We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altarocca Wine Resort
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This wonderful hotel is set in a vineyard/olive farm with an unbelievable view. They make delicious wine and olive oil but also provide a breathtaking setting for weary travelers to relax. We stayed here for 2 nights before proceeding on to hot and busy Rome. I can't say enough about the beauty and comfort. A delicious restaurant and 2 pools with views to die for. It's a short hop to the village of Orvieto set on cliffs overlooking the valley and a short train ride to Rome if you can make yourself leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for Altarocca Wine Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 869 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days during our trip to Italy. We had a room with a view of Tuscany that is absolutely unforgettable. The small kitchen was well equipped for making dinner from products that we purchased in Orvieto. The bathroom was beautiful; very large and super clean. The breakfast in the morning was great. A bit of a step above what you would find at a similarly priced B&B in Italy. I will admit that I am a coffee snob, but the espresso that they serve at this location is by far the best that I have had in my life. (roasted beans are from a small company in Sienna) I had at least two cappuccinos each morning..,with a few extra shots on the side.
We had a few issues finding this location at first, but I would say that our issues were mainly due to my TomTom GPS. Also the wifi in our unit was spotty at best, but we ran into that issue at every location in Italy.
I highly recommend this place :).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Misia but ate that the La Rocca restaurant both nights. Great service, great food and service and great wine. Really a nice place. I would really like to return here. Probably a great place to stay as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank va7runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As always in Italy the staff was very friendly. Nice and quiet neighborhood. Pool clean. Rooms clean but very small and simply furnished, compensated to a large terrace. Rooms are equipped with mosquito nets and air conditioning. Unfortunately, the next amiejscowość Orvietto Dali is so that you have to go to her car. The nearest town is Orvietto far enough away that you have to commute by car.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We needed to have a break from the big cities and usual tourist sites and even willing to forgo our trip to Rome to stay in this magical resort overlooking the Umbrian Hills and ancient town of Orvieto with a cathedral as impressive as most in Italy.
The room overlooked the valley and pool.
The breakfast perfect includes local produce.
Dinner in the restaurant came with wines produce in the vineyard.
I long to return
Chris

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a 10 days stay at La Rocca in Villa Uliveto. Commencing on Sunday 19th August. Having paid the total cost of the holiday accommodation up front and having had the confirmation through from La Rocca we didn’t then expect within days of departure to get a further two emails stating that the pool would be closed from 4pm on Saturday 25th August (which we accepted as an inconvenience but ok). The next email stated that the pool would again be closed for another private function on Sunday 19th August - the day we arrive and the alternative swimming arrangement offered was a 45 minute round trip away. Given that we were travelling from England it meant that we couldn't sit by the pool and relax the day we arrived buy a drink at the bar etc .unless we travelled to the alternative venue. Sundays in Italy means NO shops open so we were unable to buy milk, wine etc. On request, La Rocca gave us milk and sold us their wine, we ate in the Restaurant on our first night. We asked for and were given a complimentary bottle of house wine as a goodwill gesture in compensation for the loss of the use of the pool.

The Villa kitchen lacked a kettle, knives, and chopping board. We asked reception for these items and they referred us to see chef. I found my way into the kitchens and felt totally underdressed in my swimming costume and wrap and found chef – (thankfully he spoke English) to ask a favour – he kindly supplied his own equipment for your use on the promise I return them at the end of our stay. We of course did.
The villa was strangely devoid of the standard picture in the dining area & only a basin mirror was in the bathroom - would have been very good to have a long mirror or failing that a mirror at the vanity unit!
Our villa had a great view - little garden had rosemary & basil growing so great to be able to use fresh herbs. We weeded the garden of the 2-foot high weeds!

The maid service was good. Sheets/ towels changed every 3 days & bins emptied.
The double bed was in fact two single beds joined together with a noticeable ridge down the middle and not at all comfortable. Guests staying in the main house also commented on the dreadful beds. The sofa in the sitting room was unusable as it was too wide to sit on and no cushions for your back. The garden sun beds were adequate/uncomfortable. No cushions either.
The key to control the lights, aircon was utterly frustrating as it was also attached to “the safe key”. So, remove the key that controls the lights and you then can’t see your way to the safe or indeed the lock hole to open the safe. Great!
The local Lidl for provisions was useful & a great quick stop on our way up the long hill.
The pool was always clean & fresh towel always available, the sun beds comfortable – at busy times no beds were available – had to sit on chairs instead. The little bar was stocked well & restaurant was good with a great fixed & a la carte menu - the local staff were pleasant.
Breakfast was adequate, not a huge choice - perfect for us as we didn't want to put on weight.
Restaurant menu was good. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times - food great and views across the valley fabulous.
The bbq area – there were firelighters and wood provided – only one of the overhead lights worked – quite difficult to see if the food was cooked on not.

Impossible to use gym - like an oven +45c

The Wifi was never reliable which was frustrating for all guests. It made planning the next days visits impossible. We did ask for the router to be reset repeatedly which was done one evening, Monica was asked repeatedly to reset it but sadly she didn’t remember the many other occasions. Wifi did work by the pool,
Watching the grapes being harvested was lovely to see – the villas near the grape processing plant must have found the noise very challenging.
I accidental left my £90 panama roll up hat on the bed in the villa, we emailed immediately we got home, its now over 2 months later and still haven't had the courtesy of a response!
On a safety note no smoke detector or fire extinguisher in the villas, thought this is a standard EU rule.

In conclusion, we found La Rocca very average, such a shame because with more attention to detail the place could be a little gem.

Room Tip: Villa Uliveto is far enough away from the pumping station not to be a noise nuisance and has a good...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverwedding2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After searching for days on where to stay for a couple of days before our Med cruise out of Civitavecchia, i finally decided on La Rocca. Great decision to visit Orvieto! La Rocca has an absolutely breathtaking view of the surrounding area! Service was great and the language barrier was non existent as there was always someone who spoke English. The agriturisimo is about 5 minute out of Orvieto on a winding road just pass Rocca Ripisena. It's a little difficult to find, but definitely worth the effort. Follow the website directions with a GPS and you should be good. Although, I don't think I would have tried finding it at night. As mentioned previously on other reviews, it does have a very good restaurant attached. We ended up eating there twice because it was so good and convenient. They have a gastronomical tasting menu that can be a bit expensive, but was definitely worth the price. And if you're not that hungry and want to save some Euros, you can always just order a first plate of pasta (some of the best we had in Italy). In Italy, you can order whatever and however you want on the menu. Dont think you have to order a first and second course. Also Breakfast was included in the price. Oh, and the Rocca wines made from grapes grown on site Rocced! We're back home now and thinking of having a few bottles shipped back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Grill_Sergeant_Major
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.4 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
300 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
603 reviews
1.7 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Relais Borgo San Faustino
2.6 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
759 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altarocca Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altarocca Wine Resort

Address: Localita Rocca Ripesena 62, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range: $118 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort, spreading across almost thirty acres of organic vineyards and olive grows, comprises four villas with suites and apartments, three sun-kissed swimming pools, an incomparable wellness SPA, an advanced gym and bicycles at your disposal to explore the surroundings. The Altarocca Restaurant, awarded two forks by the Michelin Guide, is an eminent destination for exploring the traditional cuisine of Umbria. The Altarocca Winery is a veritable wine boutique, where you can taste a range of wines, including our very own ones, in wine tastings with chocolate and other delicacies. These ultimate ingredients will turn your holiday in Orvieto into an unforgettable experience of our prestige hotel. The Altarocca Wine Resort will give you a breath-taking view of the Orvieto rock and the Umbrian hills. The prestige lodgings are displaced in four excellent villas, which are connected by pathways leading through herb-scented olive grows and vineyards. Give in to temptation and... Be divine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Altarocca Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Rocca Orvieto Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing