We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valentina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 57 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location is perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I will start by saying that Orvieto is not so well known on the tourist map of Italy and that it is particularly attractive for that reason. The fortified town is greatly located if arriving through Rome and wanting to get out of the big city. The surroundings are beautiful, providing charming and truly authentic scenery of Umbria. Having travelled in the low season (November), we got to Orvieto and to our surprise, the town was empty and the attractions were all available for us to see as we pleased! Great town, offering good shopping, great little cafes and even better food. Orvieto was definitely one of the highlights of our one-month trip. As for Valentina B&B, it offered us the perfect welcome to the Italian life. The owner is very sweet and accommodating. They provide you with parking, which is key, since you cannot drive in town. It is also amazingly located whereas it is in the middle of the city and therefore you can easily walk all over town. The rooms offer great commodity, are clean and very comfortable. We stayed for two nights and we were greatly pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiane Gendron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    46
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
41
76
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Valentina B&B was a good value for our stay in Orvieto... Our first night they had us in a different room than the one we had reserved, which was a little annoying - the top floor apartment room had poor water pressure - the hot water took a really long time to get going in the shower. Additionally, you could hear the bell tower ringing every 15 minutes (all throughout the night too, strangely. Bring earplugs!). Once we were moved into the regular room on the 2nd floor the next day, it was better. The included breakfast was very basic (croissant, bread, fruit), with the option to pay more for a bigger breakfast. Something to note - there is no use of a shared kitchen, despite the pictures of the reception area on the website. That is for the private use of the owners and staff. The rooms were very clean - Valentina and her staff were very friendly and accommodated us when we had to leave early on our last day. Overall, the room was pretty quiet, with the exception of our 2nd day when a guest in the upstairs apartment left their dog in the room while they were out to dinner - the dog barked non-stop for about 30 minutes until the owners returned. I wouldn't entirely blame this on the B&B though, as the owners should probably just not have brought their dog with them... Still, something to be aware of. Overall, considering the good price of the B&B, I feel that we had a good value, and the location was convenient as well.

Room Tip: I would avoid the top floor apartment rooms if you can. The room just above the owner's living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomaddmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagum City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This review is long overdue. We stayed at the bed and breakfast last October 2011 for two nights. There were four of us. My mother, sister and friend. From the station, the taxi we took knew the place. We were greeted by a fellow Filipina staff named Shirley. We booked the Two bedroom apartment. It was on the third floor. If you have a heavy luggage, it is a bit tiring. But the apartment is worth it. Two bedrooms, living and dining area, two bathrooms, and a laundry room. The decor is very homey. We love the apartment.
The location is also convenient. It's a short walk from all the major attractions. We love Orvieto. You can walk around the town in one day. It's not one of the major touristy towns in Italy so it's a bit quiet which we love. Eat at Tratorria del Moro Aronne. Must try is the Nidi pasta with pecorino cheese and honey.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3sisters27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wonderful staff, spotless rooms, great breakfast, terrific location. Keep in mind that is is in a walled city with narrow streets so don't expect panoramic vistas from your room. However, one of the rooms had a great view of the clock tower, right from the bed. I should mention that the bell chimes every 15 minutes, 24 hours a day.

We enjoyed it because we could easily walk to many restaurants and not worry about driving. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Tierno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in one of Valentina's apartments 3 nights in late Oct., 2011. It was close to the Pizza Republica, convenient but quiet. We had no interaction with staff except to be led to our place and to pay so we felt like residents. It would be a great place for 2 couples, bring a couple of kids too because there's room for them with 2 bedrooms, two baths, laundry room with an extra bed, full kitchen. The heat was on and there's a bakery behind the apartment. We will stay here and day-trip to Florence and Rome next year. Valentina has excellent English so you can call and discuss your needs.

Room Tip: One bedroom has en suite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We chose to stay here instead of another night in Rome, and it was a great decision.  It was much more affordable and Valentina’s was great place to stay. Our room had a small balcony, a big comfortable bed with foam mattress cover, a clean and functional bathroom and AC. The included breakfast was basic: croissant, bread, butter, jam and choice of tea or coffee beverage.  The B&B was very easy to get to from the train. We walked out of the train station, across the street to the furnicular, walked off the funicular at the top and hopped on to the waiting bus. We told the bus driver that we were headed to Valentina’s and he dropped us off in a nearby square.  The funicular and bus combined ticket was 1 euro.  The check in process was very quick and easy and someone was there to meet us even though we weren’t able to give an indication as to when we would arrive.  They also stored our luggage for a couple hours on the day we checked out.  They recommended that we go to the Trattoria de Moro for dinner and it was excellent – one of the best meals I have ever had and not very expensive either.  The B&B was a less than 10 minute walk to the Duomo and there was a Saturday market in a nearby plaza that we enjoyed checking out. 
 

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluskyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Tucked away on a quiet street, Valentina's is quiet and very comfortable. Our room was spacious and well-furnished, with a full bath that was especially welcome after the postage-stamp bathroom we had in our apartment in Rome. But the price is no comparison - at least a third less than for the equivalent in one of the big cities.

Our room looked over city rooftops and felt bright and cheery. Breakfast is served in the room, nothing special, but plenty - bread, fruit, yogurt, coffee with hot milk, plenty to go on. There are snacks available at all times as well for a little nosh.

The B&B is located close to the heart of this hill town, a few blocks from the cathedral and other sights. And we found a little park on the city ramparts a few blocks away to have lunch.

All in all, our two nights in Orvieto at Valentina's were a relaxing, refreshing break from the pace and crowds of Rome and Florence. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U8138FMjeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#4 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#6 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.2 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#18 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#2 of 57 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
B & B La soffitta
B & B La soffitta
#8 of 57 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Valentina Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Vivaria 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentina Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valentina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentina Bed And Breakfast
Valentina Hotel Orvieto
Valentina Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing