We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best seafood in Peschici” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante La Taverna

Ristorante La Taverna
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Peschici
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best seafood in Peschici”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

After eating at La Taverna you will regret trying other places and not going back. Yesterday we had dinner there for the first time and before paying the bill we booked our next dinner. The excellent quality of the tasteful food accompanied with laughter and kindness offered by the great staff are definitely worth the €35 spent per person. We enjoyed the antipasto del pirata consisting in a great variety of small dishes with different kinds of fish....mmmmm I loved the tuna with balsamic vinegar with that twist of lemon that made it superlicious and that fab prawns with crispy bacon. The local wine was great and it perfectly matched every dish. The location was really unique and being a couple we were seated at "the most romantic table" ...the whole place is romantic!!! Again the food was really good but what made this place really special was the professionalism of the staff. Can't wait to go back and try the lobster. Don't forget to book at least a couple of days in advance!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank casatigroAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    393
    118
    30
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I went to "La Taverna" based on the review from Trip Advisor. The only thing we really liked was the coziness of the restaurant. The food was just average. My first two choices from the menu were unavailable - I had to settle for linguine with small clams. OK but with some sand. The service was spotty, at best. I don't expect to get all the attention because of my good looks (I have none) but it seems that the waiter payed us much less attention than to other customers. We even had to remind him to bring us the wine we had ordered because he apparently had forgotten. A not so memorable experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice choice in Peschici”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice restaurant off a little alley in the old town. We had the first outdoor table by the door and while it wasn't very private, when you live in rainy Vancouver you'll take any outdoor table you can get. :). The food was really good, though being mainly a fresh seafood restaurant, I as a vegetarian found the choices for me pretty limited. But hubby was happy with his seafood choices. The service was warm and efficient despite the restaurant being packed. It looked like while all the tourists ate outside, the inside was packed with Italian families. Always a good sign I think.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clkluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Small cozy restaurant in a narrow alley. I had the Spaghetti nero di seppia, it was wonderful. Great value for money!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

after the positive reviews on TripAdvisor we had expected something special. However this was an average meal at a relatively high price. Easting at the Osteria Pane e Vino knocks spots off it (sorry Taverna!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank leech_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Taverna also viewed

Peschici, Province of Foggia
Peschici, Province of Foggia
 
Peschici, Province of Foggia
Peschici, Province of Foggia
 
Peschici, Province of Foggia
 

Been to Ristorante La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing