We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta”
Review of Ristorante Museo

Ristorante Museo
Ranked #30 of 85 Restaurants in Paestum
Price range: $27 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our restaurant has been open for over thirty years and is located right next to the Museum of Paestum, in the center of the ancient city: here it is possible to enjoy a pleasant gastronomic break in contact with the ancient monuments, both in the sober internal room, just renovated or in the rich garden, located a few meters from the Amphitheater and the Temple of Ceres.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

After visiting the temples we decided to stop here for lunch as it looked nice. We were not disappointed. Long spaghetti lemon pasta with prawns was excellent, seafood pasta, gnocchi and another pasta dish were also very good. You can sit outside with the view of the archeological park, menu comes in English also.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JanaZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2017

We stopped here for lunch with low expectations given that it is right next door to the Museum. We wanted a light but leisurely lunch. The staff was very efficient. We had very good pasta dishes (classic spaghetti with white clams - rarity in the US). The local wine is also quite good. The real star was the desert, a tort made with creme from buffalo milk. The cost was also quite modest. This is a very good place for lunch near the temples.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank buckeye500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016

It seems from the reviews people don't differentiate between the 'proper' restaurant and the garden 'cafe'. We went to the latter, and had a very good experience. In-between lunch and dinner hours did not expect much, but the sole server was friendly and tried her very best to provide something acceptable for a vegetarian + a carnivore. Tasty and reasonably priced snacks, served quite quickly. Very satisfied, and the environment outstanding.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Next to the Paestum archeological site can recommend two “feeding stations” I visited recently.
Watch it – there seem to be two places using the “Museo” – one is just a roadside café – the one I'm talking about is the “real thing”.
On a tight schedule – Ristorante Museo, just south of the museum, set beck in a “garden” – big inside and nice terrace.
It does not look special and – as a non-Italian – you must tell them that you are on the run. Besides the Mozzarella di Buffalo and a Cheese Platter they have nice local variation of pasta dishes too!
My rating of excellence refers to the perfect fit to “time frame”, “looks of the place” and what they offer. Exactly what a “stressed” tourist looks for in search of some local flavors!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Decided to have drinks here while waiting for group entry to the museum. Slow and unenthusiastic service and the only sub- standard glass of house red I experienced in the whole week.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank 473RichardG473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Museo also viewed

Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 

Been to Ristorante Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing