We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giorgio and his hotel are lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Misia Country Resort
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Giorgio and his hotel are lovely”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the best place you could stay after getting out of Fiumincino airport and hitting the road for Tuscany. You won't make Sienna or Pienza comfortably if you leave Rome in late morning or early afternoon, and this is why Misia is the best place to stop. But don't make the mistake we made and only stop for one night. Roca Repesena (where Misia is located) is literally a tiny village outside Orvieto. You are staying right in the village itself and you can take a beautiful walk up to the Roca lookout for pictures. You can take a day and tour Orvieto - a really charming little town. You can also eat at the nearby agroturisimo or at one of the fine restaurants in Orvieto. You can also visit Civito (spelling?) the amazing town one hour away which can only be reached by footpath. Giorgio's sense of design is really beautiful and he is a lovely person. This may sound gushy - but really after a lifetime of Canadian roadside holiday inns, Misia amazed us and was very affordable.

Room Tip: Look at the website and you will see how beautiful Giorgio's rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    37
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
155
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After an exhausting overseas flight followed by a bleary-eyed drive from Rome, we were delighted to fall into the comforting embrace of the Misia Resort, outside of Orvieto. Giorgio, the host, welcomed us warmly and helped us with our luggage. Our room was beautifully appointed and we collapsed into it gratefully. We had beautiful views out over the Umbrian countryside, and the area surrounding the hotel is serene and quiet. The bathroom is extremely lovely with a relaxing rainfall showerhead. I slept like a queen and really, really appreciated the wonderful linen (yes, I mean real actual linen) sheets. The breakfast that Giorgio provides is also excellent. While the hotel does not have a restuarant for dinner, a short walk up a beautiful country road leads to an agriturismo with fine dining. Don't miss the short hike that follows a trail above the hotel; the view is spectacular! Our only regret is that we weren't staying longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomama55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a wonderful experience. The perfect place to stay outside in the countryside near Orvieto. The host,Georgio, is such a great host,he takes care of everything. Great breakfast spread. Hiking up to the top of the rock above was a highlight. Meeting Georgio's puppy, Rocco, was also a highlight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank va7runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

As a traveler with high expectations, it is always a pleasure to share good experiences to other travelers so they would know what to expect from hotels, restaurants, etc. Misia Resort has reached my heart and soul in terms of fulfilling every wish and expectation that an avid traveler may have. It is well located on the outskirts of Orvieto, five minutes by car to the City. Misia has a large parking lot with two easy entrances. The hosts, Giorgio and his sister Helena, made us feel like we own the Hotel. Upon our arrival, he served a glass of good local chardonnay to each one of us. As an Architect, I’m allowed to say that the decoration of the common areas as well as the bedrooms is impeccably perfect. Hotel accessories, paintings, furniture, linen, towels, thought to the smallest details. Imagine the bed sheets made of good Italian linen. YES…LINEN!!!. Well…I still have water on my mouth when I think about Misia’s breakfast. I could write a page or two about it. Thank you Georgio and Helena for making our stop at MISIA, our most wonderful stay. Keep up with the excellent service and hospitality. Best Regards, Ronaldo Costa
PS. I almost forgot to write: It is a thoughtful place for an unforgettable honeymoon!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in three suites. We found suite #8 if you don't mind the stairs, to be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronaldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We could not have wished for a better find.....fabulous views, beautiful design and perfect service. Georgio was friendly and helpful our entire stay. He has done wonders with the renovation and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is perfect as it is close to the main town, but just on the outskirts on the hill, with beautiful views of stunning Orvieto day and night. They also have convenient private parking available. Sadly, we were only able to stay one night and I was so sad to leave...can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We selected this hotel based on TA reviews. They were all vey accurate. It is a unique hotel in a unique setting only a few minutes drive from Orvieto. The owner, Giorgio is a fantastic host and a great source of local recommendations for stuff to see and places to eat. He makes you feel very welcome as soon as you arrive. If you are looking for a small intimate place to stay in a tranquil setting, MISIA is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJB5490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a terrible time finding this resort as the signage was minimal. After we arrived, we wanted some lunch but no restaurant close by where we could eat. Staff were very nice and the rooms were lovely. However, we got lost again trying to get back to resort after having dinner in Orvieto. Again, signage is not good. Breakfast buffet was nice but the coffee pot malfunctioned and we weren't able to have any. Only one other guest was there during our stay so it was not crowded at all.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the valley and there was a puppy down below us that barked a lot. Would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasLady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
1.5 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#4 of 30 in Orvieto
368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
751 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Relais Borgo San Faustino
2.6 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Locanda Palazzone
Locanda Palazzone
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misia Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misia Country Resort

Property: Misia Country Resort
Address: Localita Rocca Ripesena 51/52, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Misia Country Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misia Resort is a small boutique country hotel situated in the charming medieval village of Rocca Ripesena overlooking the countryside and the vineyards of Orvieto, just 6 km from the city center. Falls under the category of "Hotels disclosed" because its rooms and common areas leased in several buildings close together. It is possible to organize here at Misia wine and food tasting , cooking classes and oil tasting . We have spaces and terrace to oranize your wedding day in the beauty of the borgo of Rocca Ripesena , the village of the Roses . Please contact us to have more informations about . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Misia Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing