We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Hotel Orvieto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orvieto
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Orvieto. The little old man (owner??) who checked us in was very nice, although he knew very little English. He provided us with 4 internet passwords for our room, which was above and beyond what we expected. They also gave us a coupon for dinner at a nearby restaurant, which we enjoyed.

The rooms were simple, and we didn't find to train to be loud at all...although maybe it's because we were exhausted. The only real issue we noticed was tha the air conditioner didn't work, but since it was a cool spring night, we were able to just open the windows.

We found the breakfast to be the typical European fair: meats, cheese, breads, some fruit, a great selection of juices, cereal, etc. The woman serving breakfast even offered to make us coffee and cappucinos.

Overall, the hotel was a very convenient stop on our way into Rome. We were able to easily visit Orvieto and make it to Rome at a reasonable time the next day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side would probably have less noise from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jRode11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 269 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed here on a BUSINESS trip this past December 2011. I must say i was SORELY DISAPPOINTED in this hotel. NO "real breakfast" (sliced cold cuts and few COLD CROISSANTS!!! I was also taken back by the fact we had to walk a block to the restaurant that was the hotel's keep. The food was ok.... the staff was not very helpful and the maid DID NOT clean our rooms 5 out of the 9 days I stayed here. NO WIFI that works with APPLE products...
SHOWER and TOILET in the same space with NO DIVIDER or stall...so as you take a shower the water sprays ALL over the bathroom.... NEVER AGAIN....terrible place to stay....

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DarrenHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at this HOTEL, as they call it for 8-9 days in December-Jan 2012 for a business trip. FIRST the place was cold and the staff JUST AS COLD! Rooms were made up maybe three times during our 8-9 day stay. breakfast was sliced luncheon meat with croissant and maybe a egg or two...NOTHING could be COOKED....the eggs were at least boiled....HOWEVER, NO RESTAURANT attached to this place so we had to walked about one block to eat Lunch and Dinner each day.....time consuming and the food was.....2 stars at best....excpet for the lastnight the food got better....

The INTERNET ACCESS was HORRIBLE....either no connection or when you connected you got dropped and the staff had no idea how to "make it work" for the customers.

STAY somewhere else....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdh718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were traveling from Northern Italy to Southern Itay and stopped in Orvieto to break the trip up. This hotel was undergoing remodeling so maybe that is why it was so terrible. We had a sewer smell in our room with limited air conditioning. The hotel served its purpose but don't spend much time here. Staff when we checked in could speak a little english and was very nice and helpful. Staff at night could not speak any english. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blend5Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This is my third stay here we we stopped to split up the drive from venice to naples. Its handy for the motorway, and while its next to the railway line, high speed railway line and motorway it did not wake me up. Air con in the room worked just ok, though toilet did fail. Not much to do and it was quite a sight to see almost all the guests troop off down the road at 7.30pm to a nearby hotel for dinner'. Breakfast was fine. did have a short drive a round and found it handy for the railway station and the little railway that takes you up to the old town. At 50 euros a night then hard to fault, but would not want to stay for a more than 1 night. Internet use was free but very slow.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monkeysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I needed a hotel desperately 2 days before Easter Sunday and I could not find anything with availability. I stumbled upon Orvieto Hotel on Trip Advisor and went for it after reading the reviews. The rooms were 75 Euros including breakfast. The staff were very friendly and nice.
When I saw the hotel I was very disappointed. It is located right NEXT to a train track and in a very unattractive location. Both me and my husband woke up several times because the walls were paper thin. You felt like you neighbor was in your room when he coughed...
and above all the breakfast was clearly bought from a very cheap wholesale super market which we found it disgusting. We had to park our car in the parking lot. During the night my husband heard a car alarm going off. The whole night he was paranoid that it might be ours...but of course this is not the hotel's fault.
Maybe we are bit too picky but overall I think I chose to pay 30 bucks more and get a good night sleep and a more edible breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cannes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

This is a hotel we use frequently for single nights when have to visit Rome. Its about 70 miles from Rome, but we like to be outside.

The staff are friendly, but don't speak much English, which isn't really a problem as I'm not there to have a conversation with the them.

The rooms are modern, well appointed, and some thought has gone into them, and it is appreciated. The rooms have a more boutique feel to them than you would normally expect and some time and thought went into the rooms. They have achieved a pleasant balance of high quality and uniformity throughout the rooms without creating the anonymity of a chain hotel like Ibis.

For us the hotel is perfect as its right next to the Autostrada.

We will certainly be staying there in during 2010.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gialletti
Gialletti
#11 of 30 in Orvieto
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#15 of 30 in Orvieto
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Umbria Ristorante
Hotel Umbria Ristorante
#18 of 30 in Orvieto
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Picchio
Hotel Picchio
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
482 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oasi dei Discepoli
Oasi dei Discepoli
#12 of 30 in Orvieto
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orvieto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orvieto

Address: Via Angelo Costanzi 63, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range: $79 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orvieto 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 3 stars, near the historical center of Orvieto, reachable by car in just five minutes. Easily accessible from the most important lines of communications: 300 meters from the exit of the motorway A1, 1 km from Orvieto train station and 1 km from the characteristic funicular. The historical center of Orvieto is also accessible by bus from the stop in front of Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Orvieto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing