We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Locanda della Castellana
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Peschici
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Three night stay in comfortable spacious room with its own balcony overlooking a hillside with the sea in the distance.
Host Marino most welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
Great breakfast on the terrace and lovely evening meals.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Glend... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinocassio, Proprietario at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely words and, of course, for your recommendation.

Marino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    78
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
138
226
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pesaro, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed for two nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Marino is so friendly and helpful. The whole stay felt vey relaxed. We had one of the large two room suites on the top floor with a large terrace and lovely views. The rooms are not 'grand' but they are very comfortable and clean. The highlight of the hotel is the food. Marino and his family love to cook and it really shows. We were there out of season so there were only a few guests. each morning he asked what type of thing we would like for dinner; fish, meat or vegetables. And then each evening he served up a delicous four couse meal for 20 euros. It was so nice not to have to look through a menu but just to have the lovely food brought to your table. The breakfasts were excellent too, with lovely fresh orange juice! Marino was a wonderful host. On one of the evenings he effortlessly spoke to us in english, the german guests in german and a french guest in french! We would certainly like to go back to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rake11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely words and, of course, I hope to see you - and even to cook for you - soon!

Marino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Our visit to the Gargano started with a warm welcome from Marino and only got better. We arrived hungry but it was also during siesta so none of the cafes in town were open. Marino very kindly prepared us a delicious lunch before we set out walking to explore the area.

This small hotel is situated on the hillside and offers amazing views of the sea and surrounding hillsides. Our room on the top floor was gorgeous, impeccably clean and had a large balcony with a stunning view. The exercise room is outfitted with great equipment and has a view of the pool and sea. It was too cool to enjoy the pool in mid April but I'm sure it would be a welcome treat in the hotter weather.

We know good food when we find it and we happily had dinner at the hotel for the 3 nights that we stayed. Marino makes every effort to use local and in-season ingredients, so everything is fresh and delicious. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful - the best we had during our 3 weeks traveling in Southern Italy. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best views but I think all rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McRemko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and, above all, thanks for appreciating our kitchen and our attention towards our guests.

Best regards,

Marino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We made a last minute decision to stop here on our trip around the Gargano Peninsula. And we did not regret our decision. The hotel is outside town with a great view over the hills down to the sea. The welcoming atmosphere can be felt everywhere, from the comfort of the room, the cozy chairs on the downstairs patio and around the pool. The dining room is bright and airy, and when warm enough the outside eating area is lovely. Meals, both supper and breakfast , were outstanding. We only wished we could stay longer to explore the nearby national park. This is a different Italy and a welcome change.

Room Tip: Try to get room with a balcony...definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
When I read reviews like this one, I can only be proud of my work. Thanks for appreciating our structure and our atmosphere.

Best regards,

Marino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Nice location on a hillside just outside Peschici, with a beautiful terrace and pool. Our suite (no. 3) comprised two rooms, plus a small modern bathroom and a large north-facing balcony. Martino speaks excellent English. He was an excellent host and enthusiastically helped us enjoy all the delights of the Gargano peninsular. Dinner is based on local produce and recipes, excellently cooked, although maybe not all to everyone's taste. Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bald-Tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

thak you for your lovely review. Our intent is to introduce out traditions, our local products and flavors and I hope you enjoyed them.

Best regards,

Marino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We showed up without reservations ( long story....) when ringing the bell, the owner answered
and informed us the hotel was closed and would open the next day. When I bleated out our
disappointment, he sighed and said, OK, I will open the gate. He had one room that was cleaned
and ready. He is the sweetest and most hospitable man we ever met! After settling in and getting acquainted with his dog, he invited us to join him and his friend for dinner at a local restaurant where we were treated to the most delicious very fresh fish and some incredible - and I mean incredible - olive oil that was made by the restaurant. Breakfast was wonderful with home made jam. Had we visited more in season ( this was early April 14) I'm sure a very nice experience would have been better yet - but as it was we have the most fond memories of our one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Ankie,

Thank you for your great review and, obviously, I'm glad you enjoyed the company of my friends. I hope to see you again in summer!

Best regards,

Marino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I must admit when I first saw the hotel after a long drive from Rome I was sure it would not be up to my standards. Oh how I was mistaken! I admit it is not, at first glance, a place one expects a resort atmosphere... but once you allow Marino, the owner, to indulge you in the atmosphere of his very well managed hotel's offerings, you will want to keep coming back. Yes, I had to walk up two stairs to get to my room, and yes it was a nice stairway up from the parking area to get to the room... but I considered it a good exercise for all the out of the ordinary food consumption that one gets to do while in Italy! The hotel must have been built in the 60s and it looks it. The rooms have Formica furniture and the common areas are not updated. However, everything is pristine, clean and comfortable. My room (actually a bedroom with a hug balcony and a living room with a desk, a sleep sofa and a second armoire were all very very comfortable with nice sheets/pillows and towels. The shower was nice and big, not one of those tiny showers where you only have a shower head up in the ceiling that you cannot control, but with great water pressure, and a hand shower...then Marino asked me if I wanted to have dinner there that night. It was already 8.00 pm and I didn't have the energy to get back in the car and drive to Peschici and look for a restaurant. So I said yes. When the weather is nice they set the tables outside on a vast balcony, under umbrellas and play the most beautiful music! Once I got back downstairs and started getting into the music and had my first glass of wine I think I was hooked. And after 6 nights there I know I want to go back. It is a most relaxing magical atmosphere... everyone who works there tries to make your stay a happy one. Marino's mother makes the homemade pasta in the mornings right before everyone's eyes. They have a big pool, a hot-tub and an outdoor gym you can work out overlooking the hill behind Peschici... the breakfasts and dinners are great. They serve homemade dishes (I am still pining after that fried bread with cheese and rosemary that was cooked like a frittata as a breakfast dish) and the branzino with rosemary that Marino cooked one night, not to mention the orechiette with the amare herbe (I don't remember what it was but it was outstanding)... I liked the whole atmosphere so much so that I am considering organizing a reunion for all my high school friends there. I know it would be beautiful... when you are there definitely take a boat tour on the Vittorio (A big boat that goes into all the little grotte along the coast. Peschici is a great little town, and people are extremely welcoming and hospitable... thank you Mario for making every effort to make my time there so magical...

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms if you like comfort. Marino is starting to update the hotel so go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ligia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peschici hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Valle Clavia
Park Hotel Valle Clavia
#4 of 22 in Peschici
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elisa
Hotel Elisa
#2 of 22 in Peschici
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Timiama
Hotel Timiama
#6 of 22 in Peschici
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Orchidea
Hotel Orchidea
#14 of 22 in Peschici
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maritalia Hotel Club Village
0.7 mi away
Pensione Biscotti Hotel
Pensione Biscotti Hotel
#11 of 22 in Peschici
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda della Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda della Castellana

Property: La Locanda della Castellana
Address: Localita Valle Castellana snc, 71010 Peschici, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Peschici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Peschici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda della Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inn is situated among the hills of the giant Gargano. Dry-stone walls, lemons, figs, prickly pears, olive trees and pines form its background, exalted by the breeze coming from the sea, a panorama which alone would be worth a stay of a couple of days. It represents a safe, pleasant, and regenerating departure point to discover the promontory, its gorges, beaches, woods, and sanctuaries. "La Castellana" is a sort of holiday farm, only 1 Km far from the town center of Peschici and 1,5 Km far from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Locanda della Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing