We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreeable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Piccolomini
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Agreeable”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We spent three nights at the Palazzo Piccolomini, and while everything was agreeable, nothing was particularly outstanding. The hotel staff was very pleasant, but our room certainly did not resemble any of the rooms on the hotel's website. It was perfectly clean, but it was dark, with only one small window facing a side street. The bathroom (with a tiny shower) was also clean, but certainly not luxurious or ultra-modern. On a Friday night, street noise made it difficult to sleep. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but not extensive, and it lacked fresh fruits or fresh juices.

On the other hand, Palazzo Piccolomini has a perfect location in Orvieto. There are many restaurants nearby, a main piazza is just up the street, and everything in the town is within walking distance. It was a great base for exploring the lovely medieval town and the fabulous Duomo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzanneandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    195
    63
    12
    5
See reviews for
76
214
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here four nights and absolutely loved it. The Hotel was beautiful and the staff was amazing. Our room was big and very nice. Because we stayed four nights, we received a discount and it was well worth it. We were able to rent a car and tour the other hill towns of Umbria and Tuscany, visit Lake Balsona and enjoy the quiet beauty of Orvieto. The hotel staff not only gave us reccomendations that were excellent, but they helped us graciously with every question we had. Staying here was truly a highlight of our month long trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler58693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Orvieto is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway. If price is not an issue, the Hotel Piccolmini is a treat, very central and ultra modern though based in an ex-nobles palace. It has all the charm and modern comforts to make your stay pleasurable, with a hint of adventure. The suite we stayed in had a tub in the middle of the room, a spacious bathroom and a four poster bed which allowed you to admire the affrescos on the ceiling. It was a touch chilly outisde but Orvieto was as mysterious and romantic as ever and the hotel was the greatest touch. I highly recommend this for any couple looking to run away for some romantic escapade.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This hotel was simply excellent! Located away from the crowds that go to the Duomo but very easy/convenient 10-minute walk to shops & Duomo... but far enough away so you're not bothered by the regular ringing of the bells at the Duomo in the middle of the night. The building is an old palace that has been converted in to modern rooms-- it's really quite nice & located on a tiny 'square' that is very quiet at night.

Rooms were spacious-- we had a double & a double used as a single-- and the double was plenty big enough for us & our 2 year old child. The bathroom was a good size, but the shower was a little tight (as they all are in Europe). They had an air conditioner but only the fan was running-- it wasn't really putting out air conditioning. It looked like they were replacing the air conditioning units-- so future guests may have a better experience. Room, bathroom, etc. were extremely clean & the bed was very comfortable. Satellite TV had a lot of stations-- not all that much in English though.

If you have a car, they valet park it for 15 euros per night in a lot neaby. Free Internet in lobby worked well (didn't have laptop so I don't know about the WIFI quality or cost-- but I think it was free). The breakfast was included in the room rate & was located in the cellar of tufa caves-- quite nice. The breakfast was good-- fresh breads, ham/proscuitto/cheeses, cereals, juices/milk/water, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee, hot chocolate, etc. And, the woman who was serving breakfast couldn't have been any nicer or more cheerful! She started our day with a nice greeting & a smile every day!

And, the staff was professional & courteous. Jude was spectacular! We wrote him several times prior to our arrival & he was extremely helpful! He was the key to a really nice stay! And, Jessica was wonderful! She always greeted us with a smile & was always trying to help us! She was the 'icing on the cake.' Others were helpful too-- but Jude & Jessica were the stars!

I'd HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone traveling to Orvieto! Always nervous about the hotel before I get there-- the Palazzo Piccolomini is as close to a sure thing as you're going to get! And, Orvieto is a wonderful little town! If you go, check out Zeppelin restaurant around the corner from the hotel-- the food is tasty & won't empty your wallet!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We spent 2 wonderful nights in this lovely hotel in a quiet section just off the Piazza della Republica. The room was clean and quiet and the staff couldn't be nicer or more accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfiendNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed here for our wedding with 30 of our family and friends and had a great stay. The hotel is ideally located, a short stroll from all the sights in Orvieto.
The rooms were nice and clean and the hotel has a nice if 'different' layout. There is a lovely sitting/family room which is great for just hanging out in and also a little bar area in the foyer.
I stayed in two different rooms, a standard double room and the Bridal suite. The suite was absolutely amazing. It was located in a building across the square from the main hotel. It was beautifully decorated with loads of space to get ready the mornng of the wedding!
The staff were very friendly and helpful and made all my guests feel very welcome. There was a mix-up over one room but it was sorted out and the couple in that room were given a free night stay to apologise for the mix-up
I look forward to returning sometime, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We spent just one night at this hotel and for a one-night stay the hotel is just fine. It’s not that there’s anything really wrong with this hotel, it’s just that there’s not much really great except for the staff, which is wonderful. Jessica was particularly helpful.

The hotel has nice common rooms, especially the breakfast room, but our bedroom was sparse and very basic. This hotel should probably have a 3 or 3 1/2 star rating – in our opinion it is not a 4-star hotel. I think perhaps it has received a 4-star rating because the rooms have slippers, bathroom amenities, and flat screen televisions.

On the other hand, the hotel was clean, the bed comfortable, the pillows very uncomfortable, the bathroom was tiny with a shower smaller than a phone booth. The location is excellent and very quiet. The breakfast was only adequate with no fresh fruit other than apples, and very limited options.

As we were there off-season, the rate was fair. However, we would not have wanted to pay full rates for the room we had.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 29 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#19 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.0 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#4 of 29 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 29 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
2.1 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 29 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#9 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Piccolomini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Piccolomini

Property: Palazzo Piccolomini
Address: Piazza Ranieri 36, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
#5 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Piccolomini 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Piccolomini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Piccolomini Orvieto
Palazzo Piccolomini Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing