We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss this..”
Review of Pozzo della Cava

Pozzo della Cava
Ranked #4 of 64 things to do in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pozzo della Cava is more than just a well... ...it's one of the highlights of a historical and archaeological tour of Orvieto...it's a place where the past and the present combine with respect for twenty-seven centuries of tradition...it's an invitation to discover Etruscans, Middle Ages and Renaissance, because Orvieto is not only the Cathedral...it's a fascinating underground itinerary located in the heart of Orvieto, through caves full of recently discovered archaeological finds...it's an unusual way of discovering the history the city known as Urbs Vetus and the customs of its people...it's an original opportunity to retake possession of a disinterred heritage
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not miss this..”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I visited several different attractions in Orvieto but Pozzo della Cava was my favourite. Everything was so well organised, excellent signage so you know exactly what you were looking at and the history behind it,( which I have found to be lacking in some of the larger sites). When I was there it was very quiet, so being able to wander around and soak up the atmosphere made the visit even more memorable.
I love history but did not know much about the Etruscans, so visiting the Museum and Caves was really informative.
There was also a lovely little terrace, with beautiful plants and flowers where you could sit also a small cafe. Before I left I purchased some postcards from the very nice gentlemen there (maybe the owner).
Certainly this was one of the highlights of my trip to Orvieto

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciarra_Orvieto, Gestore at Pozzo della Cava, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie infinite! È molto importante per noi conoscere quali aspetti hanno maggiormente colpito e interessato i visitatori.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    119
    29
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute Cave Site”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Cute little place on the road - pretty cold inside the cave, so it is a nice thing to do to escape the heat. It was a nice little museum and it was fascinating to see the caves, the cistern, and how the Etruscans used what the city gave them, way back when. I would recommend this as a nice thing to go see while in Orvieto.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, UK
Level Contributor
278 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Private Enterprise at Its Very Best!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Apparently these caves have been opened and set up by the family which owns them, and without government or other support. If that is so then it is a considerable achievement.

The whole experience we found to be fascinating. Admission is cheap. There are notices everywhere in various languages including good quality English. The caves are well lit, and the steps, railings etc., very well placed and maintained.

There is a little coffee shop and restaurant attached to the caves, and we lingered long on a beautiful flower-bedecked terrace (photo attached) with coffee. The coffee itself is good too!

We were served by a very pleasant elderly man who also showed us that in the tiny restaurant there is a glass plate in the floor through which one can see some of the caves below.

There are also show cases around with pottery finds on display, and next to many of them there is a modern reproduction of the same bowl, beaker etc. These are beautifully made, and some are available from the inevitable 'gift shop' which is a non-agressive operation, just there for those who are interested.

If you only do one cave visit in Orvieto then this I the one to do, I would suggest.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepidity060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciarra_Orvieto, Proprietario at Pozzo della Cava, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
thank you, feedbacks are important for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
323 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“etruskian caves”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited this caves, it was very nice.They give you an example of how Etruskians worked and did their thing. The museum is nicely equiped and it gives good information, happily also in English (a lot of musea in Italy present the info alone in Italian language!). Very nica was also that foundings were presented beside a reconstructed example.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank harry_puts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the walk.. but a short visit”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I had wanted to take the entire underground tour but did not arrive in time for the morning visit and needed to catch a 5pm train.. So instead I went and found the Pozza Della Cava which is the deep well that supplied water for the city.

To get here, walk to where piazza that looks like a castle, go left through the castle tunnels, then go right down a very steep hill. you will find it at the bottom of the hill.

The tour is self guided but with many languages. It has samples of Roman aqueduct, and also how early etruscians helped garbage in pits etc.. and the things they found from them. (mostly pottery). the most notable the St. Patrick well. which is a very deep well used for water (and protected the city from warring city states over centuries).

I was through it in about 15 minutes. Bathroom was clean and free with ticket.

When leaving leave to the left and go up the less steep hill to the Piazza that looks like a castle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank conferenceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pozzo della Cava also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Pozzo della Cava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing