We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 54 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We had a lovely time in Orvieto and the hotel was great! Very clean and spacious with excellent and clean fixtures in the bathroom. Because we were travelling in the low season (November) we were upgraded to an apartment complete with kitchenette and living room.

The hotel was very quiet, which is amazing because it is on the main street (great location). The staff are very friendly. Breakfast is a croissant and coffee at their coffeeshop next door. A great choice for a budget hotel. Cash only.

While in Orvieto, don't miss the:
- the Duomo
- views from Torre del Morro (or is it Mangia?)
- walks along the edge of the town, overlooking the valley
- Orvieto underground - tour of the caves

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 241 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2009

We did have a bit of a time finding this B&B as our GPS kept trying to take us up a pedestrian walkway.! But after calling and talking with the owner Serena, she herself came down and directed us to the hotel. The hotel is located right in the heart of Orvieto and close to many restaurants and shops and Duomo 1 block away. For 70 euro's we had an apartment that consisted of a central hallway, good size bedroom, sitting room, large kitchen with a fresco and vaulted ceiling and also a large bathroom with a lovely brick barrel ceiling. Our room looked out on the bustling pedestrian street, but if we needed quiet we could just shut the newer, large windows which blocked out almost all the noise. Our breakfast each morning consisted of a lucious pastry which was eaten at little tables right outside the wine bar on the ground floor of the building. We also had wonderful casual food and the best pizza of the trip at L'Antica Piazzetta just a few yards from the B&B.

I must mention there is a long flight of stairs to get up to your rooms and , if driving, the parking is pretty limited, but we had no problem with either. Serena's hospitality was exceptional and our stay was wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjbIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Great location , spacious room. Clean, well maintained residence. No need to look further for your visit to Orvieto. It is an excellent location just a block from the Duomo.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

We so enjoyed our stay at the Magnolia. Serena is great and so easy to work with. We found the location perfectly central but quiet, the room with lovely frescoed ceilings and burnished wood floors was very clean and nice and the bathroom (also with a frescoed ceiling) had the best shower on our trip. All at a remarkable value. We also saw her larger unit which would be great for a longer stay. Serena's brothers own the small wine & coffee bar below and it's perfect for enjoying a glass of Orvieto wine and people watching. Only 2 minutes to the Duomo & 3 minutes to the farmers market. A great visit!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TravelingKaren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed here for two nights in September after reading Rick Steves' recommendation. Overall, a terrific experience and great value. We'd definitely return.

While the B&B is right on a main street, you wouldn't know it based on how quiet our room was. We had a standard double room which was more spacious than I'd expected given the 65 Euro pricetag. In addition to the bedroom itself there was a small foyer, which made the whole thing feel even more spacious. The bathroom was clean and bright.

Breakfast is served downstairs at a little cafe which is owned by the same family and doubles as a wine bar at night.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

This small hotel is just two minutes from the cathedral that is the main attraction in Orvieto. There are quite a few stairs but the room was very large with its own foyer and a frescoed ceiling in the modern bathroom. It was clean, quiet, close to everything in the heart of the old town and shopping and reasonably priced. Breakfast was a sweet roll and coffee provided at the cafe on the ground floor. No parking, as with most places in the old town, but a short walk to the shuttle bus stop in front of the duomo.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Blewnoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

A very nice surprise. We had a lovely bright room, good bathroom and a very central location. The breakfast was skimpy but then Italy is not big on breakfast anywhere. The bar downstairs has outside tables where you can sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Picchio
Hotel Picchio
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#1 of 54 in Orvieto
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B La soffitta e La Torre
0.1 mi away
Valentina Bed & Breakfast
Valentina Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 54 in Orvieto
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via del Duomo 29, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range: $71 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence La Magnolia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Magnolia Hotel Orvieto
Residence La Magnolia Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing