We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Misia Country Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The setting, a small, ancient-appearing village, looking like it was carved from the face of the cliff it sits on, the decor, warm tones and tasteful, comfortable furnishings, but most of all, the generous, warm hospitality made our experience at Misia outstanding. Our host, Georgio, couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. As just one example, he recommended restaurants that we would not have found otherwise, and which gave us an authentic taste of Umbria. Our room was very private and comfortable, furnished in the same warm earth-tones found throughout the resort. An ample breakfast buffet, with pastries, breads to toast, fresh fruit, cereals, cold cuts and cheeses - and cappuccino - was served in an attractive dining room. While Misia is set in the Italian countryside, we found it an easy drive to Orvieto and the incredible Medeaval town of Civita di Bagnoregio.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 320 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location, delicious home-made breakfast, great people! I recommend - a must if you are in Orvieto area! The Rocca that overlooks it is extremely suggestive. The rooms are spacious and decorated in the most relaxing tones. Be assured your holiday will be a real vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adeledorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a new hotel, built into ancient stone walls, on a rock overlooking the Umbrian valley and the town of Orvieto. We chose it because we like places outside the city center, and Misia is really outside! It is difficult to find, and they need to put good driving directions onto their website. Once you do find the place, it is lovely. The owner is the designer and decorator, and it is beautifully done. Ultra modern decor which contrasts well with the old exterior. The rooms are large and comfortable with nice touches like real linens on the beds. They hope to open a restaurant on the property soon, but now you can have a superb dinner at the restaurant just up the hill. Once you know your way around the area, it is easy to get to the old town of Orvieto, where you can easily spend a day or two exploring the duomo, underground excavations, and lovely streets and shops. Nearby Civita de Bagnorregio is a must-see day trip.

Room Tip: Our rooms were across from the main building, and they were quite large with goo views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy15601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We are just finishing up a three week stay in Italy, and Helena and Misia Resort provided us the absoulute best accomodations. Everything was top notch - the room and bath - clean, comfortable, nicely decorated. The breakfast provided had plenty of good things to eat and great coffee. Helena gave us a map, and great advice on how to get into Orvieto and where to eat. She was very friendly and helpful. Misia even had a few channels of english TV! If you are going to Orvieto, don't pass up a chance to stay in this wonderful resort!

Room Tip: We had room 1 and it was great - didn't see any others, but can't imagine they would be any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel deserves its ranking. Everything was to a very high standard. The room was very comfortable, well furnished and quiet. The hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. I look forward to a return visit!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is in a class of its own. A fabulous contemporary hideway located in the hills over Orvieto. The owners and operators of this hotel, Giorgio and Helena, have left no detail undone. Our suite was spacious, comfortable with all the modern conveniences you could ever need. The quality of the bedding and amenities were all first-class. The hospitality shown by the owners was really beyond what you would find at any other hotel. They provided a warm welcome and a sincere concern in helping in any way possible. They offered great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing. If there is one area for improvement, it would be the breakfast buffet. Although totally adequate, it could use a little more variety. According to the owners, they will soon have a full spa to complement the rest of the hotel. I look forward to staying at Misia again on our next trip to Orvieto. I would highly recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler89044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here with two rooms, one for my 60 + year old parents, and one for me and my four year old son. The hotel has undergone an extensive reonovation, in which the quality of materials used was a+. The rooms are very nice, great bathrooms and wonderful linen sheets. The staff/owners are lovely and accommodating. It felt more like a private retreat than a hotel. Got great recommendations for off the beaten path restaurants to eat in Orvieto. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Argus1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
2.6 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
790 reviews
6.6 mi away
Relais Borgo San Faustino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
390 reviews
4 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misia Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misia Country Resort

Address: Localita Rocca Ripesena 51/52, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range: $122 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Misia Country Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misia Resort is a small boutique country hotel situated in the charming medieval village of Rocca Ripesena overlooking the countryside and the vineyards of Orvieto, just 6 km from the city center and 20 km from Civita di Bagnoreggio . Falls under the category of "Hotels disclosed" because its rooms and common areas leased in several buildings close together. It is possible to organize here at Misia wine and food tasting , cooking classes and oil tasting . We have spaces and terrace to oranize your wedding day in the beauty of the borgo of Rocca Ripesena , the village of the Roses . Please contact us to have more informations about . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Misia Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing