We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Virgilio
Nearby Hotels
$144
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$104
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Corso(Orvieto)
$144
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Duomo(Orvieto)
$107
$104
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentina Bed & Breakfast(Orvieto)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Picchio(Orvieto)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveler rating
198
149
52
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
149
52
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightthe main squareshopping and restaurantspiazza facingsmall roompublic parkingsingle roombeautiful cathedralperfect locationsmall hotelcharming hotelbuffet breakfastrooms are comfortablewonderful viewyogurtcakesduomo
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 421 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent two nights here in May. The hotel is quite small, but modern inside, and as other reviewers have said, with a superb view of a superb cathedral, the principle objective for our visit. A short taxi ride from the station (fast trains from Rome and Florence) will get you there, although if unlike us you don't have much luggage, an alternative would be the funicular from outside the station followed by a 10-minute walk. Orvieto is a beautiful ancient city. Apart from the cathedral with its incomparable frescoes, I would recommend a walk around the city walls with superb views over the Umbrian countryside, and a guided tour (in English) of the underground caves - all man-made out of the volcanic rock on which the city stands.

Our room was pleasingly spacious, clean, and with a side view of the cathedral and the piazza in front of it. The buffet breakfast in the basement was perfectly adequate. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful, and spoke good English. And last but not least, the price was very reasonable - although since we had just come from Rome that was not particularly surprising.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right on the main square opposite the duomo -a great location close to restaurants and shops. It is very new and clean. The only room available was a double room at the back which was tiny but very clean. The room had views of the lane behind the hotel and some neighboring backyards -very quaint. The receptionist was extremely helpful with directions and any other needs; the breakfast choice was wide and included in the price. Public Parking is available at the parking lot on the other side of the piazza (about 150m away) and is free between 2000 to 0800.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ll1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was in this hotel on a beautiful day in May, the staff is friendly especially the young owner David. Despite his young age has proven professional and very pleasant. The terrace outside which is located right on the square of the cathedral is fantastic and you can get great drinks and great local wine. Breakfast is great and there are baked goods. The rooms are clean and comfortable, like the rest of the structure. definitely will be back next year. Good luck David for this beautiful hotel. go on like this!

Room Tip: room 24 is fantastic!! best view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent our first night in Italy here. I don't think I realized when I booked it we would have such an amazing view from our window. We looked out directly to the piazza and duomo. The rooms were spotless, the beds were fairly comfortable, and there was a wonderful assortment of pastries, fruit and cereals for breakfast. My only criticism would be the strong perfume odor in the room. I left the bedroom windows open when we went out for the evening, but it didn't help. I realized it was actually the bedding and towels that must be laundered in a scented detergent. I don't mind a subtle fragrance, but this was really too strong. For people that have an aversion to perfumes and fragrance they may find it intolerable. On a more positive note the young woman who checked us out in the morning was very sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The best hotel we stayed in during or trip, and we stayed at much more expensive and higher rated places! The location is perfect the staff is perfect and the room was quite and comfortable with a view of the duomo that is unmatched!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yesiwearshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews