We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Poseidonia Mare
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Driving to the hotel was a little honky tonk, which was why we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The room was very good size and had a bunk bed for our daughter who was traveling with us. We did have dinner at the hotel and were a little surprised that the hours were 7:30 to 9:00, but it did work for us. The balcony that was off our room was very cozy and had a nice view of a stream.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    48
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
92
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been coming to this hotel since the summer 1999 when I was studying abroad in Italy. Of all the things my professor introduced me to, Paestum and Hotel Poseidonia Mare are what I loved the most. It truly is paradise. If you're looking for someplace a stone's throw from the beach, where "la dolce vita" is way of life, this is your place. From the ruins, to the local restaurants, to the buffalo farm, to the beautiful Mediterranean beach, Paestum is a hidden gem. I really can't say enough good things about the place. I will come here whenever I can until the day I die. Lastly, the staff at this place will make you feel like family. They think of everything and bend over backwards to make you feel at home. I can't even put into words the way they make you feel like one of the family. I wouldn't even consider staying someplace else if I were in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar. What's most important is that you eat the seafood from their restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook
Level Contributor
299 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a very worn hotel. The owners were very nice and were so accommodating - but they couldn't make up for the mold on the bathroom walls and terrace. The room and bathroom smelled very musty. Towels were small and worn. Breakfast wasn't very good. Location was good if you wanted to walk to the beach. The hotel is close to the ruins. The front desk was so nice I feel badly writing this review - but I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TERRI SCHWARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is a real gem. It is brilliantly located, some rooms having a sea view and with easy walking distance of the amazing Greek temples on the archeological site. Local Mozzarella production is a feature. The service was excellent - the breakfasts and evening meals likewise. We went past the high season and so the hotel as with much in Paestum, was quite quiet. In addition to local sites, you can get easily into Naples, Herculaneum, Pompei and the Amalfi coast.

The rooms were very comfortable with real attention to detail in the decor. The staff were exceptionally helpful. We would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms face into the street, others to the rear over the garden and have a view towards the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The staff was friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. They suggested to go to a buffalo farm where you could see every stage of the buffalo's life and the process of how mozzarella cheese is made. We had amazing meals at the hotel including pasta with fresh vegetables and sword fish. The best part of breakfast was the spread of fresh fruit and the warm football sized cornetti. In addition, the hotel is 500 feet form a beautiful beach. I had a wonderful view of a small river coming down from the mountain to the sea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccaval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is a lovely hotel at a five minutes walk from a good sandy beach, and about 1 km from the three wonderful Greek temples.
The staff is truly friendly, polite and very helpful. Just a few examples. As the train station is a bit far, after a phone call we were picked up at the station and took back there when we left, without extra charge. Second, next to our room there was a couple with a baby. Although we did not complain about it, the owner asked us whether we were disturbed by the crying and we were offered to change the room. We didn't, as we loved our room, but it was very thoughtful. The owner also bought our train tickets before departure. Further, during the stay, as I had finished my book and could find nothing to buy in the shops, I asked the manager just in case if there was something to read in English. To my pleasant surprise, I could choose from several books and at the departure received further reading suggestions:-)
The hotel is very nice, decorated with taste. The room was spacious and nicely furbished. It had a balcony with a view to the pine trees and (a bit of) the sea. It was great to sit there in the morning and evening. The bathroom was large, bright, equipped with all you need.
Everything was perfectly clean. Towels were changed daily. Bedsheets were changed, although we staid only 4 nights.
There is air-conditioning, a minibar and free wifi in the room.
At breakfast there is a buffet of sweets and fruits, and you are asked whether you wish to have something else (eggs, ham, cheese). Perhaps it would have been easier to have all that in the buffet, but anyway the breakfast was rich and tasty. The last two nights we decided to have dinner at the hotel and went for the fixed menu. It was nice and abundant (18 EUR/person, except the drinks).
The Greek temples are magnificent. The archaeological area and the museum are worth visiting.
The beach is quite wide, with fine sand. Unfortunately people smoke on the beach and throw the butts all over the place. The water is very, very clean and shallow for many meters. There is some discount for beach facilities for the clients of the hotel. At the end of August the area seemed to be frequented mostly by Italians; you didn't find the large numbers of foreign tourists you encounter in Rimini or in Sorrento. The place seems to be either less known or too remote to attract many people.
There are only a few shops and restaurants in the area. So the place is excellent for relaxing, but not for those who wish an intensive night life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hypathia_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We decided to spend a weekend at this hotel in Paestum at the very last minute. It turned out to be an amazing relaxing time. Sandro and Nino, the two brothers who own and run the hotel, together with their staff, do everything they can to make the stay of their guests as pleasant as possible. We arrived way after dinner time but that didn't stop them from serving us a three course meal! Whatever you want, they are there to meet your requests. Breakfast is lavish and the bar is well stocked. The rooms are spacious and the internet impeccable! This is not a glitsy 5 star corporate establishment but a solid hotel that the family has created from a small bar (picture in the lobby) over two generations. The hotel is their home and they want you, the customer, to be part of it. The convenient location close to the beach, to a famous buffalo mozzarella producer and to the Greek temples complete the experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan54roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paestum hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#2 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#9 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidonia Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidonia Mare

Property: Hotel Poseidonia Mare
Address: Via Torre di Mare 16, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidonia Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 3-minute walk from the beach and 1 km from the archaeological site of Paestum, Hotel Poseidonia Mare offers free private parking, free bicycle rentals, and a free fitness area. The air-conditioned rooms feature free WiFi, a minibar and satellite TV. Poseidonia Mare Hotel's restaurant, open for dinner, serves delicious local cuisine including homemade pasta, buffalo mozzarella and organic vegetables. An American-style breakfast is prepared daily. The wine bar offers an interesting regional selection. During spring and summer aperitifs can be served in the garden near an ancient water spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Poseidonia Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing