We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget choice - fantastic walk up to old town”
Review of Hotel Picchio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Picchio
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I (middle-aged woman travelling solo) stayed for a night while visiting Oriveto. Frfiendly proprietor and very nice room-excellent breakfast with homemade cakes. You can either take the funicular up to town or walk the old path that leads straight up from the hotel's door. While steep, the path offers great views and a grand entrance into the town through the medieval gate. There is also a wonderful walk you can take around the town walls.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 482 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband I spent one night in this small hotel as we were returning our car and taking the train to Rome. The location was convenient to the train station, car rental and the funicular. We had a room in the annex on the first floor with a lovely balcony. The room was spacious and clean with a good WIFI connetion. We were able to park our car in a garage. The breakfast was good with lots of cakes prepared by the staff. The only drawback with the location is the funicular stops running 2030 so we opted to eat near the hotel. We were there on Sunday and the restaurant recommended by the front desk was closed. Overall, a good value and convenient location to the train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex that has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent one night at this small hotel and it was very nice. Our room was a good size compared with other rooms I've had in Italy. Breakfast was wonderful -- bene dolce! The hotel was an easy walk (less than 5 min) to funicular, which gets you into the old city of Orvieto. The price cannot be beat - wonderful value for what we got. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We got a very restful overnight stay in this hotel. The hotel is within 5 minutes walk from the Orvieto train station. There's a signposted road in between a pizza place and the petrol station that can be easily missed in the dark (happened to us). The road leading up to the hotel is steep but manageable. We got a room in the new wing, on the highest floor. Be warned that there are no lifts in the new wing. The room was spacious, clean, and wifi-access was appreciated. Breakfast was pleasant, with lots of cakes lovingly prepared by the friendly staff there. We found it an easy walk to car rental agencies nearby to pick up our rental.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so ask for a room on a lower floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Despite the woeful air-conditioning* I really liked this small hotel. My wife and I had a room in the new building with a pleasant view of the nearby hills. Apart from the aforementioned air-con everything was up to three star standard and we had a large flower bedecked balcony which we really should have made more use of. The breakfast room was rather twee reminding us of an English B+B and although cakes are not really my thing at that time of day the coffee was to die for. The location could be seen as either good or bad. The hotel is close to the train station making it handy for arrivals and departures but is at the bottom of the cliff. There is a funicular railway running up and down the cliff but this stops at 2030.. If you wish to descend after that hour there's a bus at 2110 or an expensive taxi ride home. A third option is to take the unlit walking path down to the hotel's door. We only tried that during daylight hours and found it easy to miss and slippery in parts.
* I later found inadequate air-conditioning to be commonplace in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19,371,973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This family-run hotel was fine for the purposes of our one night stay in Orvieto. It is not in the historic part of town on top of the hill. Rather it is very close to the train station and the funicular which takes you up to the beautiful and charming part of Orvieto. Please note that the last funicular down to the hotel is at 8:30 pm, so there was no time to linger in the evening. We were in the main hotel in a small room on the third floor . It was clean with a small balcony. We had to catch an early train, so we didn't sample the breakfast. The owner was very gracious and offered to deduct that from the price of the room - an unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachwalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I spent more than a week there, I felt i was home! Its close to everything, a 4 minutes walk from the train station and the funicular. Breakfast was wonderful and many options to choose from. You will always notice the smile on the owners face. Very comfortable, good room services.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibrahim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
795 reviews
1 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
518 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gialletti
Gialletti
#11 of 30 in Orvieto
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#12 of 30 in Orvieto
284 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oasi dei Discepoli
Oasi dei Discepoli
#14 of 30 in Orvieto
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Orvieto
Hotel Orvieto
#23 of 30 in Orvieto
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Picchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picchio

Address: Via Giovanni Salvatori 17, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range: $73 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Picchio 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Picchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picchio Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing