We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice in Peschici”

Ristorante La Taverna
Ranked #5 of 106 Restaurants in Peschici
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice choice in Peschici”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice restaurant off a little alley in the old town. We had the first outdoor table by the door and while it wasn't very private, when you live in rainy Vancouver you'll take any outdoor table you can get. :). The food was really good, though being mainly a fresh seafood restaurant, I as a vegetarian found the choices for me pretty limited. But hubby was happy with his seafood choices. The service was warm and efficient despite the restaurant being packed. It looked like while all the tourists ate outside, the inside was packed with Italian families. Always a good sign I think.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clkluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    434
    128
    32
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Small cozy restaurant in a narrow alley. I had the Spaghetti nero di seppia, it was wonderful. Great value for money!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“a disappointment”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

after the positive reviews on TripAdvisor we had expected something special. However this was an average meal at a relatively high price. Easting at the Osteria Pane e Vino knocks spots off it (sorry Taverna!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank leech_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family run - great food”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The situation of the restaurant is stunning (often photographed from the street above. The food is mainly fresh seafood cooked to a high standard. Local wines provide a wonderful accompaniment to the meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A magical place”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We ate at La Taverna twice last week during our stay in Peschici. What an absolute gem of a place!!! Sitting outside by olive trees with fresh flowers at your table is a very magical and romantic experience. On both occasions we began with 'the pirate' anti pasti - fantastic value to share between two with the very freshest local seafood - delicious. The homemade pasta is fantastic and the portions are HUGE! The second time we ate here we had wanted to try salt-baked fish that we'd spied a diner having earlier in the week. Matteo, the wonderful owner, told us he didn't have the right fish for such a dish that evening but invited us to see what he did have available. He suggested a John dory which was cooked with tomatoes, basil, bay, olives. He also suggested a nice wine to accompany the dish. When it arrived, wow, did it look good. Served with some simple greens (also delicious) it was one of the best meals we've had in a long time. At the end of the evening, you are presented with 3 bottles: limoncello, a mandarin liqueur and a laurel liqueur, all on the house. We could so very nearly have missed this place as it is off the main drag; we're so pleased we didn't. If you still have room for more, grab a wonderful ice cream from the amazing parlour nearby and watch the passeggiata. Don't miss it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDN1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Taverna also viewed

Peschici, Province of Foggia
Peschici, Province of Foggia
 
Peschici, Province of Foggia
Peschici, Province of Foggia
 
Peschici, Province of Foggia
 

Been to Ristorante La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing