We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical, extraordinary experience- not to be...”
The Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Farmhouse
The Farmhouse The Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Farmhouse
The Farmhouse
The Swimming Pool
The Swimming Pool
The Large Apartment
The Swimming Pool
The Swimming Pool
Large Apartment - Kitchen Living Room
Large Apartment - Kitchen Living Room
Large Apartment - Kitchen Living Room
Large Apartment - the East Bedroom
Large Apartment - the East Bedroom
Large Apartment - the Bathroom
Large Apartment - 2 Single beds on the open wooden loft
Large Apartment - the Bathroom
Large Apartment - the South Bedroom
Our 32.4 kWp Photovoltaic Plant
Large Apartment - the South Bedroom
Large Apartment - the Entrance
Large Apartment - the Entrance
Large Apartment - the Entrance
Large Apartment - the North Bedroom with private bathroom
Large Apartment - the North Bedroom with private bathroom
Large Apartment - Landscape from the Entrance
The barbecue area in the garden
The barbecue area in the garden
Nuvola, our Australian Sheperd
Cooking Class - The kitchen
Cooking Class - The kitchen
Cooking Class - The kitchen
Fried Zucchini
From our Vegetable Garden
Cooking Class
A Cooking Class
For your breakfast
From our Vegetable Garden
Apricots ready to pick
From our fig trees
Yummy fried sweets
From our Vegetable Garden
Pottery works
Our eggs (no meat!) ducks
Pottery works
Pottery wheel Class
Pottery wheel Class
Pottery wheel Class
Hand Loom Scarves
Pottery wheel Class
Gingi and her dauther Nuvola, our lovely Australian Sherpards
Our Olive Grove
The garden - Towards the Swimming Pool
The Olive Harvest
The Olive Harvest
The Olive Harvest - Gingi helps too!
Gingi in a daisies sea
Our apartment Entrance
The garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Orvieto, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Rosemarie...
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A magical, extraordinary experience- not to be missed!”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

In our many travels we have stayed in some wonderful places! None match the experience we had at Francesco and Serena's home. They have created a welcoming, warm and intimate atmosphere yet allow for the privacy and well-being of their guests.

We were four adults who stayed in the large apartment at Frallarenza in September. The farm (that word doesn't come close to describing this sanctuary) is about 15 minutes from the town of Ficulle and our GPS wasn't cooperating. A call to Francesco brought him to meet us and direct us to his home, as well as offers from several Ficulle residents who were ready to take us there!

Our temporary home far exceeded the description on Flipkey and our expectations! We were greeted by a beautifully decorated apartment. Serena's handwork evident in each room. Terra cotta fixtures and tile in the kitchen, dining and living rooms; Handcrafted furniture and woodwork, by Francesco and all amenities promised and much, much more.

I cannot say enough about the generosity and care that was shown to us. We were the grateful recipients of delicious homemade food, fresh vegetables and expert recommendations for places to visit. Our every request, including getting an autostrada toll violation settled were met with willingness and good humor.

The farm is idyllic. Gardens, pool, olive groves, vistas that took our breath away and the company of the family dogs, Gingi and Nuvola. They made our stay perfect. It was a mutual falling in love. If they didn't greet us first thing in the morning when we came out onto the porch we were disappointed. They rarely disappointed us - perhaps it was the promise of the biscuits?

Our cooking class and meal with Serena, Francesco and their son Giorgio was like learning at a mothers side. Serena is aptly named, she is patient, caring and exudes kindness and concern. If I mentioned a food I enjoyed it appeared before I could blink, fried zucchini flowers, pizza grana, limoncello,and tons of fresh vegetables and herbs. Cooking was a sheer pleasure.

The location was perfect. We traveled to Siena, Orvieto, Assisi, Capidamonte, Cortona, Pienza, Montepulciano, etc. with ease.

Do not miss this opportunity!!! We are planning a return visit. Leaving was like saying goodbye to our family. We knew we had made lifetime connections.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Francesco, Serena, Giorgio, GingiGingi, Nuvola
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiehneJon...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sublime, beautiful and utterley relaxing”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The photograph's do not do this place justice it is absolutely beautiful.

The care that has gone into the accommodation is of a really high standard, very arts and crafts. The garden is lovely, with fig and walnut trees and the pool was a real treat, very clean with lots of pool side seating. We loved the dogs and cats that sauntered around - although Serena and Francesco were very considerate and sensitive about the dogs and how they conducted themselves.

Serena and Francesco are wonderful hosts, charming, helpful and very generous. In terms of location it's a 5 minute drive to the nearest town, the gorgeous Orvieto is about a 10 minute drive and in the other direction there is are loads of interesting towns to explore in beautiful countryside. We had a lovely holiday and very much hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hosts, the location, the apartment, everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gister
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“True Italian Experience with Wonderful Owners”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I along with my sister and her husband drove down from Milan after our flight from the US and stayed at Frallarenza for 5 days using it as our base but we would of been very happy to stay there the whole time. The owners Francesco and Serena were the perfect hosts and the large apartment was wonderful. Francesco took ample time conversing with my husband answering all his questions (and there were many)about the farm and local places to eat. Serena made us wonderful pastry and pasta and we loved shopping at her studio ( I just love my turtle and poncho with scarf ). They even have wine and olive oil for sale from their farm. The town on the hill of Orvieto was a fun place to visit and friendly locals at the Pizza's places in Allerona. Please don't hesitate to stay at this rental because it will be everything you hope for in Italy and MORE. Thanks you Francesco and Serena for a wonderful start to our extended vacation in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beetlejui...
Bergamo
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La tranquillità in mezzo alle colline toscane e la casa spaziosa e accogliente
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing