We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sabrina to the rescue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View
Ranked #1 of 57 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
949 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
“Sabrina to the rescue”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We have just returned from a long holiday in Europe staying at B&B Ripa Medici for 3 nights, this was a second last accommodation before returning home, and it is one of our favorites. Orvieto is a divine hill top village offering the peace that we were looking for after I had spent 5 days at a conference in Milan. Unfortunately we were unable to arrive any earlier into Orvieto arriving by train at 8:10pm, we caught the funicular up the hill then a bus around to the B&B as instructed by Sabrina. Then as you know it is time to read the map and get orientated, it is dark and raining then out of the blue there is Sabrina to show us the way!

The B&B has two guest rooms in the apartment, all the rooms are just as you see it on the website, and so is the view. Each room has its own bathroom and we even had a washing machine. Breakfast is served in the dining room and it was wonderful just as all the other TA reviews have been, Sabrina makes sure that you have plenty to eat and drink, she made us the best Chocolate and coconut cake, it was heavenly.

The B&B is in a perfect location right by the wall of the town, with the most wonderful views, there is a great little restaurant at the end of the lane that you should try. I thought that 3 nights would have been long enough in Orvieto, but we could have stayed a week. This would be a fabulous place to stay with another couple, to go shopping at the markets and come back to the apartment and cook up a feast in the kitchen. I could go back right now, loved it all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    43
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
353
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SC and PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

You know, I use TripAdvisor alot, and when I read words like, "Stop your search now," I generally LISTEN to those reviews. Well, this is one of those. If you're looking for a place in Orvieto, just quit your search and decide to stay at Ripa Medici. Sabrina, the owner, is one of the best hostesses on the planet, and I do mean BEST. Here's the deal: her accommodations are a combo. of apartment (kitchen available for cooking meals, refrig., etc. and I did cook one night), maid service daily for making up beds, cleaning the bathrooms, but the BEST part is Sabrina herself and her breakfasts!!! Picture this: you're sitting at a round table for two, overlooking the castle wall surrounding Orvieto, looking out onto the rolling hills, and eating any combination of the following: scrambled eggs, tomato salad, breakfast rolls and buns, breakfast pizza, cakes, cereal, meats, cheeses, breads,juice, coffee, tea (in a real teapot), breads, jams. Honestly, there was no end to it. And then there's Sabrina as concierge. She can suggest restaurants and she makes the reservations, she suggests shops if she's asked, and she helped us with jaunts into the countryside (go to Civita for an unforgettable day). Parking is free and in the underground lot with two elevator rides up to her road. OK, so stop your search and just book with Sabrina at Ripa Medici B&B. You'll be happy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeaufortBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Very cute place with a wonderful, welcoming hostess. It's walkable from everything but in a very quiet location with beautiful views across the countryside. Nice room, nice bathroom, all well maintained and clean ... charming in every respect, it was one of our two favorite stays of the entire trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goneeverychanceweget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We selected B&B Ripa Medici on Trip Advisor reviews and can confirm they are true. The location, relaxed atmosphere, facilities and breakfast is exactly as reported, but the best part of this B&B was our host Sabrina. Her fabulous personality and helpful service is the best we have experienced in many years of travelling. Our little chats in Italian, the restaurant recommendations and bookings, and what to see and do made our 7 day stay in Orvieto wonderful.
Thank you Sabrina, You truly deserve your number 1 rating.

Rod & Lyn, Brisbane Australia.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RodLyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely B&B. It's actually a small apt. located just steps away from where the gracious host Sabrina lives with her family. Breakfasts in Sept. included fresh picked fruit from Sabrina's mom's garden... WOW. The day we had fresh figs was memorable indeed. And then of course there's yogurt, pastries from the famous historic Orvieto bakery, eggs made to order and wonderful coffee. Restaurant recommendations were spot on and we ate the best Spaghetti Cabonara ever!! One tip, bring your own bar of soap and be prepared for a lovely time in beautiful Orvieto.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaR_DaveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

This is a gem! Sabrina was the perfect hostess from time of reservation until we checked out. Free parking was a real bonus, only a short walk away in a garage with an elevator. Orvieto is charming and quiet, a wonderful place to stay, not just daytrip. We slept well and thoroughly enjoyed our two nights here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinoDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed here one night and wished it had been longer. We stayed in the apartment which had 2 bedrooms (double beds) and 2 bathrooms. It had a beautiful view and was immaculately clean but homelike. Just lovely. Sabrina cooked us a memorable breakfast.

Orvieto was a magical place - we had not really intended to visit it but had a spare day and I hope to return soon and to stay here again. It's not a large town but there is a lot to see both in the town and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 29 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#4 of 29 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#19 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 29 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#2 of 57 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View

Property: B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View
Address: Vicolo Ripa Medici 14, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripa Medici is perfectly located in the medieval quartier. The light airy rooms are large, furniture is elegant and comfortable and there are parquet floors. The home has a romantic atmosphere, every window is like a picture: the landscape is wonderful! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Ripa Medici Hotel Orvieto
Bed And Breakfast Ripa Medici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing