We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Corso was perfect for stay in Orvieto”
Review of Hotel Corso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Corso
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Siena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Corso was perfect for stay in Orvieto”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here in early January, 2013, winter and off season for this little hill top town. The staff were very helpful, and the rooms were spotless, and I did not notice any noise, other then church bells out my window. Decor, is a bit out of date for sure, but everything very clean. Breakfast had many choices. This small hotel very easy to get to, you can walk the distance, rolling your suitcase up the hill from the tram, easy enough. No need to take a taxi. Staff is at the desk, 24 hr a day, so if you ever need anything, there is someone always there. I have been traveling for a month all through out Italy on this trip, and think that for the off season price I paid for the room, I recall 55 Euros, if you can look past the outdated decor, it is a good bargain for the price. I spent more time in the town then in my room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debinitaly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    131
    62
    20
    13
See reviews for
43
145
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We paid EUR110 for one night here, hence the expectation of something quite nice. Boy was I wrong!

Guest services were nice enough (although we had a communication issue as only one of the desk clerks could understand English passably), so that is a plus, but:
- the room smelled musty and was noticeably so as soon as we stepped in
- the bed covers looked like they were from the 1920s and were horribly faded
- safe did not work and could be removed in any case, so there was no point in having it in the room
- hairdryer blew (or wheezed more like it) cold air.

I must add that the room and bathroom were clean and the size was reasonable for its location so it was not all bad. They also made an effort with chocolates on the pillows and scatterings of dyed and dried plant material (I couldn't tell what they were, but they were made to look like rose petals.) However, this was not enough to wipe out the negative first impression.

Breakfast was a feast of croissants, cakes and other pastries. I felt like I was in a bakery! Great selection of sweet things, but it was too much sugar for me! The breakfast area also looked very dated.

The location is very good, a short walk from the duomo (although it is uphill!) but BEWARE if you are driving - the hotel is situated in a restricted traffic zone (ZTL) so if you do (mistakenly) drive up here, get the hotel to take down your details as a guest in order to avoid a fine. The hotel charges EUR8 a night for parking, which is around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel, while well located had a low grade atmosphere throughout with young kids manning reception, noisy night time lobby, and thin walls and cheap fittings. I was assaulted all night by kids in lobby hanging out. i finally went down to complain. it stopped then. AAfter reading the reviews we were surprised. Private Parking was difficult to access despite the reviews I read. The breakfast was not very good- that being said the coffee mercifully was. My traveling companions agreed the next morning the place was too much like a dive. I do not recommend.

Room Tip: Not street rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel Corsa is ideally situated - close to the centre but away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff warm and welcoming. Continental breakfasts are more than adequte with good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are driving to Orvieto. As opposed to many other hotels, not only does it offers a very easy parking facility nearby but to actually park your car you don't need to negotiate very steep or narrow lanes which can sometimes be quite testing. As for the venue itself, beds are very comfortable although our room was quite small and the bathroom a bit tired with a small shower. Staff extremely friendly and polite, the buffet breakfast could be improved but if you go for a B&B's deal, it is still very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna11London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lovely staff who can't do enough for you. The rooms are "dainty" and a bit dated but fine for a good nights sleep.
Beautifully positioned and very handy for shops and restaurants.

Breakfast is a cold buffet - but good enough to set you up for the day.

One downside for some travellers - there is no bar in the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Perfect location in Orvieto, right in the middle of town. Very pretty and comfortable. Our room was bright and cheerful with a small balcony overlooking the pedestrianised street. Wonderful staff warm friendly and helpful. Good wifi and lovely breakfast. Orvieto is a wonderful place to visit, it has lots of historic buildings and a stunning cathedral. Highly recommended.

A small point really but hotel parking was tricky to find, slight error on map.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinfandel-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#20 of 30 in Orvieto
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valentino Hotel
Valentino Hotel
#14 of 30 in Orvieto
182 reviews
2.6 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corso

Property: Hotel Corso
Address: Corso Cavour 343, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corso 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Corso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corso Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing