We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Parkdale, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An experience to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel could not be in a better location. Excellent wi-fi and very close to the incredible Paestum temples (the best we have seen having done Greece & Turkey prior to Italy). The surrounding gardens were incredible in this converted old mill. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms that our party of 10 had were excellent. In the main building is a must in cse the weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    63
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
139
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanJose
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

What can I say, except that I would stay again. Very nice place, great staff, really nice dinner, and but a 5 minute drive from the ruins. This is the place to stay if you don’t even want to visit the ruins. I would stay there just to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLFSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arriving at Paestum station after a week in Rome, and clueless about how to get to Il Granaio, a phone call brought a promise of a taxi rescue in ten minutes. It arrived in five. Our large second floor room (confusing, in Italy this is referred to as a first floor) included a glassed in patio, high ceilings and huge windows. Looking out on the beautiful garden we felt as if we were in a tree house, except that a tree house this lovely would be quite remarkable. The staff and owners were more than accomodating. Not only did manager Francesco direct us to the archeological park, museum and local restaurants, but he also arranged for concert reservations at our next stop in Ravello. He drew up a list of restaurants for our further week in Naples and gave us lideas for experiences in Italy's chaotic and exciting second largest city. Owners Laura and Angelo made sure we were well taken care of. Next visit we hope to sample the fare of the hotel's restaurant, an opportunity we missed, having arrived after the season when the restaurant was closed. After busy Rome Il Granaio provided the just the R & R we needed.

Room Tip: End rooms seem to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilH.inVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Before we went to the Amalfi Coast we decided to travel from Rome by train to Salerno and then on to Paestum for a day and overnight stay there. It was well worth the trip because we had lovely accommodations at Il Granaio dei Casabella - spacious, comfortable bedroom and bath equipped with a walk-in closet - private balcony/patio looking toward the temples lit at night - refined decor in the common sitting rooms downstairs - sunny gardens throughout the property - an expansively windowed breakfast/dining area looking out to this flora - and faultless service.

Francesco and Filli were exceptional hosts cheerfully welcoming us and making our visit an informative and relaxing pleasure. They are ready and pleased to give whatever info their guests need. - train schedules, taxi arrangements, referrals for sightseeing and restaurants. They recommended a great tour of a local water buffalo farm, brought us wine and crudités for a nightcap and even replenished batteries for us when one of our devices ran out. Having conversations with them gave us appreciated insights about this part of Italy, and we felt like we were visiting with friends who unobtrusively wanted to ensure our visit was enjoyable.

If you can, reserve your time there when the B&B's restaurant is operating. We booked in early May and it was closed until a later date. It would have been nice to have this well reviewed dining choice. The ambience is casually elegant. Candlelit, it would be just right for an evening's romantic repast. Breakfast offerings included fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt and cappuccino - all delicious. - and so was the wonderful mozarella made at the nearby farm - and the very good gelato at the friendly corner market/cafe.

It is just a short stroll to the site of the ancient Greek temples of Poseidon, Hera and Athena. Seeing them as the sun sets and then as they are illuminated at night is a magnificent sight. Plan on at least a couple hours for exploring here in addition to visiting the fine museum which really gave us a better understanding of the history/culture of this so long ago era.

The only thing we would do differently is to take the train from Salerno to Paestum instead of hopping on the bus. It made a lot of stops enroute and took over an hour to get there. The train is a more leisurely and faster way to go, and from the Paestum station, it's a quick taxi ride to the inn.

On second thought, there is something else we'd do differently. We would stay at Il Granaio dei Casabella longer and not pack in so much in only a day and a night - and then we would not have to say good-bye so soon to such delightful hosts. We left them much thankful for their caring assistance.

Elaine and Joe

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view toward the temples and with a private entrance and cozy patio going up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeoncape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Il Granaio dei Casabella, a delightful country inn lovingly decorated with period pieces, a rest for the soul after the museums and duomos! Gourmet meals and attentive service highlight this elegant haven presided over by a beautiful, gracious hostess. Lovely base from which to explore the best-preserved Greek ruins outside Greece and retreat to the well-kept lush garden… a glass of wine on the veranda! Easiest way to get there is to take the train from Rome to Salerno and thence by local train (or taxi if you have heavy luggage) to Paestum.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent location, lovely comfortable house, very pleasant garden, truly *outstanding* restaurant (we had dinner twice, both times in the garden: it was the best dinner experience of our two week holiday), and not least of all: really very friendly, welcoming hosts. Just a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hotel is in a great location. Right across the street from the ruins. You do need to walk down to the corner and up the street just a bit for the entrance. Museum is located across the street from the ruins. You have to get tickets to the ruins at the museum.

The room was big and comfortable. Bathroom was big with all amenities. We had a huge porch that was comfortable in the evenings. Great friendly and helpful staff.

Dinner here was AMAZING!!! Dinner was served in the outside garden. Very intimate gourmet meal. We started with a pizza square from the chef (the son, Antonio) and then ravioli like we've never had them before! Then veal all with a wonderful proseco. Dessert was lovely, a little ball of tiramisu along with a pint size cannoli.

The chefs were mother and son. What a great team! One of the best meals that we've had in Italy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rruthardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#9 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.0 mi away
Tenuta Duca Marigliano Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Granaio dei Casabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Granaio dei Casabella

Property: Il Granaio dei Casabella
Address: Via Tavernelle, 84, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Granaio dei Casabella 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Granaio dei Casabella" is an old barn turned into a traditional hotel, which preserved its original charm. It is located next to the Porta Aurea, one of the four gates of the old Paestum city and very close the ruins of the temples. The guest house is situated in a enchanted environment, having a marvelous, colourfull garden, where the guests can admire oleandres, lemon trees, orange trees and other typical mediterranean plants and flours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Il Granaio dei Casabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing