We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional modern Italian”
Review of Porta di Basso

Porta di Basso
Ranked #12 of 106 Restaurants in Peschici
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Exceptional modern Italian”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Where do we start.... 1st the restaurant, its perched on the cliffs almost hanging over the ocean, you can hear the waves crashing into the rocks.... 2nd the food, absolutely fantastic. The very talented & highly awarded chef Dominico serves local ingredients that have been carefully selected, handled with care & creatively prepared ensuring that there true flavors shine through. We ate here twice in a week, once a la carte & once the chefs menu, both
meals superb. The tuna tartare with lemon & salt, pasta with sea urchin sauce & the seabass were outstanding. 3rd excellent wine list & drink menu. 4th and the most important the staff... Dominico personally stops by each table asking how you are enjoying his restaurant, he is dressed in his chefs uniform so you can be assured he is actually cooking the food you are eating. Listening to him talk you realise how passionate he is about food. Maurizio who runs the front of house really 'makes' the whole experience. He is professional offering food & wine advice but does this in his own special way. His warm friendly & very funny character shines through and you immediately feel like old friends! Fine dining at its absolute best!!! Bravo!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PedalsMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    122
    47
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best in the area”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place was recommended by locals. Quite impossible to find by yourself, despite the old town is quite small. The exterior pass unnoticed. I had to force my guest to come in when taken over the main door. Once inside, everything changed. My guests saw the balcony on top of the high cliff and they felt in love. Very local but with a nice touch of style and attention to details. Food well presented and very testy. We were given a booklet of the top 100 Italian chef introducing "our" chef for the evening. Nice discovery and absolutely correct. The raw fish was taken to us before being prepared. Aside of the great see smell, I think it was a very nice touch of style. Price below expectation for such a place, including a special reserve of Greco di Tufo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KosNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Cliff top restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We asked at the hotel for a good fish restaurant and this one was recommended. It is in the old town and on the cliff top. There are 4 tables on the small sheltered terrace overlooking the sea, two more inside also with sea views and several others, all with crisp table linen and a lamp on the outside tables. The water and chef spoke English and an English menu was provided on request. To start I had carpaccio of red snapper with oli and lemon which was decorated with a sprinkling of dried flowers. Served raw it was delicious but I felt needed bread which, unusually, was not provided. (We asked at the end of the meal and the waiter apologised as he forgot). After this I had cavatelli, 'pesche azzurro', tomato and fennel which again was well presented and very tasty. The desserts also were well presented and enjoyable. My husband had chocolate mousse with kiwi and bitter orange, which although not what he had ordered was nevertheless very pleasant. I had bitter orange sorbet which had melted slightly. Petits four were served with tea and coffee. The waitress wore trainers, the waiter had noisy shoes, the music was low key and unobtrusive. A good restaurant serving well cooked and presented food and not the usual tourist fare. We paid 89 Euros which included a bottle of wine, water - no charge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ge0rgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,351 reviews
898 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
“Great meal on an incredible terrace. Memorable”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We were the only customers sitting on the terrace overlooking the rock and the sea. And a lovely meal very refined. What a treat! Will be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eat dinner here”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Porta di Basso was the best restaurant in town. Great food, fresh fish, great wines, not too expensive and the greatest people we met in Italy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta di Basso also viewed

Peschici, Province of Foggia
Peschici, Province of Foggia
 
Peschici, Province of Foggia
Peschici, Province of Foggia
 
Peschici, Province of Foggia
 

Been to Porta di Basso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing