We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Before I even arrived at the hotel, Francesca was so kind as to arrange a tour of one of the buffalo di mozzarella farms and arrange transport for me. When I arrived at the hotel, it was like a country oasis. The gardens are tended to meticulously and the owners have restored this building to the nines. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was incredible. The staff however is really what makes this place outstanding. They bent over backwards to help me with so many things. Thanks so much Francesca and all the rest of the staff. I would definitely stay here again if in the Paestum area!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank cls808808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    67
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
146
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This B&B is in a well designed and lovingly restored building with easy access to the train station, the outstanding archaeological museum, and the stunning ruins themselves. The staff of this hotel go out of their way to extend personable world class service to their guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and intend to return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellegarde, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

we were nicely welcomed by the receptionist who showed us to our large room (an en-suite type), with view over the temples. Actually the view was a bit hidden by the vegetation.
It was quite quiet, though giving on the street side (but we were off season).
We particularly appreciated the help we got from the receptionist, who went out of her way to help us get to Salerno (there were strikes).
The only negative point would be the bed, which was quite hard, but we still managed to sleep well in it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 197mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is perhaps the loveliest bed and breakfast I've ever seen. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques and have windows that allow in a lot of natural light, bathrooms are large and well-lit. The common areas are very large and lovely, and the courtyard garden charming.

It's an easy 7-minute walk to the archeological museum and the Paestum ruins, and restaurants in easy access offer good and easily available food. I'd happily stay longer in this lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay at "Il Granaio". We had a large, quiet, pleasant room overlooking the garden. Nice breakfast buffet and very helpful staff. It's a bit too far to carry luggage from the train station in Paestum, but the staff arranged to have a local taxi meet our train. We did pay 10 euros for this service. "Il Granaio" is close to the temple ruins and nearby restaurants. An advantage of staying near the temples is that they are illuminated at night. Seeing the illuminated temples set against the glow of the evening sky is magical.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

You feel like you are out in the countryside in the beautiful gardens and residence of Il Granaio - but the fascinating ruins of Paestum are only two blocks walk away. We stayed 5 nights in a second floor corner room that had a glass enclosed porch overlooking the garden. It was lovely, as were the downstairs rooms furnished in good taste and so welcoming! Breakfast was abundant and Laura's homemade cakes were delicious. Maria at the desk spoke English and was very helpful, as was a nice guy in the tourist bureau.
We tried various restaurants in Paestum but have nothing to recommend except a restaurant on route S.18 called Los Hermanos about ten minutes outside Paestum where we stopped on our way back from the Amalfi Coast.
We planned to use Paestum as our base for visiting Pompeii, Naples and Amalfi but found it rather farther then we anticipated because the road connecting Paestum to Salerno is a slow ugly traffic road. It would have made more sense to stay nearer Naples for a couple of nights and then move down to Paestum.
But that doesn't detract from Il Granaio which was lovely in every way!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Coming to Paestum for the intriguing Greek ruins, we found the stately, heavenly Il Granaio del Casabella to be a perfect retreat after being inundated by hordes of tourists near Capri and the Amalfi Coast. Beautiful and serene, furnished with lovely antiques, gated courtyard, lovely garden, large pretty room with a three season room attached and a stairway out to the garden - we couldn't ask for more. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious! I could have stayed for a lot longer if we hadn't had time constraints. Their recommendation for a restaurant brought us to a place which served great food overlooking the illuminated Greek temples. What a sight for dining!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.3 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#9 of 33 in Paestum
379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tenuta Duca Marigliano Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#2 of 33 in Paestum
914 reviews
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Granaio dei Casabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Granaio dei Casabella

Property: Il Granaio dei Casabella
Address: Via Tavernelle, 84, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Granaio dei Casabella 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Granaio dei Casabella" is an old barn turned into a traditional hotel, which preserved its original charm. It is located next to the Porta Aurea, one of the four gates of the old Paestum city and very close the ruins of the temples. The guest house is situated in a enchanted environment, having a marvelous, colourfull garden, where the guests can admire oleandres, lemon trees, orange trees and other typical mediterranean plants and flours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Il Granaio dei Casabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing