We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly spot w most helpful owners of all time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bar

Blue Bar
Ranked #30 of 168 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafeteria, breakfast with fresh pastries, snacks and sandwiches, appetizers, local wines, Internet Wi-Fi lounge.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly spot w most helpful owners of all time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great little local bar for coffee and pastry or a wine/beer/drink, reasonably priced, that was a big plus during our group of four's wonderful one week stay in Orvieto. But in addition, the owner provided the most incredible help to us on our departure day. I went to them as friends for help when I couldn't secure a taxi to the train station and my lack of language skills were exposed. He suggested we take a city bus, pointed out the time and where to wait, and told me where I could buy our tickets ahead for convenience and a big saving. He also literally ran down the street to convince a travel agent to stay open late and help us buy tickets on a more convenient train. Are you kidding me? This service was awesome! Thank you forever!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    19
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Bar - a gem in Orvieto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A wonderful and welcoming place to stop for a drink, a snack or coffee just off the Piazza Republica. Busy with local townspeople and tourist alike, the owners are friendly and helpful – a great place for a break and free internet as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GMB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A handy spot for coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

And fast Internet! Without Blue Bar we would hardly have heard from our study abroad daughter! Staff made her feel welcomed each day as she bought coffee on her way to school.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MamaKelly2336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee, very friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've seen it written about already in these reviews and I'll add to it: the owners are very friendly. Antoni treated us like family from the moment we walked in. We had our 10 month old daughter with us and he was very kind to her. He has a young son of his own - who we later met outside of their home (he recognized us when we were walking past the house).

So it's a coffee place. We can vouch for the quality of the cappuccinos, lattes and pastries. They have fast, free wifi, too, if you need to connect while on your trip.

Thanks Antoni for making our visits to Blue Bar, and Orvieto in general, memorable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Immediate friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

On our very first visit to the Blue Bar we were greeted quite literally as if we were old friends by Antoni. He has that kind of sense of humor and hospitality and charisma in spades. The Blue Bar quickly became our go-to morning bar for cappuccino and conversation. Antoni is aided by his charming partner Romina and their very young son; this is the place to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bar also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Blue Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing