We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular location - fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Residence Hotel
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Palinuro
Reviewed October 14, 2011

the hotel dominates a private bay which makes you feel like you're actually a king. the staff is helpful although a bit tight. as for palinuro the town needs a drastic reordering but there are a few nice cafés. Very nice the regional park just on the outskirts of town. My opinion is to go there for a long weekend, and not in high season because the magic of the area is given especially from the close contact with nature.

Room Tip: go the extra mile and take the suites with the big terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 297 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

Travelled with saga 39 people in group, my stay at this hotel was horrendous, didn't eat for 3 days as the food was so bad, Base of bed had hole in it covered by board. neither hotel staff or Saga tour manager would do anything about it. The health suite was cclosed till end of month all those was advertised in sagas brochure, the swimming pool was dirty and cleaning commenced on our second day.
Gald to leave the place although the scenery was beautiful.
Shame

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucyfranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

There are a real variety of reviews on here about the King's Residence and we worried about booking but eventually did due to the location. We went for 5 days in mid June this year, arrived from Pompeii by train and got the bus to Palinuro where we were picked up by King's Residence staff (we were charged for the pickup) and taken the 1km up the hill to the hotel. The location was spectacular - stunning views. The hotel itself gives the impression that it was certainly luxurious and expensively fitted out when built (in the 70s - white grand piano, white leather sofas etc.) but could do with a wee bit of modernisation. What you can't argue with is the setting and space of the hotel - lovely pool area, terrace overlooking the sea for breakfast and large communal areas. The rooms are not luxurious but not bad at all, good space and absolutely amazing views over the bay. Air con not turned on until July and August and being from Scotland t was hot but fan supplied when asked. Staff friendly enough but not great English. Restaurant choice VERY limited and expensive relative to places nearby and down in Palinuro. However, lovely restaurant nearby (turn left out of hotel and walk up the hill, past the pizzeria) and only a 15 minute walk down hill to Palinuro itself. Shuttle service hotel provides did not run often and no pickup in evening so unless you like hiking a taxi back up the hill from town the best choice. The real beauty of the King's Residence is the setting and space - the 'private' beach is a long way down (about 400 steps!) but stunning and quiet for the first few days we were there (mid June). However, it's a boat trip stopping point and was very busy by the Friday we were there and is so small that it was overpowered by the people from the boats. Either get down early if there is high season or prepare to be inundated with boat trip people. Pool area (and hotel in general) was very quiet while we were there. Overall we had a lovely time, the hotel is fine, plenty of places to eat out of hotel so you don't have to pay there prices and get no choice, the facilities are good (pool and beach) and the setting of the hotel is phenomenal and overrides any niggles you may have. Would go again at the same time but probably not in higher season when the beach would be too crowded for my liking. I think the setting and views alone makes the hotel worth staying in.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sunlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

we stayed at this hotel last year and I felt I had to write to put the record straight. We had a lovely time, the rooms are not anything special, but its clean and had everything needed for a good time. The hotel staff do not speak a lot of English, but they are helpful and very good natured. We were given a lift by the head waiter as we were walking up the hill after a couple of days of holiday - we wouldn't have recognised him! The food was well cooked and nicely presented, the choice was not large, but there was always three choices of each course and a veggie option, along with a salad bar. The beach restaurant and lunchtime eatery were equally good. The seafood spaghetti was marvellous!

The staff were verypersonable and we thought the head waiter and head barman to be brilliant. We have advised loads of folks to go here and will definately return ourselves - and we usually don't go anywhere twice.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Gemahejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We have booked this hotel through a German agent with DERTOUR and thought we had booked a 4 star hotel.
Minutes after we arrived I doubted that this hotel ever had more than 2 stars as I had to use the bathroom in the lobby which was a rather unpleasent experience since it was not very clean, the toilets had no toilet seats (which might have been better!) and especially all doorknobs were filthy. The smell in the lobby and the bath room reminded me of the smell you find in hospitals.
We got a huge room with two bedrooms, a small wardobe, a very small bathroom but no kind of sitting space. Everything in the rooms seemed to be from the decade when the hotel was built somewhen in the seventies of the last century. Brown tiles, brown chairs, a tv set from 1980, furniture that lookd selfmade and not 4 star at all. There was a small terrace attached to one of the rooms unfortunately with no privacy as the neighbours share it with one.
The food is simply horrible - especially breakfast is something that really makes your day! I do not know how this coffee is made and what taste it has - disgusting. The presenation as well as the quality of the food is bad. We booked halfboard and expected the worst for dinner. The first evening we were kind of surprised as the food was better than expected. But that changed with the second and all other evenings as we always found something of the dinner of the last evening in the we were served. Besides being boring the food was of poor quality just like breakfast.
The probably funniest couple of the hotel staff were the two guys running the bar. One did not speak any other language than italian (in an international hotel with 80% engl. spoken guests at the time of our visit) and both of them were very slow in what they did. Guests are not asked what they want, guest have to go to the bar and ask for the bar list or a drink etc. Brilliant service!!!
We asked the hotel for a better room but they did not have one. We also asked DERTOUR for a change of hotel but they denied and insisted that this hotel is rated correctly by one of the DERTOUR staff yearly. No wonder as the hotel has special rooms for hotel clerks that do the rating.
There is one thing that is unique to the hotel and that are the views - fantastic!!! The beach - though it is not a private one - is beautiful but it takes app. 500 steps to reach it and worse 500 steps to climb up again!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pedrolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

My boyfriend and I spent 4 days in the King's Residence Hotel in July.
I agree with a previous review about the hotel rooms, they do not live up to expectation as they are quite basic (even if our room was big, and the terrace had a breathtaking view!!) and the decor is dated.

Despite some previous comments, we found that the restaurant served very good food but unfortunately the ambience and the restaurant itself are a bit sterile. Some people might consider these faults unacceptable for a 4-star hotel but in my opinion the settings, the astonishing view from the path and the beautiful bay itself certainly compensate for these minor faults.

The staff are quite helpful and attentive (on the day we left, as it was early in the morning, the hotel gave us 2 packed breakfast containing fruit, jam, sandwiches etc. They were very helpful and assisted with the planning of my journey back to Ancona). Don’t be fooled by their recommendation of a country- restaurant (agriturismo) "L'Isca delle donne" be aware that you could be disappointed with the hotel owner’s family restaurant (we were..). Being Italian, I had the expectation of a proper country restaurant serving dishes of wild-bore, duck, game etc but unfortunately, on the night we dined the meager choice was either pork and veal...the upside the was that the starters were really good and filling!!!!

The hotel’s gardens are absolutely marvelous: the pool bar, the park, the beautiful swimming pool and the breakfast terrace all have wonderful views over the sea especially the awesome view you can enjoy from the path which leads down to the bay. The path is well kept and the contrast between the green of the vegetation, the blue sky and the colourful sea makes the walk to the bay very picturesque. The slope down the beach is not hard at all, even though if you have to walk down 460 steps!!! Only the last flight of steps is somewhat difficult to traverse . Even my boyfriend, who is a bit on the lazy side, accompanied me to the beach and back every time. The bay is very pretty and has a cozy atmosphere and the water is very clear.

I would highly recommend the boat trip to "Baia degli Infreschi". If you cannot depart from Palinuro, which can sometime be the case due to the sea state, the boats of “Coop. del Cilento” leave every day from the more protected Marina di Camerota to Baia degli Infreschi, though this too can be weather permitting.

The view from the hill over the bay is gorgeous and the water so clear!!!

If you happen to be in Marina di Camerota, not far from "Le lentiscelle" beach, you could try the restaurant "Lo chalet". We stopped there for a quick lunch; we had seafood pasta and a pizza. Our food was delicious and the food going around other tables looked very fresh and smelled lovely!!! Also, the chef was very friendly!

We thoroughly enjoy our stay in this hotel!

Alessia (Italy) &John (U.K.)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ancali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We have been ther, is nice place, the vew is fantastic; very good retaurant, all the staf has been helpful and the the hotel is very pleasant. We recommend to go in this hotel, is on the hill of Palinuro, and from ther You can look the Baia Buondormire. Mr. Merola see You again, thanks for Your high quality services that we received.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank johnsonNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palinuro hotels
1.6 mi away
Saline Hotel
Saline Hotel
#6 of 24 in Palinuro
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Grand Hotel San Pietro
#3 of 24 in Palinuro
366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Conchiglia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Tre Caravelle
Le Tre Caravelle
#12 of 24 in Palinuro
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#5 of 24 in Palinuro
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#10 of 24 in Palinuro
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Residence Hotel

Address: Via Piano Faracchio 1 | Baia del Buondormire, 84051 Palinuro, Centola, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Centola > Palinuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palinuro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palinuro
Price Range: $98 - $1,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Residence Palinuro
Hotel Kings Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing