutch receptionist, which I think is called Marica, who was a fountain of knowledge.

I would recommend this hotel to couples and young parents with small children who look for a Tuscany retreat in a relatively centered place. People who are strict about silence and serenity would probably be discouraged with the hotel being located next to the road and should seek other alternatives, and the same goes for people who want to be within a few minutes of the major public transportation facilities, as the hotel is located next to none.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GameServer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
62
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
355 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We arrived after 1 day traveling by car, not really well dressed to go in in this hotel! They have been kind and welcoming, made a discount on the rate because was late.

Allowed us to go to the swimming pool (overfacing Tuscan Hills) even if it was closed.

Booked a table at thei restaurant, I ate a fantastic "pappa al pomodoro" tipycal tuscan soup. Fabbuolos meet and great dessert.

Staff is very attentive to you and kindness is a must.

Loved this place. I will probably stay ther 1 or maximum 2 nights, not longer. But if you are traveling around Tuscany and you want to stay out of the town center, this is so nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towanda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I chose this hotel for it's location between Lucca and Florence. Particularly as we didn't want to drive into the Florence rather we wanted to easily take the train in. (Although getting to the train station from the hotel proved to be a little more challenging than we thought it would be.) The hotel was newly remodeled offering more modern amenities. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The best part was that the person who greeted us spoke perfect English!

Make sure you drive up and around the hotel, don't get confused by the service entrance. Also be forewarned that a king bed is actually two smaller beds pushed together.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavyShopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Villa Giorgia is a really beautifull hotel with a marvellous swimmingpool and a beautifull garden. The view is marvellous! But the hotel is in a u-turn of the national road and the whole day long you have (outside) te noise of motors comming up the hill or the breaks of the cars, motors, trucs coming down the road!! In the hotel you don't hear a thing, the isolation is great, but you cannot lay at your ease at the swimming pool or the garden.
The rooms are very beautiful, the food is really ok and the personal is very kind!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pistoia hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cappugi
Hotel Villa Cappugi
#1 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.6 mi away
Antico Convento Park Hotel et Bellevue
3.4 mi away
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#2 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Agriturismo podere Montaglioni
2.1 mi away
Torrevecchia
Torrevecchia
#8 of 12 in Pistoia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Il Boschetto
Hotel Il Boschetto
#6 of 12 in Pistoia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina

Property: Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina
Address: Via Bolognese 164 | Loc. Burchietti, 51100 Pistoia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Pistoia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Giorgia, a beautiful and breathtaking hotel on a valley which overlooks the city of Pistoia in Tuscany, opened its doors June 2009. A new hotel in Pistoia that offers a pleasant and elegant atmosphere with its 18 rooms. All rooms are furnished in a modern and refined style. Our services include a rich buffet breakfast, outdoor swimming pool, external parking and garage, internet point, wi-fi & pay TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Villa Giorgia - Albergo in Collina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing