We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
146
87
26
22
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
87
26
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews former monastery umbrian fare historic hotel spectacular property minute drive risotto two night stay wonderful place abbey century rome town car renewal antiquity frescoes centuries
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 289 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2009

La Badia a few kilometers outside Orvieto looked like the type of place where we love to stay. A restored convent, Michelin rated it 3 rouge maisons which normally means a place with lots of character and charm yet still providing modern comforts. It was Michelin's top choice to stay in Orvieto. We thought it was going to be wonderful on our second last night in Italy. The view from the road of the medieval tower and walls suggested a memorable experience. The grounds were lovely ((see photos). The public rooms, all in stone, had been beautifully restored. Unfortunately this charm did not extend to the standard bedroom we were assigned. The room was very small even by European standards and it had little character. Cheap beige tiled floor; beige walls and ceiling offered little charm and were definitely not what we had in mind. The bed was soft and lumpy. When I tried to get a better room, the manager informed me the other rooms had not been cleaned and would not be available until the next day. Perhaps the more expensive rooms were more impressive but there should be an overall standard applying to all the rooms. In terms of La Badia's restaurant, the setting was lovely. We ate outdoors among the stone walls. Unfortunately the food could not match the setting either. It was as bland as our room. The pasta dishes had no taste. The grilled meat dishes were okay as grilled meat dishes invariably y are. We did not bother with dessert. All in all a poor performance by the owner of La Badia.
By comparison we stayed in a medieval castle the next night in the north of Rome. It wasalso rated 3 rouge maisons by Michelin. This time the recommendation met all our expectations and at the same price as La Badia (see my review on Castello della Castelluccia, Rome).

3  Thank finsth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeMalingri, Front Office Manager at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

We are sorry your stay at La Badia didn’t meet your expectations. Due to the unique characteristic of La Badia no two rooms are alike, it was unfortunate we were unable to provide an alternative to your satisfaction. Since your stay we have improved our services and organization, upon availability we always try to accommodate guest wishes and have alternative rooms available. All of our mattresses have been changed to new orthopedic ones. Our restaurant is continually improving as many other reviews attest.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We were supposed to stay at La Badia for 2 nights but due to my plane coming in late we called at noon on the day of the reservation to say we would arriving the next day. We were told it wouldn't be a problem and there was no mention of a penalty for the cancellation. To our surprise when we arrived, we were told by the front desk that we had to pay an extra €50 as a penality for our one night stay. The fact that we had just drove 6 hours to get there and that it was late (and this was during the Umbria Jazz festival and the town was sold out!) we had no alternative but to stay and pay. My problem with this hotel is this 1. they should have told us when we called of the penality and 2. they could have easily given us a slightly better room (I inquired to see if there were other rooms available) so at least we would feel like we got some value for the extra money spent but the room was standard which means small, smelly and very tired looking. I wouldn't suggest this hotel to anybody. I'd suggest going to see the abbey but definitely Don't Stay There!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Experience802727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeMalingri, Front Office Manager at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

We are sorry your stay at La Badia wasn’t satisfactory. The main problem seems to be our mistake in communicating cancellation penalty. Since your stay our policies are been very clearly stated at booking and our staff has been instructed to be clear about cancellation policy. All our rooms are constantly updated and as an organization we constantly strive to improve our services and standards. As for the possibility of an upgrade, as you correctly stated your stay was during Umbria Jazz Winter when all of Orvieto is fully booked, therefore to preserve our rate integrity and the possibility of selling rooms to walk in customers there was no possibility of granting an upgrade. During normal periods, as all hotels do, if possible and subject to various considerations we do grant upgrades.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

The history and style of this very old abbey are quite charming.

The rooms are quaint and comfortable. You are staying here for the location and the history of the place not for luxury.

The food at the restaurant (which is not owned by the hotel but has the same name) lets down the experience. Food was 2/5.

Its a nice hotel to stay at to visit Orvieto with easy access back onto the autostrada for your next destination.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank np-lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

La Badia was our last stop after wonderful stays in Rome and Sienna.
The staff was friendly and tried to accomodate us, but unfortunatley could not.
We occupied two rooms at 325 Euro each. We were not notified that the restaurant would not be open during our stay, we did have a dinner reservation. Basically it was just too bad for us!This was a big problem because the hotel is out of town, you can't just walk and get a snack or meal.
The hotel does not offer any of the sevices that would go along with the price. No English speaking TV stations like BBC or CNN, no nightly turn down service, no daily newspaper, no DVD players, no nice bath products. The bed was broken and banged against the wall every time you moved, rubber matts were under the bed sheets, the bathrooms were in much need of remodel, the umbrellas were broken. You get the idea. Just not worth the money at all. Of course, they would not even think of adjusting the bill in any way.
A very big disappointment!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeMalingri, Front Office Manager at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Dear Rewier,

We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. It was a big mistake on our part not to inform you in advance that our restaurant would be closed, since your stay our operations have greatly improved and such mistakes should never happen again. Our hotel and services are continually improving and since your stay we have equipped the rooms with various foreign language channels, our beds and mattress have been changed, we provided turn down service, we offer newspapers, we provided high quality bathrooms products and of course there are no more rubber mats under the sheets.

Respectfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

My wife and I stayed two nights at the La Badia, and enjoyed the stay completely. Great historic buildings, large room, and bath, by Italian standards, pleasant staff, and great food. There was a lively Italian wedding reception going on in the open area right outside our room on our first night which would normally not be to my liking, however, the surroundings made us feel like we were taking part in a movie. The view of Orvieto from the hotel is fantastic too. We were in Italy for 25 days, and hit many cities, and the La Badia di Orvieto was our second favorite hotel of the entire trip. Your Euros will be well spent at this gem.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwbucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews