We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
151
92
29
22
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
92
29
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews former monastery umbrian fare like stepping back in time historic hotel modern comforts swimming pool truffle minute drive risotto day trip croissants hill town abbey century car renewal frescoes
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 302 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The only advantage of the hotel is the view of him.
Hotel gloomy, scary, rooms look like a room in the convent, bad beds at night slept on the floor, not worth the price.
Maybe I'd rank it one star

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeMalingri, Front Office Manager at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2011

Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at La Badia di Orvieto. We sincerely appreciate the candid feedback you have given us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the underwhelming impression you received of our property, but we feel you didn’t appreciate the unique characteristics of our Hotel. The Badia di Orvieto is indeed a century old abbey expertly and lovingly restored with all the modern conveniences. Nevertheless we value the input of all our guest , we were already in the process of changing all of our mattresses and since your stay all the rooms have new orthopedic mattresses.
I would certainly look forward to an opportunity to personally discuss your recent experience at La Badia di Orvieto and, hopefully, you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.
May I kindly request you contact me directly at +39 0763 301959 or at ame.malingri@labadiahotel.it the next time your travels bring you to Umbria so that I may personally take care of your arrangements. In the meantime, we remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Amé Malingri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

La Badia di Orvieto is a magical place to stay. We just spent 3 nights there and would go back again. This is a converted Monestory. The rooms are huge and spotless, the staff is local and the owners. The food is wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candycay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

A lovely setting in an old monastery with beautiful views, but not if you're in one of the smaller rooms overlooking the driveway. Like so many hotels, the room is key and while the hotel was very pretty, and the grounds lovely to walk around, the room was a major disappointment. Others in our group were happy with their obviously much larger and nicer rooms so it may be luck of the draw. My advice would be to visit and perhaps have a drink on the terrace or cup of tea, if permitted, but stay elsewhere.

Breakfast, incidentally, was in a cellar room with no windows, and had only cold foods and cereals on offer. One of the most disappointing, sad breakfasts of our entire stay in Italy.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindyRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Dear Sir,
we are very sorry if your stay at our hotel has not been for you pleasant, despite our efforts to address to all our guests an equally warm welcome.
The types of rooms in our hotel are four, very different the one from the others, really because it is a fomer monastery converted into a hotel; some rooms are less spacious than others being drawn from the ancient cells of the monks.
No room looks towards the "drive-way" as our hotel is surrounded by olive groves, wood and vineyard; the only pedestrian road is the one that conducts to the panoramic swimming-pool and tennis court.
The breakfast room is carved in the refectory of the abbey.; however it has windows covered by curtains and has a large glass door with access to the garden on the back.
The buffet breakfast served in this room is complete with everything you need for making it pleasant; we use natural products, pies and homemade cakes, cheeses and meats from local production, beyond the normal food in every breakfast: cappuccino, coffee, tea, orange juice and grapefruit juice, biscuits, croissants, various flavors marmelade, honey, butter, Nutella, fresh fruit and yougurts. Upon request scrembled or boiled eggs.
Therefore, it doesn't seems us correct your valutation about our breakfast but we will treasure your advice to provide a hot meal, lodging at the center of the buffet in chefing-dish.
We hope you will come back to visit us in the future , booking a superior or a suite room that will meet your preference for spacious enviromments.
Best regards,
Sincerely Yours.
Luisa Fiumi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

What a perfect setting - great to get anywhere and a perfect spot to settle in for the night. Has an awesome pool area (after a hot day it was great). Beautiful - everything you'd expect from a Italy/Tuscan/castle stay. Four of us stayed two nights. It's on my recommend list for anyone (touch pricy but worth it).

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EhCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

La Badia a few kilometers outside Orvieto looked like the type of place where we love to stay. A restored convent, Michelin rated it 3 rouge maisons which normally means a place with lots of character and charm yet still providing modern comforts. It was Michelin's top choice to stay in Orvieto. We thought it was going to be wonderful on our second last night in Italy. The view from the road of the medieval tower and walls suggested a memorable experience. The grounds were lovely ((see photos). The public rooms, all in stone, had been beautifully restored. Unfortunately this charm did not extend to the standard bedroom we were assigned. The room was very small even by European standards and it had little character. Cheap beige tiled floor; beige walls and ceiling offered little charm and were definitely not what we had in mind. The bed was soft and lumpy. When I tried to get a better room, the manager informed me the other rooms had not been cleaned and would not be available until the next day. Perhaps the more expensive rooms were more impressive but there should be an overall standard applying to all the rooms. In terms of La Badia's restaurant, the setting was lovely. We ate outdoors among the stone walls. Unfortunately the food could not match the setting either. It was as bland as our room. The pasta dishes had no taste. The grilled meat dishes were okay as grilled meat dishes invariably y are. We did not bother with dessert. All in all a poor performance by the owner of La Badia.
By comparison we stayed in a medieval castle the next night in the north of Rome. It wasalso rated 3 rouge maisons by Michelin. This time the recommendation met all our expectations and at the same price as La Badia (see my review on Castello della Castelluccia, Rome).

3  Thank finsth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeMalingri, Front Office Manager at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

We are sorry your stay at La Badia didn’t meet your expectations. Due to the unique characteristic of La Badia no two rooms are alike, it was unfortunate we were unable to provide an alternative to your satisfaction. Since your stay we have improved our services and organization, upon availability we always try to accommodate guest wishes and have alternative rooms available. All of our mattresses have been changed to new orthopedic ones. Our restaurant is continually improving as many other reviews attest.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews