We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it! Perfect when arriving by train!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orvieto Cablecar

Orvieto Cablecar
Ranked #2 of 6 Tours in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We love it! Perfect when arriving by train!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We take the one hour train ride from Rome to visit Orvieto on each trip to Italy. It is a magical place. Once off the train, you are right at the base to catch the ride on the funicolare up to the town of Orvieto. The ride is easy, great fun and gives you a great view of the countryside. Having driven by car on past trips up the mountain to Orvieto, the funicolare is the most relaxing way to get up to the top even if you arrive by car. Just park at the base and take it up. Not pricey, just one euro each way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hopeful14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Well worth paying the euro each way for making this trip on the funicular :-) very easy to use and just a short walk up into the centre of town when you get off. Free parking too at the car park .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice way to arrive in town but be careful buying tickets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We made a day trip by car to Orvieto on October 24, not a terribly busy day, and could have driven to Piazza Cahen in town and parked there without difficulty. However, we wanted to ride the funicular and drove out of our way to the parking lot behind the train station. We saw the ticket office within the train station and waited in a very short line to buy tickets. I thought I had made it clear (admittedly mostly in English) that my wife and I each wanted a round trip on the funicular. We paid cash and were handed 4 tickets,and used 2 for the ascent into town. When we attempted to use the other tickets for the descent at the end of the afternoon, they were rejected by the ticket machine. The woman at the window of the funicular told us that the tickets had expired - we had bought 4 one-way tickets!

There seems to be a separate ticket office for the uphill ride that is at the funicular itself, and there is probably less chance of confusion if you buy funicular tickets there rather than at the train station's ticket counter.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebensburg, PA
Level Contributor
335 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Some nice views and an unusual experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We very much enjoyed the ride up to Orvieto on the funicular. Along wht way we could see some very nice views of the hillsides and also enjoyed the trees along the track. The bus for the last part of the trip was a different story. Be prepared to be pushed and shoved on it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cambria5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orvieto Cablecar also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Orvieto Cablecar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing