We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and serene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ciconia
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I were in Orvieto on a cold mid-week night in mid-May without reservations. The city and the surroundings were deserted. Very few tourist were around because of the cool weather. We ventured to the Castle La Badia as it seemed highly recommended. The parking was empty when we arrived at 6pm. As pleasant women at the reception confirmed that they had rooms for 3 evenings and should we want a suite at 400euros, one was available. We were shown 3 rooms - horribly appointed with plastic sidings and panels and vinyl flooring from the 70's. I thought we were to build up to a third room which would turn out to be fantastic. BUT NO!!! The third was worse than the first two. Everything even smelled musty. This medieval castle has been butchered by this administration. The high season rate was in full force according to the staff. I would have rather slept in my car. We drove a little further and found a gem - Villa Ciconia. There a would have paid a lot more than the 120euro per night. A gem - our room 22 had a great view, breakfast was perfect and the staff most polite and respectful. A great restaurant in Orvieto near the main piazza is Maurizio - have the lamb and the lasagna- out of this world.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    69
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
82
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were driving around Tuscany and Umbria and were staying in farm stays and hotels in the course of our travels. We decided to spend some time in and around Orvieto and we found the Hotel Villa Ciconia. What first attracted us was the ability to park our rental car next to the front door of the hotel and not have to carry our luggage on a long trek. Our room was very large with a lovely four post bed. All of the furnishings were very old and it was delightful to take a step back in time. The building itself is very old and the grounds are large, with the hotel being set back about 100 meters from a busy local road. Access to the hotel was via a long drive. The accommodation was more than comfortable and the setting was unique. We were very close to the town centre but were distant from any traffic noise. The hotel staff were very friendly and assisted us in every way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. We also found a very convenient shopping centre about 200 meters walk from the hotel. Breakfast was good without being too fancy. We could drive to the main car park outside the main gates into the old town of Orvieto in around ten to fifteen minutes dependant on traffic. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for something that little bit different. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Room was lovely, quiet and a clean. Breakfast in the dining room each morning was fine. Overall, an accpetable, but forgettable accomodation lacking any sense of graciousness, warmth ,or hospitality. We would have appreciated more interaction with hosts to learn more about the area and get recommendations on dining, activities, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jparker127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
383 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Villa Ciconia is an old palatial house set in nice gardens just 2 km from the main highway to Rome and very easy access to visit Orvieto which is a driver's nightmare.
The deluxe room was spacious but very basic with a tiny bathroom.
Breakfast was nice and the buffet was quite extensive. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed as was the pool and the garden. It seems the season starts only in June.
Staff was pleasant and helpful.
A perfect place for an overnight stay but not more.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the same floor and I guess give the same sleep value. The views would be of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

First impressions were good. Beautiful old building clean and well presented. However! Too few staff to offer anything more than basic service. No atmosphere at all, dining room silent and gloomy. Swimming pool at rear of hotel with no direct access, no facilities for daytime food and drinks and surrounded by 15 metre high bamboo with no sunshine and millions of biting insects. As grounds were watered every night it was little short of a mosquito infested swamp which made sitting outside impossible. Could be a beautiful hotel with some imagination and a chainsaw!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed for two nights, eating at the restaurant once, and very much enjoyed our time here. The staff were friendly and the hotel itself pretty amazing, with beautiful, spacious, comfortable rooms. A very nice pool also and a decent restaurant. Being a bit away from the city of Orvieto was actually really good as we had the benefit of the peace and tranquility as well as being close enough to enjoy the city. Definitely a hotel to consider if you are planning a stay over in or near Orvieto.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

A lovely 'castle' hotel - great for visiting Orvieto. Great staff, good pool and very nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watermaster952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
3.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.7 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#6 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#4 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#8 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ciconia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ciconia

Property: Hotel Villa Ciconia
Address: Via Dei Tigli 69 | 05018 orvieto (TR), 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ciconia 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is an elegant Villa which dates back to the 15th century and it is surrounded by an age-old park at the confluence of the river Chiani and the Carcaione. Local Historiography tells us that the structure was originally a tower, “La Turchinetta”, and was property of one of “Monaldeschi” of Cervara associated with Catherina of Sweden.This enlargement was commissioned to Ippolito Scalza (1532)by the then owner of the tower Vincenzo Butius.It was said that Butius, suffering from bad health, was advised by doctors to live near a river.The villa was built, so that the Carcaione stream ran under one of the arches which upheld the structure. River deposits, with time have caused the ground floor of the structure to become submerged and therefore the “piano nobile” is now on the first floor.The hotel which is situated on the 2nd floor, it is of only 12 rooms, with old style furniture and canopy bed,the windows of which look onto the villa’s park.Recent reconstructuring retained all the original characteristics of the villa (thick walls, large beams, and terracotta paving) Although guaranteeing every comfort, the atmosphere is typically tranquil.The restaurant on the ground floor has two large halls.In the main hall there is a lacunar ceiling with engraved and decorated strips, painted with allegorical motifs and landscape scenes. One can admire a stone fireplace which is thought to be the work of “ Ippolito Scalza”.The excellently run Restaurant presents high class genuine Umbrian culinary cuisine. The wine cellar is well stocked with high qualitywines and of course Orvieto classico.In the Hotel we have a outdoor swimmingpool but at about 1000 m. there are also a indoor swimmingpool, football ground, tennis-ground to public use.In our Villa's park there is a free parking area.Villa Ciconia is situated at about 2 Kms from the Florence-Rome motorway exit, 1 hour by car far from Rome,1 hour and half by car from Florence. You can find the train-bus station at about 1km from our hotel. The nearest airport is"Fiumicino" located near Rome, you can arrive there in 1 hour and 30 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Ciconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciconia Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing