We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, world's hardest beds”
Review of Villa Mercede

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orvieto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Mercede
Ranked #32 of 54 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This property would be SO easy to improve, and it's frustrating that the necessary changes aren't made. On the plus side, outstanding location across from the Duomo, very quiet, big rooms with big, spacious bathrooms and great showers. Very clean. Great views, lots of windows. BUT -- the beds are hard as cement, very narrow and short (our room had twin beds). I'm only 5' 3" and I found them small, like children's beds. My poor husband's feet were hanging off the end. The other negative was the breakfast. I'm not a picky eater. But come on, at least wash the apples. Both mornings, there was a basket of apples that I think were gathered from an orchard, put in a basket unwashed, and put out for the guests. They were not bad apples, but they were not washed; very dusty. I dipped a napkin in my water and wiped the apple before cutting it up. There was also a dry loaf of bread, and packages of honey. No toaster. No other fruit. I will say -- the coffee was very good. Villa Mercede has good bones; with some minor changes it could be a fabulous place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mattresses that are not hard! Maybe some other rooms have better mattresses, but...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoreBounceInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Villa Mercede
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you get a newly refurbished room overlooking the Umbria landscape you are experiencing something special. High quality bathroom. Good space and high ceiling. Peace!
Free parking in the garden. And friendly and smiling padre Toninio is taking care of you.
Only one thing to get it perfect. The breakfast is not up to the standards.
But we will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location right next to the beautiful Orvieto Duomo. Padre Tonino was welcoming and gracious. The rooms, while sparse, we're very adequate and clean. Unfortunately, the beds were extremely hard and the shower towels resembled table linens. We really enjoyed the quite room facing the back side of the monastery and woke up to a beautiful view. Ask for room 201. It has 3 twin beds and larger than any room like it in Italy. The breakfast was adequate and typical of a European B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Villa Mercede, Via Soliana, 2
05018 Orvieto
Ph:+39 0763 341766
Email:info@villamercede.it

Orvieto is a lovely little city only about 60 miles north of Rome. An ancient Etruscan fortress city, it sits atop a massive and impressive tufa outcrop 300 feet above the green valleys and rolling fields of Umbria
My search for reasonably priced accommodations in Orvieto brought me to another Religious Guesthouse, the Villa Mercede run by the Mercedarian Fathers. I was attracted by both the room prices and its location in the city's historic center. 
Upon arriving in Orvieto by train from Rome, the first thing I had to do was to get from the train station in what is considered to be the "new" city to the Piazza del Duomo in the "Old" City. 
Actually, this turned out to be a treat in itself since access is by way of a funicular train first completed in 1888 and restarted in June 1990. It is the "Funicolare Bracci", named for the wealthy businessman who sponsored it. 
The funicular station is directly across the street from the train station.
Before heading to the funicular, combo funicular/shuttle bus tickets can be purchased in the train station's cafe for one euro. 
The ride in the funicular gives visitors a scenic little trip up the side of this large volcanic plug before dropping them off at a train and bus stop. From there, one transfers to a shuttle bus into the city itself. There are two. Bus "A" takes you to Piazza del Duomo and bus "B" goes to the Piazza della Repubblica, both in the center of the city.
The bus stop in the Piazza del Duomo is conveniently located next to the Tourist Information Office. After a very short walk to Via Soliana, I was at the Villa Mercede, an impressive palazzo set on extensive grounds complete with on-site parking, a large garden area, tennis courts and a soccer field. 
The Villa Mercede was once - and to some still is - the Palazzo Buzi. It was built around 1580 in the late mannerist style by a famed Orvieto architect and sculptor of that period, Ippolito Scalza (1532-1617).
In 1899, the palazzo passed to a Spanish religious order, The Padri Mercedari, The Order of Mercy. 
One would find it difficult to find more reasonable room prices: A single room with full bathroom cost
€ 50.00 per night, breakfast included.A double room costs € 70.00 and the price for a triple is € 90.00. Villa Mercede has elevator service to all three floors.
My single-use room in the rear of this handsome building was large and comfortable. The furnishings were, as expected, modest and the room, immaculate. The bathroom was sizeable. The view from the large window was a delight overlooking as it did the spacious, lush garden below and beyond that, a well-manicured soccer field with the verdant hills of Umbria in the distance serving as a backdrop. 
The view in late afternoon was particularly beautiful. 

Breakfast is served in a large, attractive room with high ceilings and sizeable windows with long, heavy, tieback drapes. One might imagine this room serving as a grand dining room or possibly a ballroom in the Villa Mercede's former life as a private home.

In addition to the very reasonable cost of lodging, Villa Mercede's location was perfect, being less than 100 feet from the city's historical center and the city's Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta, The Duomo, which is considered one of the most important architecturally in Europe. Among the Duomo’s many notable features is The Cappella del Corporale built between 1350 and 1356 to hold the Corporal used at the Eucharistic Miracle at Bolsena in 1263.
This modest size city is rich in history, art and handsome architecture, one of the results of its serving as a periodic refuge for popes and the papal court from the 12th through the 15th centuries
.
In addition to Orvieto’s Christian era works of art, there are the artifacts of the city’s ancient Etruscans. Close to Villa Mercede is The Musei Archeologici Civico e Faina in the Palazzo Claudio Faina. This museum contains the most meaningful Etruscan objects found in the Orvieto district. This building also provides some of the best unobstructed views of the Duomo’s colorful facade. Admission is only
€4.50.
The Etruscans are responsible for one of Orvieto's more intriguing features, its underground city. 2500 years ago, the Etruscans made use of the tufa beneath the city as a building material. Easy to extricate and carve, once exposed to the fresh air it hardened into a resistant stone-like material, a feature the Romans were quick to exploit.
The result of the Etruscan’s years of digging and carving is a unique and surprising ancient underground city, a labyrinth of tunnels and grottoes that served as sanctuary, wine cellar even a mini religious shrine. It is now open to tours, which are both interesting and unusual.
For those visiting Rome who may wish to get out of the city for a day, the ticket price and travel time make Orvieto ideal for a day-trip or even as a stopover for a trip between Rome and Florence.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear provide a very pleasant view overlooking the spacious garden, the tennis court...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jfran41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Simple, clean, spacious accommodations. Right in city centre (Duomo is ~15 m from front door of Villa Mercede). Padre Tonino is wonderfully kind and will welcome you warmly (though as other reviewers mentioned, Padre Tonino does not speak much English - so, bring your tourist Italian guide!). Simple breakfast included. Good value for money given location (I paid 50 euro, and ended up with a room that was huge, included full en-suite washroom -- I wonder though if I was upgraded from the single room that I booked). I was able to leave my luggage at Villa Mercede (no extra charge) the day of check-out so that I could tour Orvieto until the evening train back to Rome.
Really, I only have good things to say about Villa Mercede. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeliacCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We reserved the day before our arrival via email. Padre Tonino is extremely friendly and helpful even though his English is limited. He helped us in several ways going way beyond the expected -- even taking care of a ticket we received a year later for driving in a restricted area of the old town on our way to the hotel.
Our room was simply furnished with 3 twin beds (90 Euros/night for a triple), a desk and chair, wardrobe and large bathroom. Everything was very clean. Floors are tile; there is no phone or TV in the room, but there is free wi-fi. We had a great view of the Umbrian countryside on one side and the Duomo on the other -- you couldn't ask for a better view in Orvieto! During our stay (May 2-4, 2012), the place was very quiet without many guests. Breakfast is simple. Padre Tonino let us into the beautiful dining room and use silverware so we could eat the dinner we brought back. There was a clothes line out in the backyard to let us dry our laundry nicely. We could also park right beside the building.
Villa Mercede is a great no-frills place to stay in Oriveto and I highly recommend it for the budget traveler.

Room Tip: Views of the Umbrian countryside are very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaysideTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A very nice experience. I don't think I have ever stayed in a more quiet hotel. Billed as a "Religious House of Hospitality", Villa Mercede surely fills the bill for hospitality. Large clean room, large clean bathroom, fantastic view of the Umbrian counrtyside, and so convenient to what I call the center of town, the Piazza Duomo. A huge added plus is the adjacent free private parking in an otherwise Traffic Restricted Zone. As a low budget accommadation I would rate Villa Mercede an excellent and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: For a room with a view of the countryside, request at time of reservation. Also, hair dryers are ava...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FredO764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#17 of 30 in Orvieto
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Filippeschi
Hotel Filippeschi
#19 of 30 in Orvieto
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#12 of 30 in Orvieto
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#2 of 54 in Orvieto
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mercede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mercede

Address: Via Soliana 2, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing