We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Misia Country Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a small hotel - in a gorgeous tiny village on the top of a hill outside Orvieto. It provides a great alternative to staying in a town while being only about 10 minutes drive away.
The rooms are beautifully designed - the building are old village houses but have been tastefully renovated.The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept on in Italy and had linen sheets and good pillows.
The bathroom is gorgeous - we had just a shower but again it was the best we had come across in Italy, as was the hairdryer.
Helene is charming and made booking for us at AltoRocca for dinner. This dinner was a highlight of this trip and the restaurant is only a few minutes away. We drove but walked back after a few glasses of wine! Although a torch would have been good, it was not difficult and there was no traffic.
Breakfast is very Italian.
Helene arranged a car to take us back to Rome airport - the driver was great and let me drop off our hire car at Hertz at Orvieto Railway Station before hitting the expressway. It was only about 90 mins to Rome airport.
This is a charming place and good value with truly hospitable hosts. We wish we had a extra night there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 320 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

We arrived in Rocca Ripesena after driving up from Rome to spend a short stay in Orvieto and we were met by Giorgio, the very friendly and hospitable co-owner of Misia. After a very welcome coffee and a discussion about places to visit, eat, local wines, and other very useful information, we were shown our room, and we were really impressed with the design of the place itself and the room. We stayed in Suite 8, which is on the top floor, and is very spacious, with a beautiful beamed roof, with skylights and a great view of the surrounding countryside and vineyards. We had a lovely night out in Orvieto and a very peaceful sleep at Misia, which was quite a contrast to the nights spent in Rome! The breakfast was also very good. Again, Georgio couldn't have been more helpful, recommending places to visit locally, and treating us to samples of local wines. Misia is an excellent choice for people to stay when they are looking for a retreat to the countryside. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Suite 8 was perfect, but I didn't see other rooms to compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spend 4 days at Misia and really liked it! Staying at suite number 4, you can overlook the countryside, which is Impressive. The place at Misia is great, cosy and very special, you see and feel the love for details everywhere. The rooms are furnished in a modern style and Set they are 'gemütlich' with a great atmosphere. The owners, Giorgio and Helena, are very, very friendly, always helping with good advice and tipps. I would like to go there again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ULliM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have recently returned from a European trip which included a 2 night stay at Misia Resort, Orvieto. Elena was so welcoming, friendly and helpful to our party of 4. The rooms are to die for. Brilliantly appointed and all of Misia is a beautiful blend of the old and the new. Superb quality of fixtures, fittings, towels and special touches. Restaurant recommendations were top notch and we have already told all our friends back here in Australia Misia Resort must be included in their itinerary when next in Italy.

We miss you Misia

Kelly, Sydney (Australia)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 861kellyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent three nights here and enjoyed them very much. This is a lovely property with large, modern, well appointed rooms. And I would like to say that Misia had the best hair dryer in all of Italy! I really appreciated that after all the weakly blowing ones I had previously encountered. The bed was very comfortable and there was a good choice of TV options. Giorgio greeted us with a glass of wine to calm our nerves after a rough day of driving. It was quiet, peaceful and lovely atop the 'mountain' with a beautiful view. Misia is a good place to base to go to other towns in the area, which we did, and of course to Orvieto. The only drawback is that long, winding drive to get there but after the initial trip up we got over it. There is a good restaurant nearby if you don't want to drive down the hill for dinner though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Choppers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Lots to like about the Misia Resort. The owners could not be more helpful or accommodating, the rooms are modern, clean, and incredibly quiet. Views are spectacular.

Some improvements would be welcome. More lights in the room, eggs (even boiled) for breakfast, better choice of cereals.

We used it as a base to visit the hill towns of Umbria. Worked fine, but be aware that getting to the autostrada takes 15-20 minutes. Also, as the resort does not serve meals, getting into Orvieto takes time after parking and walking to a restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewMexicans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Georgio and his family have done a wonderful job with this hotel. The exterior is rustic but the interiors are very modern. They have provided exquisite linens in the spacious bedrooms and baths. The place is very clean. Georgio greeted us on our arrival with glasses of white wine. Our suite was across the drive from the office (#4) and had a nice view out the French doors. The breakfasts were excellent and the table settings were beautiful. There is a little hiking path up beside the rock wall that offer exquisite vies at the top. We spent 3 nights here and visited the sights around Orvieto. I hope that I will visit Misia again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crewsin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
2.6 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
790 reviews
6.6 mi away
Relais Borgo San Faustino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
390 reviews
4 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misia Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misia Country Resort

Address: Localita Rocca Ripesena 51/52, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range: $122 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Misia Country Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misia Resort is a small boutique country hotel situated in the charming medieval village of Rocca Ripesena overlooking the countryside and the vineyards of Orvieto, just 6 km from the city center and 20 km from Civita di Bagnoreggio . Falls under the category of "Hotels disclosed" because its rooms and common areas leased in several buildings close together. It is possible to organize here at Misia wine and food tasting , cooking classes and oil tasting . We have spaces and terrace to oranize your wedding day in the beauty of the borgo of Rocca Ripesena , the village of the Roses . Please contact us to have more informations about . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Misia Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing