We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, beauty and kindness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo La Chiusetta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I just want to say that Paolo and Sara are gracious hosts. The property is created from three farm houses. Paolo has dedicated himself to the quality of the time period, early 1900's, and given attention to the artifacts and remembrances of these old farmhouses. Lovely accommodations!
Breakfast is quite fun, under the summer/fall arbor and Paolo will reward you with suggestions for outings and restaurants you have never heard of, but are delighted to find out are the highlight of your trip.
We are trying to figure out how to go back! Hike up to Sugano and give the horsie a fresh peach from the garden plot. Look for Estrucan graves.
Dinner is excellent, just find out when they are serving in the warm and friendly "ranch house". This is a treasure, if you want the authentic agriturismo, you have found it.

Room Tip: Hike a bit around the area and fitness ranks #5 Paolo actually created a special dinner for us, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Towards the end of 3 weeks of touring northern Italy, we returned to the Orvieto area without reservations and chanced upon the traditional sign for an "agritourismo". Trusting our luck, we followed the signs for La Chiusetta, down a twisting one track lane that made us wonder if we'd made a mistake. What a wonderful surprise when it came into view. This organic farm and its proprietor, Paolo, will make you feel immediately at home and wanting to stay even longer than you intended. Set on 13 hectares or about 35 acres, it offers the perfect respite in an idyllic, pastoral setting. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed. Breakfast is about as good as Italian breakfasts can be and the coffee is deliciously strong. Paolo will take the time to introduce you to the area and offer recommendations for walks and and local restaurants. He will also invite you to make yourself at home and to ramble about the property. Row upon row of olives, and grapevines await as do the chickens and ducks. There is a boccie court, children's play area and a sparkling pool but the best part are the many lovely sitting areas with fabulous vistas of Orvieto, distant and dramatic rock formations or the private castle on a nearby hillside. Only ten minutes removed from the tourist bustle, you will feel like it's all a million miles away. Arrange for Paolo to cook one of his traditional, dare I say, gourmet dinners. It will be perfect down to the after-dinner grappa. La Chiusetta offers all of this and more for a remarkable bargain. Bring friends or children or just come alone for a romantic getaway. I promise you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalleyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Wonderful agriturismo with beatiful landscape, nice and quiet rooms and great prices. The owner Paolo is very friendly and is a great cooker. We had one of the best meals of our trip there, for about $20,00 per person , including wine, first and second courses and dessert (for dinner, need to book first)
The acess to the agriturismo is not so easy, through a really narrow unpaved road (about 2 km) , from the SS71, distant about 10km from Orvieto.
Internet acess is not good and only works at the main house.
These are the only problems but we strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarceloKobayashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed in a self contained unit/apartment at La Chiusetta for two nights in December 2011. The property is set on a beautiful hillside covered in orchards and woodlands, about 10 minutes drive from Orvieto. We used it as a launching pad for day trips into Umbria, and we were very happy with our stay here.

The host is very friendly, and kindly accommodated us despite a mix up with the booking. The unit was spacious, tastefully decorated and fully equipped for cooking. The wood fire was great too. Breakfast was nice, particularly the coffee, which was hot and strong.

The road to the property is a long dirt road that is quite steep in places. Our little Lancia Musa handled it fine, so don't let that put you off.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent a very relaxing week in a spacious ground floor apartment at this very pleasant hillside farmhouse with good outside space. It's blissfully quiet with great views across to Orvieto, which is about five miles away. On a couple of nights Paulo and his family cook for the guests (it was Friday and Saturday nights when we were there), and prepare for a fanastic four course Umbrian feast for a mere 20 euros a head

Just one warning: the mile-long track leading up (with up being the key word) to the farmhouse is pretty steep in places - particularly for our little Fiat Punto. You'll get there in the end, but it's a challenge!

All in all though, highly recommended for a peaceful break in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank marica z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
2.6 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Cioccoleta
Agriturismo Cioccoleta
#2 of 45 in Orvieto
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Agriturismo La Locanda dell'Olmo
3.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Poggio Di Orvieto
6.2 mi away
Fattoria Poggio Boalaio Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Chiusetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Chiusetta

Address: Localita Laghetto Sugano 5, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Orvieto
Price Range: $107 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm "LA CHIUSETTA" is in splendid panoramic views of Orvieto,only 10 minuts from centre, receive one's guests in three distinct farm- hauses, with rooms and apartments.It enjoys an extensive garden with welcoming pergolas, a small lake and a scenic swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo La Chiusetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing