We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Rita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rita
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Rita while visiting the magnificent ruins and the museum in Paestum. The hotel is a short walk from the temples, and is also close to the beach. Luigi and daughter Rita (the hotel is named for her grandmother) are graciousl, informative hosts. Luigi provided flashlights for our evening walk, and gave us a wonderful background on the area. It was too cool to try the hotel swimming pool in November, but the grounds, dining room and common areas are lovely. Free wifi is available in front of the fireplace!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2nothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    73
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
104
142
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

I loved Paestum! I loved the temples, and museum, the peaceful rural location, and the fact that we got away from the crowds for a few days. This hotel was so convenient to the ruins. We appreciated being picked up and returned to the train station at no extra charge. The dinner was fantastic. The room was clean and comfortable. It would've been nice to stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VamanosYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We spent one night at this hotel and wished we could stay for a week. The hotel is beautiful and very close to the ruins in Paestum. The food was delicious and Luigi is very accomodating. An extra bonus is that it is an easy walk from the hotel to the beach. You will love Villa Rita.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The grounds are beautiful and the pictures don't do them justice. We had booked a quad but when we arrived. they had an apartment available and they upgraded us at no additional cost. The teens loved their separate room with skylight and twin beds. We had tvs in both rooms but the best room amenity was air conditioning. It worked really well and kept both rooms cool. The owner has cool artwork in the halls of the hotel - pictures of Vesuvius, old Naples, an eclectic mix.
The built in pool was perfect. it had a diving board, a few rafts and some of the chairs had umbrellas for shade. It was reallly hot when we arrived so the pool was a welcome sight.
We had dinner at the hotel, so many courses - we couldn't finish them all. It was very relaxing and the server was accomodating. The breakfast was simple but very good.
The hotel was located across the street from the ruins. I was worried about walking in the heat, but it was really close.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsTakealook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESeiter
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

There is no better way to experience Paestum then staying at the Hotel Villa Rita!!! Thank you Rick Steves for the recommendation!
Management: The management creates a relaxing atmosphere that is very pleasant at a great value.
Property: Located on an expansive property right across the street from the ancient ruins. It is a beautiful location with lots of nature, trees, and was manicured very nicely. It is nice just walking around the ambiance of the hotel!! We walked with our 2 1/2 year old to the site, the walk to the park entrance is about 5 minutes. By the way, this place is excellent if you have children, the swimming pool was really nice. Very pleasant location. The wall for the ancient city is right across the street from the hotel entrance. We stayed in the detached Villa on the property. The owner let us park our van right up to our room entrance. There are also rooms inside the building. Plenty of parking located in front of the building. This hotel has a lot of space, wit
Value: The room was 100 euros a night, which was very cheap for this type of property.
Restaurant: The restaurant is an extremely excellent value at 15 euros a night. The restaurant served excellent food. I would recommend that they put music on while eating, it was very quiet while eating. The breakfast comes with the room. Excellent food, great preparation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESeiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel has it all, a very warm welcome, excellent ambience, excellent pool, excellent kitchen, good room, and free bikes!
The peace and tranquility pervade the whole place and this is a great location for Paestum and the surrounding hills and beaches...

go, go go!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

This hotel is really nice: idyllic location, rooms are comfortable and clean, service is excellent, food is great, and the owner, Mr Luigi Pisani, is kind, polite and a great host. He even picked me up at the train station and took me back the day I departed at no extra cost!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paestum hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
1.3 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
1.3 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#2 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rita

Property: Hotel Villa Rita
Address: Zona Archeologica SNC | Via Nettuno, 9, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paestum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#10 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Rita is situated about 300 metres from the main road in the countryside just outside the walls of antique Paestum, on a property of two hectares. It's an ideal, tranquil setting for those who are seeking a break from the city. The hotel has a restaurant, pool and private parking.It's 900 metres from the beach and 1400 metres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing