We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the hills of Paestum”
Review of Casale Giancesare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casale Giancesare
Ranked #2 of 35 Paestum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury in the hills of Paestum”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We came to Paestum looking for a place to spend the night. Consulting our LP-guide, Casale Giancesare seemed like a good choice. The only problem was finding the place as it didn´t pop up on our GPS. With a little help from google and the directions on the b&b´s homepage we managed to find our way. Still, this is not the place to go without a car or a taxi.
The b&b is located in the hills outside Paestum in the middle of surrounding grape-yards. It´s a great place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet, and off course the excellent food. We booked a room with dinner and did not regret it. The dinner was served on the porch outside the main building. It consisted of several courses, each of them top-class. We shared a big table with the other guests, but it seemed to be possible to get a private table on request. The best thing though was probably the rustic and intimate atmosphere.
Our room was in the main building on the top-floor. It was large and spacious with a nice bathroom and a homely decor. The only drawback was that the windows were placed in the roof, so we had to climb on a chair to enjoy the great view.
We passed the time by relaxing in the pool, sunbathing and enjoying the garden. Casale Giancesare was only a stop-over for us, but we would certainly have liked to spend a few days more. It´s the perfect place to relax after being on the road for some days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeandyouOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    33
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
103
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hosts, the wine, the view, the pool, the room - what can I say! I stayed two nights - will return some time for two weeks. Gorgeous setting, wonderful family hosts, exquisite and elegant and rustic all at the same time. I loved sitting on the veranda, sipping the house rose and gazing out to sea (distant views).

The pool makes you feel like you are in a luxury villa, while the hominess of the house keeps you grounded in the real agriturismo, homey feeling.

I will especially remember - lying in the hammock in the tree, the wonderful lunch prepared by Antonino (the local, famous mozzarella di buffalo), and talking to Enzo.

Don't miss the library - I hadn't known it was part of the guest area. It's gorgeous.

I was traveling by myself - thought the price was very fair - luxe for me!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view - on second floor. Some rooms have an outdoor table/veranda on ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Casale Giancesare offers what is more like a room in private home than many other B&B's I have visited. There's nothing wrong with that. The home itself and its grounds are beautiful, and beautifully situated in the hills above Paestum. On a clear day, you can in fact look over the sea from the front porch or the lovely pool. And the family who own the property provided very warm hospitality.

That being said, the B&B is a bit hard to find, being down a rutted one-lane road in the countryside (about 10 minutes by car from Capaccio Scalo, and maybe 15 minutes from Paestum. We were there in late September, and most of the tourist sites were nigh-on deserted. (We ate dinner one night in a vast, and very nice, restaurant in which we were the only customers.) You will certainly have to drive to find a restaurant.

The lack of other tourists was perhaps a benefit while visiting the amazing historical sites.

Our room (in the front of the house) at Giancesare was perfectly adequate, but not luxurious. There was what looked like an air-conditioning unit in the room, but it did not work. Fortunately, air conditioning was not really necessary during our visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wobbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed two nights at this great place. The facilities, the views et cetera are all excellent, but the best attraction of this place is the family that runs this Casale. The hospitality is unmatched, a most pleasant atmosphere is created, I would highly recommend this place to anyone. The served food is from the local area and is cooked with love.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Casale Giancesare for 6 nights and it was the highlight of our Italian trip. A beautiful peaceful location with wonderful grounds to relax in. A lovely pool and close enough to local sights, but not too close! We were given lots of recommendations and advice on places to visit, restaurants etc. We were offered lunch twice during our stay and the food was amazing!! The only recommendation that I would have is that they should definitely offer dining options for lunch and dinner onsite as their food is so good!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlynn696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent three nights here in a self catering apartment.

On the plus side the location is fantastic, with the main house and pool terrace on a hillside looking out over the coast. This creates superb views and beautiful sunsets. The gardens and agricultural land around the house is also lovely.

The family that run the business are very friendly and reallyy useful, recommending beaches, shops and restaurants and also booking the latter for us. We had some of their home made wine and were given fresh plums and figs from the garden.

This would have been the highlight of our stay had the rooms been a little better. We had plenty of space with a two room self catering apartment and private terrace, however it was not luxurious. For example there was a very small en suite with shower only and the aircon was intermittent.

But overall for the price we had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemyfoodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

On our tour of south Italy we stayed in this very quiet house for one night to see Peastum later. Enzo was taking care of the place with his cook who doubled as translater. We received a cool glas of wine for welcome. He advised us to see the ruins before sunset which was a really good advise as the temples are then photoed at their best. For a ten minute drive and 2.5 hours you could easily see both the excavation and the museum. The museum closes one house later than the grass overgrown site.
The room with the red tapistry of a fresco was specious and comfortable, under the roof after two flights of a spiral staircase.
The whole evening we spent with Enzo very relaxed on the veranda terrace with a bottle of wine from his celler and a few snacks while enjoying the magnificent view of the coast below. We talked about all sorts of issues in English, Spanish and a few words of Italian. Occasionally his two large Irish setters came to ask for a hug.

Room Tip: There are also rooms for families and a large aula next to the pool for special occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paestum hotels
3.6 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Paestum Tenuta Lupo'
2.4 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Castello dei Principi
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#2 of 33 in Paestum
490 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minerva Resort Hotel
Minerva Resort Hotel
#15 of 33 in Paestum
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Giancesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Giancesare

Property: Casale Giancesare
Address: Via Gian Cesare, 8, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casale Giancesare is located in an absolutely prime location, only two kilometres away from Paestum archaeological area, which includes the ruins, the 2. 500 years old temples and the beautiful museum. The Farmhouse, which was built during the 19th century with original local stones, has been completely renovated and every single year that passes new improvements are made in order to make your stay always more pleasant. Today it is a place surrounded by a Mediterranean garden, composed by a vast variety of trees and plants like centuries-old olive and mulberry trees, vineyards, pomegranates, lavender, sage and rosemary plants. What is more important is that all the property is totally surrounded by nature, creating an atmosphere of complete relax. On the front side of the house is possible to have a look of the seaside: the view of the gulf of Salerno, with the Amalfi and the Cilento coasts that frame the island of Capri, is breathtaking especially at sunset. All the renovation of the structure was guided by the common sense and wisdom of the Voza family; the materials that have been chosen and the particular care about details have resulted in a perfect harmony that well balances a simple and refined style with all the modern comforts. The inspiring principle of Casale Giancesare, and what led to its birth and development, is surely the importance of family, our family: the Voza family. This main idea affected all our story. In 1999, all the family members shared the desire to renovate an old farmhouse, property of the family, and transform it in a proper home, where to live at close contact with nature. The renovations lasted three years, and this period represented the time required for the family to mature the idea and the wish to share with other people their good feelings toward the old house, now renovated, and towards the generous and fertile nature. From all this came up the idea to dedicate all our sensitiveness, our emotional intelligence, our warmth to hospitality. Casale Giancesare finally opened its doors in 2002 becoming a place where travellers and explorers of the new millennium can find a warm welcome and a peaceful rest. All the passengers that come to discover this land full of art and history, particularly embellished by the uncontaminated nature, help us to enrich our culture and give us the possibility to exchange experiences. We don't follow trends, but we like our guests to feel like at home, helped by the spontaneous warmth and care of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Casale Giancesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing