We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Umbrian food”
Review of L'Oste del Re

L'Oste del Re
Ranked #15 of 171 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good Umbrian food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We ordered pasta al tartuffo, bean soup and polenta with wild boar. Slow cooking at its best. They were still open at 3 pm when most were closed

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SidR048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    369
    93
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
“A real find!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were visiting Orvieto as one of the stops on our way to Rome, and were so glad we came upon this charming restaurant. The owners were friendly and welcoming, and have created an atmosphere that says glad you are here, come back soon! My husband and I tried the wild boar - his with pasta, mine with delicious polenta, and our son had a beef steak - all was delicious. We were also given a complimentary serving of thinly cut strips of grilled pumpkin with a little olive oil and seasoning - heavenly! Don't miss this gem of a restaurant when you are visiting Orvieto!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun and Filling!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a really fun night here. It was a Monday night so we were disappointed to find our first few choices closed. But we stumbled across this small restaurant and ended up having a great meal and a great evening! We were a party of 4 and looking for an early dinner around 7:30. We saw the "trip advisor" winner sign in the doorway so decided to give it a try. There is a stuffed wild boar hanging behind the bar and the walls are filled with placemats written in too many languages to count , giving praise to the wonderful meals served here. The staff didn't push us at all. Claudia , the owner, spent about 10 minutes talking with us throughout the evening. We ordered 2 or 3 antipasti and then she brought us a fabulous grilled dish (on the house) of sliced grilled pumpkin with olive oil and salt - it was to die for and I would have eaten that for my entire meal if I could have. My sister and law and brother had pasta with wild boar and pasta with truffles. They had spent a whole week in Umbria and said it was there best meal. My husband loved the stuffed olives. All the dishes were filling and after all the antipasti I was to full to eat my meal. All the dishes were very reasonably priced - around 9-15 euro if recall correctly. I would definitely go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adagirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This didn't seem like an obvious choice for vegos like us because it seems to be based on big chunky wild boar rolls, but we took a chance and were very pleasantly surprised. Great pasta, friendly and helpful service and very well priced. We were there for a quick sit down lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph_6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great service and fantastic food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our frend told us about this restaurant and everything what he say was true.(the girl from restaurant remember him when we told her,and that was very nice that they remember thear clients) and this place is worth to visit. We came back here two times because the food was delicious and fresh. Wonderful people and grat services.

we will come back for sure,
couple from Croatia

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LUNA0507KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oste del Re also viewed

 

Been to L'Oste del Re? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing