We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificant facade matched inside”
Review of Duomo di Orvieto

Duomo di Orvieto
Book In Advance
More Info
$187.69*
and up
Orvieto Private Walking Tour
More Info
$703.85*
and up
Orvieto and Civita di Bagnoregio: Private Full Day Trip from Rome
More Info
$124.64*
and up
Day Excursion from Rome: Assisi and Orvieto with a Theologist Private Tour
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Orvieta's magnificent Duomo (cathedral) is considered one of the must-see churches in Italy for its stunning gold-and-mosaic Gothic façade and magnificent frescoes by Luca Signorelli, which had a great influence on Michelangelo's work in the Sistine Chapel.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Magnificant facade matched inside”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Amazing cathedral, a highlight of visiting Orvieto, with an incredible facade and great interior. Also should visit the museums behind it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,134
    675
    136
    36
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gothic”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Something wonderful. Astonishing architetture, spaces, lighting.
Only one regret that day was raining continuosly but warmy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Glorious Duomo in Orvieto”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Don't know which was more spectacular--the outside or the inside of this glorious cathedral. The exterior of the Orvieto Duomo is really unique; not to be missed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tradgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning and majestic”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We walked down the narrow street leading to the centre of this gorgeous town which is perched on the top of a volcanic rock, until we reached the Piazza del Duomo and wow! The cathedral standing before us in this large square rose up majestically. I had to stand in one of the narrow streets leading to this square in order to fit the whole cathedral into the framne of my camera as it was so large. Romanesque-Gothic in style, it was one of the most ornate exteriors I had ever seen. Multi-coloured marble covered the facade with sculptures, mosaics and intricate stone patterns adding to its sumptuous appearance. A lot of gold. I could not capture enough of it with my camera - it was so overwhelming. The inside was also fantastic with one part of the ceiling covered in timber and the other with Gothic vaulting. It had beautiful frescoes and Gothic stained glass windows but it is the exterior that I shall never forget.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nitz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita falls, tx
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unusual and beautiful”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A stunning exterior and facade is what puts this cathedral at the top of the list of one of the most beautiful and unusual cathedrals anywhere. The dark and light stones highlight this huge cathedral which dominates the town square. The facade with all the incredible carvings are just spectacular! I did not have the time to explore the cathedral museum next door or the interior of the cathedral other than a quick look. The interior is not furnished at all. It looks as though they need more money to refurbish the interior and make it a working church which it does not seem to be. I may be wrong. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lejomial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo di Orvieto also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Duomo di Orvieto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing