We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Locanda della Castellana
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Hotel Valle Clavia(Peschici)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elisa(Peschici)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Orchidea(Peschici)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Timiama(Peschici)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel D'Amato(Peschici)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveler rating
379
88
11
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
88
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastahis teamgargano peninsulanice poolair conditioningour honeymoonmarinolocandabalconyhosthomemadedishessuggestions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 481 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

There must be a good reason if this hotel is ranked No. 1 in Peschici. And it's because it can't get any better. My wife and I just finished our stay here and found the place to be very beautiful, immaculately kept, conveniently located near the beach and the charming town of Peschici yet nestled in a quiet, sun splashed hillside surrounded by lovingly maintained cedar trees and flowers. Marino, who manages the place, is an exceptionally friendly and helpful guy who sincerely wants his guests to be comfortable. He is fluent in Italian, of course, and English. We had planned a 3 days vacation but stretched our stay to 5 days because the place is perfect for relaxation. Another good reason to stay is the food. We had a not-so-great experience in a restaurant in Peschici and we decided to eat our evening meals at the Locanda. A great move because all our meals were first rate. Breakfast is abundant. Finally, the cost is quite reasonable. What more do you want? The Locanda della Castellana is "numero uno" and deserves to be so. Maria and Leo Vadala.

Room Tip: We had room No. 1 with a fabulous view of the surrounding territory but - really - just about any room has a great view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Set in a massive and beautiful house up a hill surrounded by olive trees and flowers with an amazing view, this hotel is fantastic!!!
We had a relaxing and romantic time there watching the sunset in the sea from our balcony or from the lovely main terrace over the mama's home made liquor. We also ate there a few times and had some earthy dishes and wine made from local products at a fair price. (The Mama makes the fresh pasta in the morning). We would also recommend a restaurant nearby, the Trabucco da Mimi for a seafood and fresh fish extravaganza in a dreamy location on the rocks by the sea.
But the best thing about this hotel is Marino who manages the place, he is such a funny and eccentric character with a joyful vibe. We have fond memories of him and would 100% recommend this "Gem in Gargano". And if we were not living 4hrs away, we would go back every month for a top up. Freddy & Chaya

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We truly enjoyed our 5-day stay there and Martino is the most attentive and charming of hosts, always ready to help and guide you. The breakfast (included in the price) is wonderful with a lot of choice of both sweet and salty things, all the cakes are homemade. In the evening we enjoyed staying there for dinner, served at 8:00 pm precisely, and the pasta is homemade by the "mamma".
Great pool and outdoor facilties for eating on a lovely and brezzy terrace admiring the sunset. They also have bikes which you can borrow if you wish.
Only minor little snag, the cleaning of the rooms is rather "fast".
I understand suite N° 7 is the best, and only slightly more expensive than a room. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: If you choose to spend 10 euros more, you can get suite N° 7 which is great for a couple, and you can also prepare a quick meal in your room if you choose to.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luluquinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a delightful week at the 3* Locanda della Castellana run by Marino and his family. Most guests are Italian and the 14 rooms are booked solid during the summer months, so plan ahead. We had booked 2 “apartment” rooms, one for ourselves and the other our teenage children. The apartment splits into two rooms, one main bedroom and the other a sitting room with convertible sofa bed. All rooms have a fine view over a valley and the Adriatic Sea in the distance.
The hotel is around 2km outside downtown Peschici – don’t believe the Google maps location, trust the directions on the hotel’s web site. Being out of town is certainly preferably, Peschici itself is overrun during the holiday months and driving / parking can be tricky. We found the best route into town to be a right turn out of the hotel, up the hill then left by the supermarket – around a 5 minute drive.

The hotel has a pleasant pool which was never crowded whilst we stayed; most guests seem to prefer to head for one of the many local beaches during the day. We tried this a couple of times and it was not our scene, just too busy (in August).

The hotel features an al fresco fitness centre which was used daily in a vain attempt to run off the pasta and vino. On the subject of food my recommendations are limited to just 3 - the Locanda itself which serves a fine (inclusive) breakfast and optional dinner, the “Pit Stop” snack bar at the top of the hill for an informal lunch time spit-roast chicken and last – but by no means least – Osteria Pane and Vino. The latter is a 3 minute drive – turn left out of the hotel, left again at the roundabout and the restaurant is about 1km on your right hand side. Much favoured by locals in the know it has an anti-pasta course to die for plus pasta and charcoal cooked meats, all at a bargain price. The menu seems something an irrelevance, turn up and they start serving you! For a sedate lunchtime out of the sun this is a great spot. We struggled to find a decent restaurant in Peschici town centre. The Trip Advisor top-rated “Taverna” was a disappointment – expensive and average food, maybe we were unlucky.

Overall a great holiday. Staying at the Locanda in high season is not a cheap option but you will not be disappointed by your decision.

Room Tip: all rooms share the same fine view. Go for the "Apartment" type to give yourself more space.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leech_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinocassio, Direttore at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thanks very much mr Leech. I hope you will come again in a season not so crowded. Hallo to all your wanderful family.
Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Marino and his family hosted us on our honeymoon in May 2011 and we had such a lovely time here.

Peschici itself is quite run down we thought, however this hotel was fantastic. So welcoming and lovely.

Our room was bright and airy we had delicious meals, breakfast and dinner were both fab.

The fact that it was out of season and there weren't many people there meant that we were able to talk to Marino at leisure. He was extremely helpful and friendly.

Very easy to get to the beach or the nearby nature reserve -a beautiful destination

Room Tip: We stayed in the biggest room they had as we were out of season and it was our honeymoon, not sure on standard of other rooms but ours was excellent
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethAmaterasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews