We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down through history”
Review of Pozzo della Cava

Pozzo della Cava
Ranked #3 of 69 things to do in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pozzo della Cava is more than just a well... ...it's one of the highlights of a historical and archaeological tour of Orvieto...it's a place where the past and the present combine with respect for twenty-seven centuries of tradition...it's an invitation to discover Etruscans, Middle Ages and Renaissance, because Orvieto is not only the Cathedral...it's a fascinating underground itinerary located in the heart of Orvieto, through caves full of recently discovered archaeological finds...it's an unusual way of discovering the history the city known as Urbs Vetus and the customs of its people...it's an original opportunity to retake possession of a disinterred heritage
Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is off the beaten track in Orvieto because you walk downhill from the end of town opposite the direction of the Duomo, and once you go down you realize you have to walk back up. This is a private attraction and was done without any state funding after an excavation uncovered this cistern which had been recovered to a depth of 35 meters. There are explanations each step of the well marked path in several languages including English of what has been recovered and how it was used. A kiln for making pottery, a fulling mill for processing textiles, an internment place for Etruscan necropoli and a place for bringing up water ( very handy during a siege when you are on top of a cliff). The tufa is a soft stone and you can see all the tool marks left over time and handholds for climbing up and down. The cistern had a lot of valuable archeological trash....pots that did not glaze properly or broken during the firing process ...these have been pieced together and are on display with a copy that has been fully restored. This site shows what Everyman was doing at the time. On completing the tour you enter a beautiful small courtyard and a small gift shop, they sell copies of the restored pottery and it is unique. The gentleman in charge beckoned me into a room and over to an acrylic panel that allowed a vertical view to the bottom of the water covered cistern, not a look for those with vertigo, and then jumped up and down on it. Thinking of the Chicago acrylic panel incident I was thoroughly scared but it was done in good fun and will be a memory I will treasure because he judged correctly that I was open to the experience. If you are down the hill at lunch, they serve lunch and it included many menu items that were delightfully different, you had the choice to eat inside or the beautiful courtyard al fresco.

3  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciarra_Orvieto, Gestore at Pozzo della Cava, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you very much, it is very important for us to know what affects our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 414 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

I visited several different attractions in Orvieto but Pozzo della Cava was my favourite. Everything was so well organised, excellent signage so you know exactly what you were looking at and the history behind it,( which I have found to be lacking in some of the larger sites). When I was there it was very quiet, so being able to wander around and soak up the atmosphere made the visit even more memorable.
I love history but did not know much about the Etruscans, so visiting the Museum and Caves was really informative.
There was also a lovely little terrace, with beautiful plants and flowers where you could sit also a small cafe. Before I left I purchased some postcards from the very nice gentlemen there (maybe the owner).
Certainly this was one of the highlights of my trip to Orvieto

1  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciarra_Orvieto, Gestore at Pozzo della Cava, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie infinite! È molto importante per noi conoscere quali aspetti hanno maggiormente colpito e interessato i visitatori.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Cute little place on the road - pretty cold inside the cave, so it is a nice thing to do to escape the heat. It was a nice little museum and it was fascinating to see the caves, the cistern, and how the Etruscans used what the city gave them, way back when. I would recommend this as a nice thing to go see while in Orvieto.

Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Apparently these caves have been opened and set up by the family which owns them, and without government or other support. If that is so then it is a considerable achievement.

The whole experience we found to be fascinating. Admission is cheap. There are notices everywhere in various languages including good quality English. The caves are well lit, and the steps, railings etc., very well placed and maintained.

There is a little coffee shop and restaurant attached to the caves, and we lingered long on a beautiful flower-bedecked terrace (photo attached) with coffee. The coffee itself is good too!

We were served by a very pleasant elderly man who also showed us that in the tiny restaurant there is a glass plate in the floor through which one can see some of the caves below.

There are also show cases around with pottery finds on display, and next to many of them there is a modern reproduction of the same bowl, beaker etc. These are beautifully made, and some are available from the inevitable 'gift shop' which is a non-agressive operation, just there for those who are interested.

If you only do one cave visit in Orvieto then this I the one to do, I would suggest.

2  Thank Intrepidity060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciarra_Orvieto, Proprietario at Pozzo della Cava, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

thank you, feedbacks are important for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited this caves, it was very nice.They give you an example of how Etruskians worked and did their thing. The museum is nicely equiped and it gives good information, happily also in English (a lot of musea in Italy present the info alone in Italian language!). Very nica was also that foundings were presented beside a reconstructed example.

Thank harry_puts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pozzo della Cava also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Pozzo della Cava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing