We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Virgilio
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Duomo(Orvieto)(Great Value!)
$140
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Corso(Orvieto)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Picchio(Orvieto)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Badia di Orvieto(Orvieto)(Great Value!)
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Penisola Hotel(Orvieto)(Great Value!)
$76
$74
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveler rating
197
148
52
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
148
52
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightthe main squareshopping and restaurantspiazza facingsmall roompublic parkingsingle roombeautiful cathedralperfect locationsmall hotelcharming hotelbuffet breakfastrooms are comfortablewonderful viewyogurtcakesduomo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 419 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It sounds as though the owners listen to constructive criticism as all previous niggles are now resolved. Apart from a Room with a great view we had free Internet, a great breakfast and as much coffee as we wanted. We were even given a recommendation for dinner which turned out to be very special and away from the tourist area - L'Antica Rupe. We had help with parking and unloading our heavy cases. Rather than go on and on just try for yourself......we did and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for second floor overlooking the Duomo!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColinHB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Everything is walking distance. The town is awesome - i suggest getting the coupon book at the train station that includes your ticket up to the town from the train station and entrance into the main attractions. And make sure you walk the entire town. Something to see at every turn. The hotel was comefortable and service was fine. Would return in a heart beat,

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the piazza
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel and as a recent reviewer mentioned, it is nicer than the pictures and a prime location!

The rooms are very beautiful and we were given a room with a courtyard view, while our kids shared a wonderful three single bed room. We couldn't have been happier with the rooms or with the staff. Very helpful and kind, someone brought my PURSE up to our rooms after we spent a nice evening playing cards in the bar area! After that, we asked for an extra pillow. And then a separate request for an extra blanket. Good heavens, we had to be the most annoying guests on the planet! But, we were treated with a patient smile and wishes for a good evening.

I wouldn't have hesitated to give this hotel the best review BUT. At breakfast we were admonished to have only two cups of coffee. The food selection, while adequate, felt skimpy.

And if you want wi-fi you'll have to pay. (You can easily head to the coffee house pay less for a cup of cappucino and get their wi-fi for LESS than you'd pay at Hotel Virgilio.)

I was disappointed that these small things made us feel like we were being nickle and dimed, when every OTHER thing at the hotel was so nice, including the staff!

That said, it *is* lovely, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff is very accommodating!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank pharesinoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Virgillo. The hotel is located on the Duomo piazza, so it is very central. As I mention in the title, we had a nice surprise with the looks of this hotel. Its actually quite nice. Same for our room. It was basic but bright and decorated with taste and the bathroom was very clean and nice. All the staff was very pleasant but Ilaria from the front desk deserves a special mention. She is probably the nicer and most patient person of all the persons we met in Italy. We were there with our 10 month old baby and she really did everything she could to accomodate us. If I compare with the other places we have been in Italy (high rated bed and breakfast) the only downside would be the breakfast. A cold buffet with a few things, not good quality orange juice and coffee from a machine. But overall very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Veronique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel Virgilio's location was great. We did not have a car and wanted to be close to town and this was perfect, everything was within walking distance. . Our room faced away from the street so the view was amazing of the Duomo . We stayed for 5 nights, and would stay at this hotel again. The room size was good and the room had a refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable and from your bed you could see the view of the Duomo .The bathroom had been upgraded and was nice. We did not need the a/c or heat so I don't know how well they worked. Having free wi-fi(free) was a big plus for us and the wi-fi speed was great. Breakfast was included in the price and it was ok .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews