We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Italia
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We arrived at about 10:45 in the morning and hoped that we could leave our bags somewhere, never expecting to be provided with our room. We were greeted warmly by the young lady at reception and told that indeed we could go to our lovely, spacious room with a beautiful view of the Umbrian landscape. The room was spotless and comfortably furnished with parquetry flooring. Our lovely lady assisted in booking our underground city tour and taxi to the station. We were able to leave our bags in our room on our last day until we finished our tour. They could not have been more helpful or welcoming. Our overall impression of Orvieto and the people will always be pleasant. Thank you Hotel Grand Italia for a lovely memory.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    71
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
32
78
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have just spent 5 weeks in Italy and this was, without doubt, the best hotel we stayed in. The room was large,airy and very clean and the view from our balcony was teriffic. But best of all were the staff who were very,very helpful particularly Michaela.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

A very nice hotel conveniently located in the heart of Orvieto. We had a large spacious room with a shower bath and Wi-Fi in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My wife and I felt very safe wandering around the hotel at night.

Room Tip: Hotel was part of a Rick Steves tour and it's in his tour guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Mannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a very beautiful hotel, centrally located. There is nothing bad to say about their rooms, comfortable and clean. The staff, however, is apathetic. They don't go out of their way to be particularly helpful. Also, their breakfast-coffee from a machine! In Italy! Even the airport has the real thing. Was not our favorite-

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lkjzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Lovely hotel spacious beautiful rooms with wonderful views Lovely helpful staff

Room Tip: ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for one night with our 2 children after our flight back to the states was cancelled. We visited Orvieto earlier in our trip and thought it would be nice to be in the town at night since we loved it so much. The hotel was in a perfect location...right in the middle of everything but the entrance was off the main street so it was nice and quiet. The room was standard size. Perfect for a couple and for just one night with kids..if we were to stay longer we would need a bigger room. The bathroom was had plenty of room. The shower was just a stall but that's all we needed for the night. The hotel itself was clean and modern with helpful people at the front desk. Breakfast was included and was average. For a short stay I would recommend. Any time spent in Orvieto is well worth it...what a great place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steph1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We traveled by train and stopped in Orvieto en route to Rome. It's a charming hill town reached by the funicular, or up narrow winding roads. It was rainy when we arrived, but it added to the adventure of bouncing along on wet cobblestones with our rolly bags to find accommodations. Grand Hotel Italia is kinda tucked back from a main shopping street. The hotel is old fashioned and the rooms are very spacious. Our room was on an upper floor and we overlooked the restaurant patio across the way, and neighboring rooftop gardens too. Quite romantic. The location is perfect and central to all the sights. It's not luxurious, (that's not our usual style anyway), and we were satisfied, comfortable and the staff were really nice. We went in Spring 2010

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LavenderHydrangea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#4 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#6 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#19 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#12 of 28 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aquila Bianca
Hotel Aquila Bianca
#16 of 28 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Italia

Property: Grand Hotel Italia
Address: Via di Piazza del Popolo 13, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique palace built on the 19th century, the GRAND HOTEL ITALIA is located in the historic centre of Orvieto, next to the suggestive "Palazzo del Capitano del Popolo", now Convention centre, to the Cathedral and to the most important monuments of the medieval city. Its large terraces with hanging gardens are open over the panorama of the city of the tuff, discovering the antique beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing