We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
144
85
26
22
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
85
26
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer monasteryumbrian farehistoric hotelspectacular propertyminute driverisottotwo night staywonderful placeabbeycenturyrometowncarrenewalantiquityfrescoescenturies
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 285 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2010

A lovely setting in an old monastery with beautiful views, but not if you're in one of the smaller rooms overlooking the driveway. Like so many hotels, the room is key and while the hotel was very pretty, and the grounds lovely to walk around, the room was a major disappointment. Others in our group were happy with their obviously much larger and nicer rooms so it may be luck of the draw. My advice would be to visit and perhaps have a drink on the terrace or cup of tea, if permitted, but stay elsewhere.

Breakfast, incidentally, was in a cellar room with no windows, and had only cold foods and cereals on offer. One of the most disappointing, sad breakfasts of our entire stay in Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindyRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Dear Sir,
we are very sorry if your stay at our hotel has not been for you pleasant, despite our efforts to address to all our guests an equally warm welcome.
The types of rooms in our hotel are four, very different the one from the others, really because it is a fomer monastery converted into a hotel; some rooms are less spacious than others being drawn from the ancient cells of the monks.
No room looks towards the "drive-way" as our hotel is surrounded by olive groves, wood and vineyard; the only pedestrian road is the one that conducts to the panoramic swimming-pool and tennis court.
The breakfast room is carved in the refectory of the abbey.; however it has windows covered by curtains and has a large glass door with access to the garden on the back.
The buffet breakfast served in this room is complete with everything you need for making it pleasant; we use natural products, pies and homemade cakes, cheeses and meats from local production, beyond the normal food in every breakfast: cappuccino, coffee, tea, orange juice and grapefruit juice, biscuits, croissants, various flavors marmelade, honey, butter, Nutella, fresh fruit and yougurts. Upon request scrembled or boiled eggs.
Therefore, it doesn't seems us correct your valutation about our breakfast but we will treasure your advice to provide a hot meal, lodging at the center of the buffet in chefing-dish.
We hope you will come back to visit us in the future , booking a superior or a suite room that will meet your preference for spacious enviromments.
Best regards,
Sincerely Yours.
Luisa Fiumi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

What a perfect setting - great to get anywhere and a perfect spot to settle in for the night. Has an awesome pool area (after a hot day it was great). Beautiful - everything you'd expect from a Italy/Tuscan/castle stay. Four of us stayed two nights. It's on my recommend list for anyone (touch pricy but worth it).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EhCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

La Badia a few kilometers outside Orvieto looked like the type of place where we love to stay. A restored convent, Michelin rated it 3 rouge maisons which normally means a place with lots of character and charm yet still providing modern comforts. It was Michelin's top choice to stay in Orvieto. We thought it was going to be wonderful on our second last night in Italy. The view from the road of the medieval tower and walls suggested a memorable experience. The grounds were lovely ((see photos). The public rooms, all in stone, had been beautifully restored. Unfortunately this charm did not extend to the standard bedroom we were assigned. The room was very small even by European standards and it had little character. Cheap beige tiled floor; beige walls and ceiling offered little charm and were definitely not what we had in mind. The bed was soft and lumpy. When I tried to get a better room, the manager informed me the other rooms had not been cleaned and would not be available until the next day. Perhaps the more expensive rooms were more impressive but there should be an overall standard applying to all the rooms. In terms of La Badia's restaurant, the setting was lovely. We ate outdoors among the stone walls. Unfortunately the food could not match the setting either. It was as bland as our room. The pasta dishes had no taste. The grilled meat dishes were okay as grilled meat dishes invariably y are. We did not bother with dessert. All in all a poor performance by the owner of La Badia.
By comparison we stayed in a medieval castle the next night in the north of Rome. It wasalso rated 3 rouge maisons by Michelin. This time the recommendation met all our expectations and at the same price as La Badia (see my review on Castello della Castelluccia, Rome).

3  Thank finsth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeMalingri, Front Office Manager at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

We are sorry your stay at La Badia didn’t meet your expectations. Due to the unique characteristic of La Badia no two rooms are alike, it was unfortunate we were unable to provide an alternative to your satisfaction. Since your stay we have improved our services and organization, upon availability we always try to accommodate guest wishes and have alternative rooms available. All of our mattresses have been changed to new orthopedic ones. Our restaurant is continually improving as many other reviews attest.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We were supposed to stay at La Badia for 2 nights but due to my plane coming in late we called at noon on the day of the reservation to say we would arriving the next day. We were told it wouldn't be a problem and there was no mention of a penalty for the cancellation. To our surprise when we arrived, we were told by the front desk that we had to pay an extra €50 as a penality for our one night stay. The fact that we had just drove 6 hours to get there and that it was late (and this was during the Umbria Jazz festival and the town was sold out!) we had no alternative but to stay and pay. My problem with this hotel is this 1. they should have told us when we called of the penality and 2. they could have easily given us a slightly better room (I inquired to see if there were other rooms available) so at least we would feel like we got some value for the extra money spent but the room was standard which means small, smelly and very tired looking. I wouldn't suggest this hotel to anybody. I'd suggest going to see the abbey but definitely Don't Stay There!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Experience802727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeMalingri, Front Office Manager at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

We are sorry your stay at La Badia wasn’t satisfactory. The main problem seems to be our mistake in communicating cancellation penalty. Since your stay our policies are been very clearly stated at booking and our staff has been instructed to be clear about cancellation policy. All our rooms are constantly updated and as an organization we constantly strive to improve our services and standards. As for the possibility of an upgrade, as you correctly stated your stay was during Umbria Jazz Winter when all of Orvieto is fully booked, therefore to preserve our rate integrity and the possibility of selling rooms to walk in customers there was no possibility of granting an upgrade. During normal periods, as all hotels do, if possible and subject to various considerations we do grant upgrades.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

The history and style of this very old abbey are quite charming.

The rooms are quaint and comfortable. You are staying here for the location and the history of the place not for luxury.

The food at the restaurant (which is not owned by the hotel but has the same name) lets down the experience. Food was 2/5.

Its a nice hotel to stay at to visit Orvieto with easy access back onto the autostrada for your next destination.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank np-lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews